User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. The graphics are gorgeous, the game play is intuitive, the script is witty, funny and not super cheesy like similar titles might be.
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I must say this really is a game that is part of the Sly Cooper series, it appears to keep to the same style and setting in the sense the first three, I like that it actually feels like one a sly game, rather then being altered to the point where there is no resemblance to the previous games, as so many other titles have suffered. I love the game so far, it was well worth the money.

    However, It appears that the Vita version of this game is or appears to be a port from the PlayStation 3 with little alteration, this is fine in the sense of keeping the games similar, but I have found that the game can lag and slow down on the Vita, and I have encountered quite a few bugs and glitches. Although the game did just release, and I am hoping that they release an update for this game to make it run much smoother on the Vita.

    All in all I must say that this really is a great game, if you played the previous titles you will love this one, it may even be good if you start out with this game! Some may say that they find it too childish, but really what does it matter? As someone once said, "A mature adult should not be afraid of childish things."

    So, to conclude, this game really is worth your time and money, but I must take my score down to 9, I do love this game, however it needs an update to fix the issues of the game lagging from time to time, as well as other bug fixes.
    Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    On the PS3, this game was nothing more than a new Sly game and as great as that is for a fan, IDK I just found it verry easy to drop... So I put it on my vita and man I have to say, the game SHINES on the vita, Its beautiful, its runs verry well and the missions are perfect for both on the go gaming and if you want that console experiance on a handheld. i found myslef running around finding every collectible and doing everything i could. Its my favorite game so far on the vita. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Brilliant Vita game my marks and comments are for this handheld not comparing to PS3 games etc. As a Vita game its a clear nine, it shows what kind of thing we can expect and its probably the second truly premium title following Gravity Rush. Well worth a buy.
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    At first the game bore me.But when you start time traveling the game gets really good the locations you travel to are huge and beautiful with lots of hidden content in each of them the level designs are great the parkour is so much fun the dialogue is great ,the story is very interesting which will make you want to watch every cutscene in game and the cartoon cutscenes look great,The graphics looks great on the vita the visuals remind me of the good old days of ps2 the only thing I hate about the game are the mini games especially the ones where u have to use your vita's motion sensors I hate those so much.but the game is well worth your money.Sly cooper is the best platformer I have every played on the vita and deserve's a 9/10 rating!!!!! Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    5
    Ok let me start off by saying I am a big fan of Sly cooper. I've had all the original games for ps2 (still have them btw) and I also own the hd collection on ps3 so to be expected I would love the latest one to come out. However, the vita version, the one i played was absolutely mediocre and wayy to buggy. I havent played the ps3 version so i expect that to be more enjoyable, but the vita version sadly is not. It feels like an unfinished unpolished port. There were even some missions that i couldnt complete as a result of a glitch. If you plan on getting this game i definitely recommend it for the ps3 because the vita version is a disappointing unfinished waste of time and a waste of your money. Do yourself a favor and pick up the ps3 version instead besides it has a code for the vita version if you are interested. Expand
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper has been given another solid piece to add to the already beloved franchise, but players looking for innovation will be disappointed. The strengths still lie in the platform gameplay, quirky characters and fun story. The cross buy and save features at a $40 price tag leaves no excuse for fans of the series.
  8. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    This was a great game and a true entry into the series. It has the usual issues with the series in the camera angles and jumping controls at times just don't like to work together, but the mechanics for all the other characters worked really well. The story fit well and was told with the great balance of humor and seriousness that has characterized the series for me. Over all I had a great time with this game. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Awesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back in the day...took me back to the good ol days of Crash Bandicoot.
  10. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    One of the best experiences on Vita. Great story, fun gameplay (even for adults), good visuals and the music is great. Also, the game is VERY long (at least 13 hours to complete). Very recommended!
  11. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    A great, family-friendly 3D platformer that you can take with you on the go. I've never played a game in the series before, but I instantly loved the story and the characters. The gameplay is topnotch and features tons of variety. Repetition is barely an issue here as you are rarely doing the same thing twice. With multiple playable characters, a lengthy main story, and numerous side-content to complete, you can spend a lot of time with this game and not be bored.

    The Vita is a great way to experience this game. It's not the best way to experience the story because not all of the cutscenes feature subtitles, which can cause problems in areas where you can't have the volume up. That being said headphones correct this issue. The only other complaint I have is the occasional shoe-horning in of the Vita's tilt controls during some hacking sections. These issues don't detract from what makes this game so much fun, but they are noticeable. Overall though everything feels great on the Vita, and the cross-save function is going to be incredibly useful to those who want to take their PS3 save on the go.

