Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    88
    This title surprises us bringing all the content –and almost the same visuals– than the console version. It's the karts game PSVita was missing, and proves once again that Sony's handheld has a great variety of titles.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    83
    A great PSV port of an already high-octane arcade racer from the talented crew of Sumo Digital.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed for the PS Vita might not be quite as good as its siblings on home consoles, but it comes really close.
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    Highly recommended to all fans of the genre Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a simple but great arcade driving game.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    In light of its technical flaws, we'd only cautiously recommend buying it on Vita. If you own a PS3, Xbox 360 or Wii U, you'd be better off with any of those versions, while those seeking a fast-paced racer that really makes their Vita sing should consider WipEout 2048 ahead of this.
  6. The hooning that ensues is heavily derivative of both Mario Kart and also ModNation Racers, copping the funky weapon pickups of the former and the screaming drift mechanics of the latter. It plays just like you're imagining, with the added gimmickry of the "Transformed" bit in the title giving rise to certain moments where your car will literally transform into a hovercraft (boring) or jet (radical). [January 2013, p70]
  7. While this PS Vita version does nothing wrong, the PS3 version's split-screen option makes that the one to get. [February 2013, p81]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    The second time I played this game the first one is Crash Bandicoot Nitro Kart on the PS2 so this game surprised me with the mixed charcter of great games and the thing that i was amazed is it can transform from car to a plane or form car to a boat vice versa so a lots of weapons too... can help you a lot and amazing mods. That is all i can say thank you. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Definitely a must have for any racing and kart racing fans on vita!
    A hard decision for me to buy this game but man after few hours with it I
    can tell you it's one of the most valued Vita title!
    Great graphics,runs smoothly,fun and addictive gameplay,great soundtrack lengthy career mode and best of all the ability to play this brilliant colorful game everywhere with you is a big advantage over console version!
    Every character is a joy to play with and not one that felt too superior or inferior to each other.
    With all the different versions of this game but to think that the graphics wasn't far off from its console counterparts really gave makes this game another hidden underrated gem in the PS Vita lineup!
    Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    A very good Mario-Kart based game for the vita port. Graphics are really beautiful and some frame-rate reduction seen in some maps (that surely can be improved with no slowdowns). Game play is really fun with all the weapons, water-boats and Air crafts for different characters. Limited Edition comes with the DLC pack for you to download Outrun Bay, extra modes and of course Metal Sonic, all for FREE!! Overall this is a good buy for me!! Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Driving system is a bit too much on rails or like daytona, wich i dont love so much, but the overall cute colored graphics and well balanced weapons makes this game on vita a good alternative to ModNation Racer. I cant understand why Ign compare this to Wipeout. Theres no clue in that line.

    This game can be compared to mario kart or mod nation racer only, speaking for portables.
    And in this match this game is a good challenger.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    The game almost looks like the PS3 version until you see the water.
    The online mode is unplayable.
    But its the same game with same exciting
    tracks, awesome soundtrack, beautiful scenarios and well balanced races.
    Its a better game than mario kart 7 or mario kart wii.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    This game is great. It's fast, it's slick, it's original, and it's great in almost every way. It's glitchy. Very glitchy. Not as bad as the Wii U version, but still pretty glitchy. And there are many framerate drops. Otherwise, this is a solid handheld port of a solid game. Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Not really overwhelmed with this game. Looks like a Mario Kart knock-off, but than with Sega characters. Notable, I haven't played much Sega games so can't really relate to the majority of the characters, I guess it must have a different feel if you feel related to them, but I don't. Looks colorful (which I like). Luck plays however an important part. I only played singleplayer and one race you can win buy just racing and the next you do the same thing but you get blasted by every pursuer in the row which gets you from position 1 to 8 fairly quickly, not so fond of that type of gameplay. So overall a very meh experience for me. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews