Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    83
    On the upside, careful crafting will at least give you a fighting chance, since you're allowed to carry stronger weapons into each new dungeon. Of course, if you die (which you most certainly will) then you lose those weapons, and everything gets pushed back to zero. So it's almost like you're grinding through level after level for no reason at all. Fun!
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Like a fiery feast, the experience can be punishing at times – but the overall feeling of reward when you succeed far outweighs the fleeting sting of a lost item or two.
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    80
    Excellent albeit not terribly inspired. It keeps to traditional motifs, eschewing more grandiose ideas in favour of a more familiar flavor. Think comfort food except more cerebral.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Sorcery Saga: Curse of the Great Curry God is equal parts fun and frustrating. The bright characters and fun world of Sorcery Saga make the remorseless autosaving of this hardcore dungeon-crawler easier to swallow.
  5. 80
    The Vita’s RPG library is gathering steam this year and Compile Heart’s latest is yet another wonderful installment in that collection.
  6. Jan 8, 2014
    75
    Although Sorcery Saga’s roguelike elements and minor glitches made me feel incredibly frustrated at times, I still enjoyed the story and characters enough to power through its multileveled dungeons just to see what happened once the credits rolled.
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    72
    The plot failed to surprise, but the strategy and RPG mix do deliver, so fans these genres will have a good time playing it.
  8. Apr 7, 2014
    71
    A neat risk/reward system. [May 2014, p.78]
  9. Mar 13, 2014
    70
    Sorcery Saga: The Curse of the Great Curry God is a title that manages to get across the understanding of a roguelike in a rather simple manner. While its concept might come across as a baby version of the genre, what lies beneath the cute visuals is a punishing game that won’t let you off easily.
  10. Feb 28, 2014
    70
    Insane, tough and uncommon dungeon crawler adventure destined to satisfy the most capable and experienced JRPG PS Vita gamers.
  11. Feb 15, 2014
    70
    It's short for an RPG, but does offer plenty of replay value. [Issue#240, p.70]
  12. Jul 6, 2014
    67
    I doubt I will look back on Sorcery Saga: Curse Of The Great Curry God fondly, if I remember it at all. If you cornered me and forced me to give it a compliment, the best I could come up with is that it is mercifully short.
  13. Feb 2, 2014
    60
    Its lighthearted nature is hard to recommend if you're not a fan of the genre, but if you're willing to try something a little different, there’s enough delicious pleasantries served throughout to satisfy anyone's dungeon-crawling cravings.
  14. 50
    Roguelike fans will appreciate the persistence needed to get anywhere but this is a mediocre example of the genre and not nearly as much fun as it could’ve been.
  15. Jan 23, 2014
    50
    Tedious mechanics, arbitrary deaths and disturbing, off-putting writing got in the way of any appeal the goofy premise might have held. Curse of the Great Curry God could have been a challenging treat, but instead it left a bad taste in my mouth.
  16. 50
    Only hardcore RPG fans will have the patience to grind through an admittedly ambitious game whose avant-garde approach forgets the basics of what makes an RPG fun.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    "Pupuru is 10/10 on moe scale" Ovoon's moe reviews
    .........................................................................................................
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    7
    + Visuals and sound that support the quirkiness of the game
    + Light-hearted story with a lot of humor
    + Dynamic difficulty (but not too
    difficult)
    + Customizable outfits for Pupuru
    + A decent amount of bonus content
    + Generally a fun experience

    ~ Simple story
    ~ Level 1 reset when you leave any dungeon at any time (a bit strange, but not problematic)

    - Not much is actually explained about battle mechanics or item effects beyond the absolute basics
    - Limited to two characters for dungeon-crawling
    - It can be very tedious to need to go through a dungeon a second time
    - Menus are not streamlined or efficient
    - Niche demographic
    - Liberal translations (this one’s nit-picking)
    - Framerate drops are not unusual when a lot is happening during a fight

    Overall, it's a fun game with some problems, but still worth playing.

    The Garbage Man Reviews
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 16, 2013
    7
    First things first: I'm very happy to have a Roguelike game on Vita with all the perks of the platform: portable, trophy support and countless hours of gameplay at my disposal. That alone is great, and the game makes for a fine addition to the Vita Library.

    The story is funny and the characters are great. The cartoonish style is also very cool, so I'm hooked on that front.

    Sometimes I wish the cutscenes where shorter, specially at the very beginning when I was anxious to dig into the meat of the gameplay without missing any important part of the plot. But overall its fine.

    I'm not 100% on the gameplay department, though.

    Being a fan of deep Roguelike games like Dungeons of Dredmor, I'm finding it a bit too simplistic. Fighting is pretty easy and you don't have a lot of depth to it (the abilities at your disposal are limited, so you're pretty much finding a good position and melee attacking the foes until they are finished).

    You can also trow some itens at the enemies, but this strategy is quite inefficient. The skills are overpowered, so they are usually very limited. For me, that is the biggest missed opportunity. I'd rather have more variety with some kind of cool down to the skills, so I could use them more often (granted, they'd be less powerful).

    This simplicity is more evident when you level up. There is no big decisions to be made, your stats just get better as you character grow stronger.

    On a positive note, there is one companion that you have to watch (his health don't regenerate, so you need to feed it with loot in order to level him up and heal). Its an interesting concept that adds a layer of complexity to the exploration. Since you could use the loot to upgrade your weapons, it makes for some interesting choices along the way.

    I'm about 12 hours in, and I'm still hoping that the gameplay will improve. If it does, I'll gladly ad another point to my review.

    Once again, I'm happy with the game overall. Vita seems to be the perfect platform for roguelikes. For the asking price, though, I was expecting something deeper than what we got.

    I'd give it a 7,5 ou of 10. A good, but not great roguelike.
    Full Review »