• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 13, 2014
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 99
  2. Negative: 14 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2014
    10
    Soul Sacrifice Delta is much more than just an update/expansion to Soul Sacrifice (SS).
    It adds some much content to the original game and improves so much stuff that it catapults the game
    to the top entries on PS Vita. (I would say second best after Killzone.) It adds: - improved graphics - new levels - combination of levels (so bigger levels) - new monsters - a new fraction -
    Soul Sacrifice Delta is much more than just an update/expansion to Soul Sacrifice (SS).
    It adds some much content to the original game and improves so much stuff that it catapults the game
    to the top entries on PS Vita. (I would say second best after Killzone.)

    It adds:
    - improved graphics
    - new levels
    - combination of levels (so bigger levels)
    - new monsters
    - a new fraction
    - new storylines
    - new spells
    - combination of spells

    It is just awesome! And in my opinion, a lot better than Monster Hunter.
    Well worth the money, even if you already have SS.
    Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    First thing’s first: Soul Sacrifice Delta isn’t a sequel to the original Soul Sacrifice released in 2013. Instead, it’s more of an updated re-release, aiming to tempt bookworms back to the pitiless pages of Librom – the cynical, yet helpful novella that just so happens to provide a portal into the world of Sorcerers. Soul Sacrifice was originally looked at as the savior for the PlayStationFirst thing’s first: Soul Sacrifice Delta isn’t a sequel to the original Soul Sacrifice released in 2013. Instead, it’s more of an updated re-release, aiming to tempt bookworms back to the pitiless pages of Librom – the cynical, yet helpful novella that just so happens to provide a portal into the world of Sorcerers. Soul Sacrifice was originally looked at as the savior for the PlayStation Vita, but didn’t quite pull the platform out of the quicksand. Soul Sacrifice is better served as the Vita’s alternative to the 3DS’s Monster Hunter title.

    Just as the first game did, Delta hurls you into the same sordid coop that you spent so many hours playing in through the first edition. Don’t fret though – you’re able to bring forward a character into the game and game all your right-arm enhancements (Sigils), special moves (Black Rites), spells, costumes, allies and quests. You don’t get to keep your Magic and life levels however; these transition over into buffs that double the rate of experience points you earn in an effort to get you to the same level faster.

    For those who aren’t familiar, Delta takes place in arena-like worlds with grisly fiends blocking your way. If I copy-pasted that last sentence three times, you’d get a better idea on what it’s like playing the first SS. The monsters are rinsed and repeated, disguising the dupes as ‘doppelgangers’ throughout the game. Thankfully, it doesn’t seem to occur as much in Delta, because there are just so many more diverse adversaries to deal with. To be honest, they’re all quite nightmarish, like someone’s taken to the characters of a classic children’s book with a hacksaw and rope and created this crazy amalgamation of hideous foes. The Three Little Pigs is now one giant uni-bodied boar with two heads as hands; Snow White and Little Red Riding Hood feature elsewhere in the game too, and although the variety is appreciated, it still feels like it’s not enough.

    The combat system has seen more of a facelift all-round and the spells don’t feel as powerful as the last, which means you can’t farm them over time and unleash all hell as with the first SS. A new battle-strategy is a necessity for getting through Delta and might catch experienced players off-guard. There has also been improvement to the once hopeless ground attacks and support spells have also become vital tools in your arsenal for guaranteed victorious outcomes. The changes, sometimes small, have made a significant difference in the gameplay and push the great battle-system adopted from the first, towards perfection.

    I’ll take this moment to quickly warn you that if you’re a new face to the game, there’s still a lot you’ll need to learn and be patient with if you’re going to see it out to the end. Make sure you take the time to figure out how the mechanics of the game works and where everything is stored, because you will need access to everything, most of the time. Just keep at it, even if it feels frustrating at times, and even if I’m making it out to sound lame, it’s not. It’s a bit backwards to have to get comfortable with the controls and features before you really start playing, but it’s completely worth it. Don’t let it put you off Delta at all, I’m probably making it sound worse than it is, but it’s worth making a note of.

