Smart as... PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 23, 2012
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    Not the best brain trainer in the market, but it can be proud about its online options, related to compare results with other players in the world.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    There really isn't much to be said about Smart As. It works as advertised and accomplishes what it set out to do – no more, no less.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    As useful as this is, the game offers only an ephemeral experience, and will struggle to hold players' attention after their daily workout has concluded and a few high scores have been logged online.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    70
    Smart As… is a good brain-training game from Sony, but unfortunately its price doesn't help to reach a better score.
  5. 70
    It's a good option to have on the Vita if you are looking for short game sessions, will be up to you whether or not is worth the price.
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    Smart As… is a good brain trainer for the Vita, but the quality of the mini games varies quite a lot. Some are addictive gold nuggets while others are easily forgotten.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    70
    There's lots of great brain training here, but we could have done without the bugs.
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    68
    All that's missing is brain games that you'd actually want to play every day.
  9. Oct 30, 2012
    74
    A fun diversion for those quick commutes and / or times when you just want to kill a few minutes with a game. I keep going back after unlocking everything just to double-check my positions on the scoreboards, even if just for 5-10 minutes a day. That is a good sign!
  10. Nov 7, 2012
    69
    When we thought the time of brain trainers was past, Smart As appears to utilize all the possibilities PS Vita is capable of. With 20 mini-games, the problem is that not all are equal funny and really helpful to train our minds. A correct starting point in the genre with elements that should be revised and improved for future sequels, but with others really well implemented, like the social element and Near challenges.
  11. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    70
    We would be surprised if you told us you've never heard of Brain Training on the Nintendo DS. Just like Brain Training, Smart As challenges the mind with clever puzzles and – judging by the title – puns. You could say it makes you more PUNctual. Muhahahahahahaha. [December 2012, p.92]
  12. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    60
    It contains everything you'd expect of a middle-of-the-road puzzle game, and it's executed competently. But the creators of this game suffered from a paucity of ambition. There is a tsunami of innovation crashing through the worlds of online and interactive learning, Rocksmith being but one example. [January 2013, p74]
  13. It won't keep you amused for great stretches at once – it feels a bit more like a really great app than a fully fledged game – but for enjoyable chunks of puzzle-centric play to dip in and out of, this hits the mark.
  14. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    While the brainteasers and competition are addicting, there's not enough substance to make Smart As worth the price; it'd be better off as a $15 download. [Holiday 2012, p.76]
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    60
    Initial impressions of Smart As are good, but the game rapidly shows itself to be a brain training title lacking any in-depth planning.
  16. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    Smart As offers an enjoyable mental workout, which is complemented by some outstanding connectivity features. It's a shame that so much of its content has to be unlocked, but what's included is fun and thoughtfully designed.
  17. Oct 31, 2012
    65
    A correct 'brain trainer', but lacks a good presentation or more game modes. This, together with some other aspects that could've been improved makes Smart As… a good option for those who are looking for this kind of experience on PSVita, taking into account that it's the only one.
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    70
    Although the price is way too high for a game such as this, Smart As is a fun and diverse workout for your brain.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Smart As is a nice looking and fun brain training game... I keep up on my daily training every day and enjoy comparing my score to my PSNSmart As is a nice looking and fun brain training game... I keep up on my daily training every day and enjoy comparing my score to my PSN friends. It's also fun to send and receive 'near' challenges and check who what and where is smarter in the world. I've been playing it since it came out and i intend to go on playing it! Full Review »
  2. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    This is a well polished brain training game that has some great fun games but also a few that aren't as good because you use Vita featuresThis is a well polished brain training game that has some great fun games but also a few that aren't as good because you use Vita features unnessesarily. Too many of the games are you racing with touch controls instead of thinking of the answer. The times you need to 3 star games are tough and you will likely fail because you were wrestingly with a Vita gimmick instead of using your brain faster. It keeps you going by limiting the games you have access to by only unlocking one per day. Still playing it and having fun but I wish I could not have to play 4 or 5 games. Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    its a great game for real gamers not COD gamers nuff said ............................................................................................