Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 57
  2. Negative: 11 out of 57
Buy On
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    74
    A rock-solid, dungeon-style RPG that pays a good deal of homage to the Silent Hill universe. It's probably not quite what the diehards would have wanted, but that doesn't mean that it's bad.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    70
    WayForward seems to have saved its 'A Game' for their own IP. Book of Memories feels odd, as though a Diablo has murdered a Silent Hill, and is traipsing about wearing its skin. [January 2013, p70]
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    A competent, skillful attempt at a non-fantasy dungeon crawler game appears, courtesy of Wayforward. Unfortunately it's ultimately dragged down by the franchise attached to it - Silent Hill. Other than a few thematic nods and well-known enemies the franchise usage is handled sloppily and without any benefit.
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    70
    Those searching for the traditional Silent Hill experience on a portable (story? What story?) should stay far, far away. However, players who enjoy dungeon crawling and aren't afraid of a little difficulty will find that Silent Hill: Book of Memories gets it pretty right-it's just a shame that an FAQ is required to enjoy it.
  5. Dec 6, 2012
    70
    Don't think of it as another Silent Hill, as Book of Memories is actually a good action game that reminds of the classic Gauntlet.
  6. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    If you can get over the fact that this isn't a Silent Hill game at all, this is a nice action RPG with a good atmosphere, but also with a repetitive gameplay.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    As dungeon crawls go, it's unique. Just don't expect a Silent Hill 2 level of scary. [Holiday 2012, p.77]
  8. Nov 10, 2012
    70
    Book of Memories will disappoint those purists who are not happy with the changes made to the series. For those looking for a dungeon crawler RPG based in the Silent Hill universe this is absolutely ideal.
  9. Nov 8, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill meets Diablo-esque dungeon crawler style with swinging results. Lack of variety, long loading times and mediocre graphics are balanced by some good ideas and addicting gameplay.
  10. Nov 7, 2012
    70
    Nobody could've predicted this when it was announced, but Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a dungeon crawler with some multiplayer options. No one also expected the following: as a Vita-game it is quite successful. It's lightweight enough to work on a handheld device and has just enough depth to keep players interested and have them come back for more.
  11. Nov 6, 2012
    70
    At the end of the day Silent Hill: Book of Memories manages to provide a change of pace to the dungeon crawling genre which has become somewhat stale.
  12. Nov 5, 2012
    70
    A curious game: an improbably boisterous departure for a series that has slipped into conservative compromise in recent years.
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    If you're the kind of person who plans on teaming up with friends to take on this lengthy adventure, then I can recommend Silent Hill: Book of Memories. The action isn't especially fresh and the graphics leave a lot to be desired, but there are some good ideas wrapped around a truly twisted narrative. However, if you're the kind of person who plans on going it alone, then look elsewhere. There is nothing in Silent Hill for solo players.
  14. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    If you can get over the fact that this isn't a survival horror game and subsequently hardly feels like a Silent Hill game at all, this is actually a very addicting button basher with surprisingly good level-design and a great atmosphere. A weak story, mediocre graphics and the repetitive nature of the gameplay keep Book of Memories from receiving more praise.
  15. Jan 21, 2013
    68
    It's a pity where the Book of Memories is taking the Silent Hill series: Only quantity, no quality; a lack of gameplay and story; a shift in genres which should have been done with much more caution and love. Silent Hill fans, don't touch this.
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    67
    I can't foresee Silent Hill: Book of Memories winning any Game of the Year awards, nor should it, but if you're in the mood for solidly reliable horror on the go, this should be more than enough to scratch that itch.
  17. Nov 13, 2012
    65
    Book of Memories is nowhere as spectacular and adrenalinic as it could have been considering Vita's power, and it's far from traditional Silent Hill games, but it may deserve a run if you're a fan of the new genre.
  18. 65
    Combat is underwhelming and the basic grind can become repetitive, while the amount of backtracking further compounds these issues. However, if you can stick at it, you'll find that Book of Memories is still frighteningly addictive, and with friends can provide a nice distraction.
  19. Oct 24, 2012
    65
    It's a solid start for a game capable of excellence, but so frequently squanders the credit it earns on frankly confusing design.
  20. Oct 24, 2012
    65
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories is a surprising twist on the franchise that works in some areas, while falling flat in others. If you intend to duke it out with friends, I recommend it wholeheartedly, especially with the lousy Vita lineup right now. If you are going in strictly for the Silent Hill aspect, you are likely to be disappointed.
  21. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    63
    Still, Book of Memories is not a bad game. There are elements of Catherine, Persona and even the classic Gauntlet to be found. Just don't except a riveting horror experience, because that is not what Book of Memories is or tries to be. [December 2012, p.77]
  22. Oct 21, 2012
    63
    Completely unrelated to Silent Hill and horror, an acceptable dungeon crawler with many hours of combat ahead. Recommended for those who want a game to play online, since its multiplayer is the key to make the most of it.
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    62
    As a Silent Hill game it's disappointing. As a "dungeon crawler", quite poor. Definitely, Book of Memories it's not a very recommendable game.
