Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    88
    This title surprises us bringing all the content –and almost the same visuals– than the console version. It's the karts game PSVita was missing, and proves once again that Sony's handheld has a great variety of titles.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    83
    A great PSV port of an already high-octane arcade racer from the talented crew of Sumo Digital.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed for the PS Vita might not be quite as good as its siblings on home consoles, but it comes really close.
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    80
    Highly recommended to all fans of the genre Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a simple but great arcade driving game.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    In light of its technical flaws, we'd only cautiously recommend buying it on Vita. If you own a PS3, Xbox 360 or Wii U, you'd be better off with any of those versions, while those seeking a fast-paced racer that really makes their Vita sing should consider WipEout 2048 ahead of this.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 29, 2013
    70
    The hooning that ensues is heavily derivative of both Mario Kart and also ModNation Racers, copping the funky weapon pickups of the former and the screaming drift mechanics of the latter. It plays just like you're imagining, with the added gimmickry of the "Transformed" bit in the title giving rise to certain moments where your car will literally transform into a hovercraft (boring) or jet (radical). [January 2013, p70]
  7. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jan 28, 2013
    70
    While this PS Vita version does nothing wrong, the PS3 version's split-screen option makes that the one to get. [February 2013, p81]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    The second time I played this game the first one is Crash Bandicoot Nitro Kart on the PS2 so this game surprised me with the mixed charcter ofThe second time I played this game the first one is Crash Bandicoot Nitro Kart on the PS2 so this game surprised me with the mixed charcter of great games and the thing that i was amazed is it can transform from car to a plane or form car to a boat vice versa so a lots of weapons too... can help you a lot and amazing mods. That is all i can say thank you. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    A very fun racer and a great port of the console versions. While the game is more than capable of having better graphics on the vita, it stillA very fun racer and a great port of the console versions. While the game is more than capable of having better graphics on the vita, it still looks good. I played the console version and this one is a great 1:1 port as far as control goes. It is a great game and if you are a fan of the Sega franchise and have a vita, I say you try this one out if you want a fun racer on the go. Also I read a few reviews where they complained about the framerate. See, when I hear a game has framerate problems I think of situations where the slow down becomes obnoxiously apparent or it slows down to the point of screwing you over. None of that is in this game. The framerate drop is not even a problem. The reviewers (IGN specifically) must have just been bad at the game and blamed the framerate because there is no other explanation I can think of. Bottom line, if the "framerate drop" is the deciding factor for you to buying this game for the Vita, do yourself a favor and get it. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Really can't find anything to fault this game on, I haven't suffered with frame rate issues at all (but that may be due to the patches)

    The
    Really can't find anything to fault this game on, I haven't suffered with frame rate issues at all (but that may be due to the patches)

    The game plays brilliantly and although the land to air to sea transformations change little about the actual gameplay it makes the levels themselves far more fun to play and interesting to race on.

    The graphics for this vita version are good, they are not great but they do still look great, this is a port and one that hasn't been as well as possible, I have played enough vita games to know the vita could display this game with higher graphics, that said it looks fantastic on the vita.

    The soundtrack surprised me, I was expecting to hate it but its well done and enjoyable and not too repetitive like it is in the Mario games.

    Overall this game is great, a long, deep campaign and great STABLE online play makes it a great buy, my second favourite racer on the vita after Need for Speed and the best kart racer Iv played to date.

    9.5/10
    Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    This game is great. It's fast, it's slick, it's original, and it's great in almost every way. It's glitchy. Very glitchy. Not as bad as theThis game is great. It's fast, it's slick, it's original, and it's great in almost every way. It's glitchy. Very glitchy. Not as bad as the Wii U version, but still pretty glitchy. And there are many framerate drops. Otherwise, this is a solid handheld port of a solid game. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    A good "Mario Kart" like for PSVita, with thrilling and numerous races, and many challenges to achieve. Graphics could have been slightlyA good "Mario Kart" like for PSVita, with thrilling and numerous races, and many challenges to achieve. Graphics could have been slightly better I guess, but it still very good level for a portable game console, especially the textures. Items are not as good as in MK, but it is sufficient. The framerate is excellent, giving a perfect speed sensation. Definitely worth it. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    The game almost looks like the PS3 version until you see the water.
    The online mode is unplayable.
    But its the same game with same exciting
    The game almost looks like the PS3 version until you see the water.
    The online mode is unplayable.
    But its the same game with same exciting tracks, awesome soundtrack, beautiful scenarios and well balanced races.
    Its a better game than mario kart 7 or mario kart wii.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Not really overwhelmed with this game. Looks like a Mario Kart knock-off, but than with Sega characters. Notable, I haven't played much SegaNot really overwhelmed with this game. Looks like a Mario Kart knock-off, but than with Sega characters. Notable, I haven't played much Sega games so can't really relate to the majority of the characters, I guess it must have a different feel if you feel related to them, but I don't. Looks colorful (which I like). Luck plays however an important part. I only played singleplayer and one race you can win buy just racing and the next you do the same thing but you get blasted by every pursuer in the row which gets you from position 1 to 8 fairly quickly, not so fond of that type of gameplay. So overall a very meh experience for me. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews