Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper ofSly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper of the treasured Thievius Raccoonus, The Cooper family’s ancient book of master thievery. When Bentley discovers that pages of the book have begun to disappear in front of his eyes, he must round up the gang and save the Cooper Clan legacy from being destroyed forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    88
    In a Call of Duty world, Sly Cooper is 2013's first unexpected breath of fresh, universally appealing air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  3. Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  4. 77
    With colourful visuals, a neat little story, and some great voice acting, the game is only hampered by its simplicity, a few minor camera issues, and some long load times. Sure, it doesn’t bring anything radically new to the genre, but it is a good game nonetheless.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Sly Cooper Thieves In Time is a well made action/platform that effectively recovers the formula that belonged to the saga at the time of PS2.
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    Thieves in Time resembles a mini game collection made for PlayStation 2. The rough graphics, ridiculously long loading times and at times tedious platforming moments are justified by a well told story and lovingly created mini games.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    On the PS3, this game was nothing more than a new Sly game and as great as that is for a fan, IDK I just found it verry easy to drop... So IOn the PS3, this game was nothing more than a new Sly game and as great as that is for a fan, IDK I just found it verry easy to drop... So I put it on my vita and man I have to say, the game SHINES on the vita, Its beautiful, its runs verry well and the missions are perfect for both on the go gaming and if you want that console experiance on a handheld. i found myslef running around finding every collectible and doing everything i could. Its my favorite game so far on the vita. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. TheEasily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. The graphics are gorgeous, the game play is intuitive, the script is witty, funny and not super cheesy like similar titles might be. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I've never played a Sly Cooper game before, I thought a platformed on the vita would be fun, although I was a little worried the stealthI've never played a Sly Cooper game before, I thought a platformed on the vita would be fun, although I was a little worried the stealth elements would be a huge pain, because I just don't have the patience for that, but thankfully it is just plain fun. It's got a quirky sense of humour with fun over the top characters. The controls can be a bit tricky at first but once you remember a few button combos you'll be just fine. You are forced to use Vita specific features like the accelerometer a few times but it never gets too heavy handed. It has plenty of unlockables and areas to explore so if you want to squeeze every hour out of this game you should have dozens of hours of fun. The fact that is cross saves with the PS3 is a nice feature as well. I think k this is a solid and fun game any Vita owner should pick up. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Awesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back inAwesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back in the day...took me back to the good ol days of Crash Bandicoot. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    A very good game, don't let the kiddy graphics fool you, it really is just a reskinned infamous type game. I loved the open world in thisA very good game, don't let the kiddy graphics fool you, it really is just a reskinned infamous type game. I loved the open world in this game and was pleasantly suprised at how rewarding looking for the treasures and bottles were, all were well hidden and a fun/challenging to find. The diverse and fun gameplay during the span of this game was very fun also, never felt repititive. The stealth mechanics and missions of the game were excellent and very fun also. The only negatives were the frequent and long load times, a generic story (ok, but kind of boring and it didn't really suck me in), and the game tells you how to do everything. However the excellent gameplay/open world substantially outweighs the negatives of this game by a far margin. I would definately suggest this game to everyone; a very strong 87/100. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2014
    8
    For a Sly Cooper game, this wasn't the best but definitely very fun. The thing that made me lose interest was the collection of mini-games butFor a Sly Cooper game, this wasn't the best but definitely very fun. The thing that made me lose interest was the collection of mini-games but the story line was pretty neat. Compared to the PS3 demo of the game, I felt like this version was a lot more "cartoony". What got me intrigued was that you got to learn more about Sly's ancestor and got to play as them. Each Sly ancestor have a bunch of unique abilities. The game is pretty short compared to the other Sly games I've played, maybe that's just my preference but the game is pretty cheap to buy and the story itself explains what's going on so if you've never played a Sly game and start with this one, you won't be lost. I do recommend this game for those that want to get a new PS Vita game. Please read, game does get laggy at some points and it does get noticeable in certain parts but it's worth playing. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    2
    This game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and theThis game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and the jokes fall flat. You can play all three of the main characters but playing anyone other than Sly himself is really boring. Apart from the nostalgia factor there is really no point in playing this game. Even then its unlikely to hold your interest beyond the first few missions. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.