  24. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 21, 2012
    60
    Dungeon action with online cooperation doesn't exactly fit into the Silent Hill universe but if you give it a chance it may surprise you. [Christmas 2012]
  25. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 17, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, but not particularly memorable. [Jan 2013, p.78]
  26. Games Master UK
    Nov 25, 2012
    60
    Unsure of its own direction, this is interesting but a missed opportunity. [Christmas 2012, p.85]
  27. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    There isn't much in way of story or expandability, but it gets basic, punishingly repetitive combat down just right, and that makes it worth a purchase if you're looking for something to fill the time.
  28. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    As a horror dungeon crawler, the biggest problem is the lack of horror. Some RPG elements are really good, but the game is very monotonous.
  29. 60
    In essence, it's got quite a lot of things going for it as interesting spin-offs go. The hunt for experience points and the leveling up of your character can motivate for a while you if that sort of thing floats your boat. In that light, it really is a bit of a shame that WayForward didn't dare to go even deeper into the role playing aspects. It's a game trapped somewhere between looting and survival, the series' past and its own future.
  30. 60
    Adventuring in Silent Hill: Book of Memories is often not that exciting, but as a fan of dungeon crawlers, I often caught myself coming back for just one more go. Wait for the bargain bin offers.
  31. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    The gameplay of the new Silent Hill feels pretty good. It lacks in story and graphics though. The user-interface doesn't work like it should, and the multiplayer is a huge disappointment. Book of Memories could have been great but downright isn't.
  32. Oct 25, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories falls short as both a dungeon-crawler and a horror game.
  33. Oct 24, 2012
    60
    It mixes solid but underwhelming gameplay with a lackluster presentation. If you just want dungeons to crawl through and couldn't care less about polished menus and engaging stories, great.
  34. Oct 24, 2012
    60
    The one aspect that most defines Silent Hill, story, is lacking here in both presentation and content, again providing a missed opportunity for material to lure me back in.
  35. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Nov 26, 2012
    59
    This dungeon crawler won't satisfy those seeking scares. [Christmas 2012, p.102]
  36. Feb 8, 2013
    50
    While RPGs and dungeon crawler games are my favorite style of hand held games, there are better options than Book of Memories. The Silent Hill aesthetic is pretty well represented, but the game itself struggles to maintain mediocrity. The game is great in short bursts, but fails to hold your attention for long periods of time.
  37. Dec 12, 2012
    50
    It has its moments but this trek through rooms and corridors quickly becomes tiresome and uninspired. The multiplayer brings it up a notch, but not enough to make this truly worth your time.
  38. Nov 27, 2012
    50
    A hack 'n slash/ action RPG Silent Hill? Yes, it's a major deviation from the survival horror genre and not a good one.
  39. Nov 22, 2012
    50
    Silent Hill: Book of Memories devolves from a mediocre dungeon crawler into a frustrating grind over the course of too many hours. WayForward's attempt to do something different with the Silent Hill universe is novel, but the clunky combat and imbalanced difficulty make this impossible to recommend.
  40. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    At its best, it doesn't do anything but supply fun in multiplayer, but at its worse, it is a boring and generic with no redeeming qualities and is something I cannot recommend to anyone looking for a good action RPG on their Vita.
  41. It's the repetition that grinds you down. Boss battles provide brief breaks in the monotony, but they're just the seeping gizzard of consolation inside a disappointing, fleshy haystack.
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    2
    One user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game isOne user gave this game a perfect '10' and said "Ignore all the old Silent Hill fans that are Butt hurt that there (sic) game is changing"....That's nonsense. First, I call BS on anyone who would give this game a perfect score. A '5' or a '6'? Everyone is different, so maybe. But a '10'? No. He gave it a '10' to try and counterbalance all the 0s, 1s, and 2s this game will get. Second, the reason why people are calling this game garbage is because it's a bad game. Not because anyone is 'Butt hurt' over the series changing. It's a bad game. Period. No need to try and make up silly reasons for why people don't like it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The low user score worried me, so I downloaded the demo. I suggest you do the same. This is a fun game. Great graphics and atmosphere,The low user score worried me, so I downloaded the demo. I suggest you do the same. This is a fun game. Great graphics and atmosphere, solid and responsive control, balanced and addictive game play, creepy and engaging story, fun customization. It is not like the old silent hill games, as you probably know. It is more like Diablo in its play mechanics, so know what you're getting into. My only complaint about the game is the load-times. They are not insanely long, but should be shorter. If this were fixed, I would have given it a 9. Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    So I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is reallySo I picked this game up yesterday, after playing the demo I really liked it. So I started playing it and got past the demo and it is really awesome. at first its kinda slow but its just because its trying to teach you the basics because there are alot of different things to know. I also got a chance to play the 4 man MULTIPLAYER and that is also really smooth with no lag and also having more people helps you get through the zones faster. The voice while your playing is pretty cool to. I really have enjoyed this game so far and would reccomend it. I would give this game 9 but just because people are giving 0s which is not even fair to the game Here is my score Full Review »