    It is very impressive to see a console caliber 3D platformer on a handheld gaming system. With it's wealth of content, family-friendly nature, and excellently designed gameplay this is a game I highly recommend. This is one of those rare games that will appeal to gamers both young and old. So if you're looking for an excellent 3D platformer to take with you on the go, "Thieves in Time" is sure to please.
    Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    I've got just one word to describe Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time for Playstation Vita. And that, my friends is 'outstanding'. Yup Sly 4 packs a gorgeous, toon art style (that loses very little in handheld form when compared to it's PS3 big bro), great gameplay, seemingly endless collectibles, buttery smooth animation, and an utterly endearing (and at times, downright hilarious) narrative. For me, it's one of ten finest games you can buy on Vita, and I really can't recommend it highly enough! Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    A very good game, don't let the kiddy graphics fool you, it really is just a reskinned infamous type game. I loved the open world in this game and was pleasantly suprised at how rewarding looking for the treasures and bottles were, all were well hidden and a fun/challenging to find. The diverse and fun gameplay during the span of this game was very fun also, never felt repititive. The stealth mechanics and missions of the game were excellent and very fun also. The only negatives were the frequent and long load times, a generic story (ok, but kind of boring and it didn't really suck me in), and the game tells you how to do everything. However the excellent gameplay/open world substantially outweighs the negatives of this game by a far margin. I would definately suggest this game to everyone; a very strong 87/100. Expand
  14. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    This games is perfect in vita, more a lot mini games, love it. Fun & Funny Games, but the problem just in loading is take too long. If i can give this score 9 for gameplay, 8 for music, 9 for graphic, 5 for loading time, but the overall is 9
  15. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I've never played a Sly Cooper game before, I thought a platformed on the vita would be fun, although I was a little worried the stealth elements would be a huge pain, because I just don't have the patience for that, but thankfully it is just plain fun. It's got a quirky sense of humour with fun over the top characters. The controls can be a bit tricky at first but once you remember a few button combos you'll be just fine. You are forced to use Vita specific features like the accelerometer a few times but it never gets too heavy handed. It has plenty of unlockables and areas to explore so if you want to squeeze every hour out of this game you should have dozens of hours of fun. The fact that is cross saves with the PS3 is a nice feature as well. I think k this is a solid and fun game any Vita owner should pick up. Expand
  16. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper is like rag-doll. Throw back some attention to this epic game, and it can be situated that this is a near to the best game for PS Vita, only because the platforming was strange that i gave a -2 to the score
  17. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    This game is better than sly 3 but it still doesn't live up to sly 2. The gameplay is fun, the levels are bigger, The missions are better than sly 3. My main complaint is that that there are too many minigames in the levels
  18. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is good 3D platform game for the younger audience.
    The older Vita audience should definitely look elsewhere, unless they already are fans of the series and know what they are buying!
  19. May 11, 2014
    7
    A while back I picked up a copy of the Sly HD Collection on PS3. I managed to finish the first one, and was impressed by how the second game improved upon the formula however I quickly lost interest. Thieves in Time came up as a free PlayStation Plus game so I decided to give it a go. Interestingly, not a single thing seems to have changed since Sly 2, given that the gameplay and mechanics are more or less identical. I would presume that Sly 3 is much the same. This time Sly and his gang are using a time machine (which just happened to be invented by Bentley at the exact time it was needed) to go back in time and save Sly's ancestors from other time-travelling nasties. Amusingly, his ancestors are a bunch of walking stereotypes, such as Rioichi Cooper, a thick-accented Japanese Ninja who supposedly invented sushi, or Tennessee Kid Cooper, the smooth outlaw with a southern accent and a six-shooter. The ancestors are hardly interesting characters given just how stereotypical they are and even less go given that they play more or less the same as Sly does except for a special ability or two. This is a shame given that a couple of the characters almost border on being interesting sometimes but ultimately fail to do so given just how unoriginal they are. The Vita version is very solid, offering great visuals running at the Vita's native resolution that don't skip a beat framerate-wise. Unfortunately, the loading times are beyond awful with about a minute of loading screens between the main menu and actually being able to run about and cause havoc. Despite a cast of unimaginative characters and some terrible loading times, it's hard to fault Thieves in Time being a safe foray back into the series. Fans of the second and third games will feel right at home, but don't expect anything too new or groundbreaking with this one. Expand
  20. May 13, 2014
    8
    Good old sly comes back with a bang, and the vita does it justice. Thieves in Time is a very fun game that anyone can get into. If your into old sly games, then you will enjoy this game. The game keeps true to the sly 2 and sly 3 formula. The missions are fun to play, the game has a good seance of humor, there are many things to collect, the characters are likable, fun boss battles, and the game play is very good. There are some problems. I can tell that they were starting to run out of ideas around the end. There is not much innovation done. This game does not have to much replay value. The only replay is collecting the collectibles. Finally the final boss was very disappointing. Luckily for Thieves in Time, the good heavily out ways the bad, and I highly recommend picking this game up. You will not regret it. Also its a sly game on the go. Whats not to like about that. Expand
  21. May 13, 2014
    2
    This game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and the jokes fall flat. You can play all three of the main characters but playing anyone other than Sly himself is really boring. Apart from the nostalgia factor there is really no point in playing this game. Even then its unlikely to hold your interest beyond the first few missions. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.