User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    5
    Ok let me start off by saying I am a big fan of Sly cooper. I've had all the original games for ps2 (still have them btw) and I also own the hd collection on ps3 so to be expected I would love the latest one to come out. However, the vita version, the one i played was absolutely mediocre and wayy to buggy. I havent played the ps3 version so i expect that to be more enjoyable, but the vitaOk let me start off by saying I am a big fan of Sly cooper. I've had all the original games for ps2 (still have them btw) and I also own the hd collection on ps3 so to be expected I would love the latest one to come out. However, the vita version, the one i played was absolutely mediocre and wayy to buggy. I havent played the ps3 version so i expect that to be more enjoyable, but the vita version sadly is not. It feels like an unfinished unpolished port. There were even some missions that i couldnt complete as a result of a glitch. If you plan on getting this game i definitely recommend it for the ps3 because the vita version is a disappointing unfinished waste of time and a waste of your money. Do yourself a favor and pick up the ps3 version instead besides it has a code for the vita version if you are interested. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    This game is better than sly 3 but it still doesn't live up to sly 2. The gameplay is fun, the levels are bigger, The missions are better than sly 3. My main complaint is that that there are too many minigames in the levels
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is good 3D platform game for the younger audience.
    The older Vita audience should definitely look elsewhere, unless they already are fans of the series and know what they are buying!
  4. May 11, 2014
    7
    A while back I picked up a copy of the Sly HD Collection on PS3. I managed to finish the first one, and was impressed by how the second game improved upon the formula however I quickly lost interest. Thieves in Time came up as a free PlayStation Plus game so I decided to give it a go. Interestingly, not a single thing seems to have changed since Sly 2, given that the gameplay and mechanicsA while back I picked up a copy of the Sly HD Collection on PS3. I managed to finish the first one, and was impressed by how the second game improved upon the formula however I quickly lost interest. Thieves in Time came up as a free PlayStation Plus game so I decided to give it a go. Interestingly, not a single thing seems to have changed since Sly 2, given that the gameplay and mechanics are more or less identical. I would presume that Sly 3 is much the same. This time Sly and his gang are using a time machine (which just happened to be invented by Bentley at the exact time it was needed) to go back in time and save Sly's ancestors from other time-travelling nasties. Amusingly, his ancestors are a bunch of walking stereotypes, such as Rioichi Cooper, a thick-accented Japanese Ninja who supposedly invented sushi, or Tennessee Kid Cooper, the smooth outlaw with a southern accent and a six-shooter. The ancestors are hardly interesting characters given just how stereotypical they are and even less go given that they play more or less the same as Sly does except for a special ability or two. This is a shame given that a couple of the characters almost border on being interesting sometimes but ultimately fail to do so given just how unoriginal they are. The Vita version is very solid, offering great visuals running at the Vita's native resolution that don't skip a beat framerate-wise. Unfortunately, the loading times are beyond awful with about a minute of loading screens between the main menu and actually being able to run about and cause havoc. Despite a cast of unimaginative characters and some terrible loading times, it's hard to fault Thieves in Time being a safe foray back into the series. Fans of the second and third games will feel right at home, but don't expect anything too new or groundbreaking with this one. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2014
    7
    It's alright. I only own the Vita version of Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time so I'm guessing the PS3 version is a bit better. I'm not saying the game is bad of course, though it has a bit too many annoyances. The mini games are boring a lot of the time and there's a ton of 'em. The good greatly outweigh the bad as the animated cutscenes are great, the costumes are fun to use, the graphics lookIt's alright. I only own the Vita version of Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time so I'm guessing the PS3 version is a bit better. I'm not saying the game is bad of course, though it has a bit too many annoyances. The mini games are boring a lot of the time and there's a ton of 'em. The good greatly outweigh the bad as the animated cutscenes are great, the costumes are fun to use, the graphics look good, it plays mostly like the originals, and the original voice actors come back to do their roles (mostly). Even with all this there's something that's just missing from Thieves in Time that 1, 2, & 3 had. I still recommend it. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.