Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    88
    In a Call of Duty world, Sly Cooper is 2013's first unexpected breath of fresh, universally appealing air.
  2. Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a very good adventure game that sports equal amounts of stealth, action, exploration and platforms, creating a unique experience. The amusing aesthetics and the humorous dialogue that were the trademark of the original trilogy are present as well, which, in addition to the aforementioned characteristics, lead us to say that this is a good choice for our portable consoles.
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    80
    A last generation concept spruced up in higher definition, given a bit of spit and polish and sent out with a couple of new mechanics.
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    80
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time pays homage to the original game mechanics in lieu of simply starting over like many franchises have.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    For the most part, though, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a welcome throwback.
  8. 77
    With colourful visuals, a neat little story, and some great voice acting, the game is only hampered by its simplicity, a few minor camera issues, and some long load times. Sure, it doesn’t bring anything radically new to the genre, but it is a good game nonetheless.
  9. Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Sly Cooper Thieves In Time is a well made action/platform that effectively recovers the formula that belonged to the saga at the time of PS2.
  10. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    Thieves in Time resembles a mini game collection made for PlayStation 2. The rough graphics, ridiculously long loading times and at times tedious platforming moments are justified by a well told story and lovingly created mini games.
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    Arcade escapades of the legendary raccoon master thief Sly Cooper can be recommended to the handheld owners, even though you won't find qualities of the previous installments. Still, it is one of the best easy-to-play games on PlayStation Vita, entertaining die-hard fans as well as the newcomers.
  12. Mar 20, 2013
    70
    Those looking for an enjoyable platform romp will no doubt have a blast with the game, but those looking for something new may come away disappointed.
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    70
    Its game may rarely do anything you haven't seen done better elsewhere, but the developer knots a slew of disparate elements together with no little skill, leaving the whole feeling irresistibly fresh. [March 2013, p.102]
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    65
    By design, Thieves in Time is a fairly simple experience, so if you want more of a challenge, maybe it’s time to graduate to something that’s going to stretch you a little more. I personally need more from a game at this stage of my life. Sorry Sly, it’s not you, it’s me.
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. TheEasily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. The graphics are gorgeous, the game play is intuitive, the script is witty, funny and not super cheesy like similar titles might be. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I must say this really is a game that is part of the Sly Cooper series, it appears to keep to the same style and setting in the sense theI must say this really is a game that is part of the Sly Cooper series, it appears to keep to the same style and setting in the sense the first three, I like that it actually feels like one a sly game, rather then being altered to the point where there is no resemblance to the previous games, as so many other titles have suffered. I love the game so far, it was well worth the money.

    However, It appears that the Vita version of this game is or appears to be a port from the PlayStation 3 with little alteration, this is fine in the sense of keeping the games similar, but I have found that the game can lag and slow down on the Vita, and I have encountered quite a few bugs and glitches. Although the game did just release, and I am hoping that they release an update for this game to make it run much smoother on the Vita.

    All in all I must say that this really is a great game, if you played the previous titles you will love this one, it may even be good if you start out with this game! Some may say that they find it too childish, but really what does it matter? As someone once said, "A mature adult should not be afraid of childish things."

    So, to conclude, this game really is worth your time and money, but I must take my score down to 9, I do love this game, however it needs an update to fix the issues of the game lagging from time to time, as well as other bug fixes.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Awesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back inAwesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back in the day...took me back to the good ol days of Crash Bandicoot. Full Review »