Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper ofSly Cooper Thieves in Time continues to chronicle the adventures of the Sly Cooper gang from where Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves concluded. After completing their latest heist, Sly carries on with a case of alleged amnesia and dances off with gal pal Carmelita, leaving Bentley as the keeper of the treasured Thievius Raccoonus, The Cooper family’s ancient book of master thievery. When Bentley discovers that pages of the book have begun to disappear in front of his eyes, he must round up the gang and save the Cooper Clan legacy from being destroyed forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    88
    In a Call of Duty world, Sly Cooper is 2013's first unexpected breath of fresh, universally appealing air.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    Sly's return to mainstream platforming action is a welcome one. It's a wise-cracking charm-offensive specifically designed to juxtapose the words 'madcap' and 'romp' in the same sentence.
  3. Basically, the same great PS3 title we reviewed a while back, but portable and with exemplary CrossPlay functionality. Being able to whip out your Vita and pick up from where you left off (by downloading a Cloud save) is an absolute godsend and the synching process is flawless. [June 2013, p80]
  4. 77
    With colourful visuals, a neat little story, and some great voice acting, the game is only hampered by its simplicity, a few minor camera issues, and some long load times. Sure, it doesn’t bring anything radically new to the genre, but it is a good game nonetheless.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Sly Cooper Thieves In Time is a well made action/platform that effectively recovers the formula that belonged to the saga at the time of PS2.
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    70
    Thieves in Time resembles a mini game collection made for PlayStation 2. The rough graphics, ridiculously long loading times and at times tedious platforming moments are justified by a well told story and lovingly created mini games.
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    60
    On one hand, it’s a fun, colorful, hearty little game that employs throwback platforming and collect-a-thon elements to good effect. On the other hand, it features a jarring mishmash of gameplay styles, lacks challenge and suffers from enthusiasm-sapping load times.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    On the PS3, this game was nothing more than a new Sly game and as great as that is for a fan, IDK I just found it verry easy to drop... So IOn the PS3, this game was nothing more than a new Sly game and as great as that is for a fan, IDK I just found it verry easy to drop... So I put it on my vita and man I have to say, the game SHINES on the vita, Its beautiful, its runs verry well and the missions are perfect for both on the go gaming and if you want that console experiance on a handheld. i found myslef running around finding every collectible and doing everything i could. Its my favorite game so far on the vita. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Easily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. TheEasily the best game for the Vita yet; an immersive, nostalgic 3-D platformer that'll leave Sly Cooper fans and noobs engaged alike. The graphics are gorgeous, the game play is intuitive, the script is witty, funny and not super cheesy like similar titles might be. Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    I've never played a Sly Cooper game before, I thought a platformed on the vita would be fun, although I was a little worried the stealthI've never played a Sly Cooper game before, I thought a platformed on the vita would be fun, although I was a little worried the stealth elements would be a huge pain, because I just don't have the patience for that, but thankfully it is just plain fun. It's got a quirky sense of humour with fun over the top characters. The controls can be a bit tricky at first but once you remember a few button combos you'll be just fine. You are forced to use Vita specific features like the accelerometer a few times but it never gets too heavy handed. It has plenty of unlockables and areas to explore so if you want to squeeze every hour out of this game you should have dozens of hours of fun. The fact that is cross saves with the PS3 is a nice feature as well. I think k this is a solid and fun game any Vita owner should pick up. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Awesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back inAwesome platformer game. Has a ton of playability and the story is wonderful. Definitely reminds why I started with the playstation back in the day...took me back to the good ol days of Crash Bandicoot. Expand
  5. May 13, 2014
    8
    Good old sly comes back with a bang, and the vita does it justice. Thieves in Time is a very fun game that anyone can get into. If your intoGood old sly comes back with a bang, and the vita does it justice. Thieves in Time is a very fun game that anyone can get into. If your into old sly games, then you will enjoy this game. The game keeps true to the sly 2 and sly 3 formula. The missions are fun to play, the game has a good seance of humor, there are many things to collect, the characters are likable, fun boss battles, and the game play is very good. There are some problems. I can tell that they were starting to run out of ideas around the end. There is not much innovation done. This game does not have to much replay value. The only replay is collecting the collectibles. Finally the final boss was very disappointing. Luckily for Thieves in Time, the good heavily out ways the bad, and I highly recommend picking this game up. You will not regret it. Also its a sly game on the go. Whats not to like about that. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    This game is better than sly 3 but it still doesn't live up to sly 2. The gameplay is fun, the levels are bigger, The missions are better thanThis game is better than sly 3 but it still doesn't live up to sly 2. The gameplay is fun, the levels are bigger, The missions are better than sly 3. My main complaint is that that there are too many minigames in the levels Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    2
    This game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and theThis game's difficulty level is designed for an extremely young audience. The voices are well acted but the script is poorly written and the jokes fall flat. You can play all three of the main characters but playing anyone other than Sly himself is really boring. Apart from the nostalgia factor there is really no point in playing this game. Even then its unlikely to hold your interest beyond the first few missions. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.