    Other improvements are in the storyline. New quests are fantastically refreshing, but the workmanship of this Delta lies within the three factions you can now choose to be apart of. Sanctuary asks that you save everything you earn, where Avalon encourages you to sacrifice it all. Then there’s this new middle ground called Grim, which is kind of a balance between the two. Each group comes with it’s own set of beliefs and values which will in-turn mold your character. Partnering with a faction is essential, and will reward you with sorcerer points when overcoming an archfiend. These points are then uploaded to a bank in the PlayStation Network where they will be contributed to your group. Every week, every point from around the World is tallied and the winning group will unlock prizes and spells. You’re not locked in to any group, so you’re free to change your selection at any time. It’s an interesting coordination of an ever-continuing meta-war between the groups, and provides a cool crowd-based rewards system.

    Along with all of this, my favourite new feature is a mode called Alice’s Eternal Maze. It’s a never-ending dungeon survival mode, designed to test your endurance, and patience. In-between the constant onslaught, you’re free to roam the corridors in search of what seems like bottomless amounts of loot. You’ll also find a book here called the Bazaar Ledger; it allows you to communicate with other spell casters, and if used correctly, will be your gateway to rare items. You can also use the Ledger to change how your sorcerer looks and customize details.

    The graphics throughout the game are pretty same-old; a few touch-ups here and there but nothing too major to note.
    Expand
  3. May 19, 2014
    10
    Love the game, very good for the price tag. Story is great, gameplay is great, controls are great. One major gripe though is that it's only available on digital for R1, which obviously takes a significant amount of previous memory space.
  4. May 15, 2014
    10
    Soul Sacrifice is one of my favourite games on the Vita. The story, the fast epic battles, the great voice acting. It really is a gem in the rough. Though it did have some flaws I easily put more than 100 hours in the game. When Delta was localized I was very excited. I've played so far about 5 hours and let me tell you this.

    If you enjoyed Soul Sacrifice, you will LOVE Delta. Its
    Soul Sacrifice is one of my favourite games on the Vita. The story, the fast epic battles, the great voice acting. It really is a gem in the rough. Though it did have some flaws I easily put more than 100 hours in the game. When Delta was localized I was very excited. I've played so far about 5 hours and let me tell you this.

    If you enjoyed Soul Sacrifice, you will LOVE Delta. Its improves in every single way of SS.

    First thing you'll notice is a bump up in resolution. It's still not native but its a really big graphical upgrade. No more rough edges it all looks really clean. The game is absolutely gorgeuous.

    Next thing you'll notice is way more depth to offerings. Now you can combine attacks offering way more methods of tackling enemys and just improves the fun ten fold. Not only that but there is also new offerings like the spear! Hard to master weapons but very satisfying to use.

    The new monster designs based on Grimm Fairy tales Characters are amazing. Soul Sacrifice never dissapoints in that matter. You will never look at little red riding hood again in the same way. The new level designs are just amazing and now there are more variety of smaller creatures, so no more demon cats and rats everywhere

    They now added a new faction to the game called Grim that appeases to those that like to stay neutral. Depending on which faction you are in you will get different offerings meaning everybody is going to have a different inventory of offerings.

    The story is still relatively the same, but now you have to do some grim , avalon and Sanctuary sidequest before being allowed to play Magusars arc. These sidequest actually act as a bridgepoint between Sortiara's and Magusars arc, expanding a bit more on the Sorcerer and his interaction with the world and other NEW sorcerers only found in Delta.

    Delta is a major improvement over SS in every way. If you got SS free from PS+ and loved it buy Delta now and support the devs

    If you bought SS and just liked it not loved it, then wait for price drop. Since its nots a full blown sequel more like a relaunch with a buttload of tweaks and improvements, making it the True SS experience.

    For the love of god people ignore ArioX and especially WIzard4en "review". The former probably thought Delta was Soul Sacrifice 2 when Inafune said many many many times it was more lik Soul Sacrifice 1.8 and the latter is just a Monster hunter fanboy enough said.
    Expand
  5. May 15, 2014
    9
    Summary: Soul Sacrifice was a merely good game when it first came out. Despite its many flaws, the epic world-building, beautiful art direction, and surprisingly deep story told in an story-book fashion (which drove away some people due to its simplicity) made the game worthwhile even through its repetitive segments. Unfortunately, Delta does not remedy the critical flaw of repetition, itSummary: Soul Sacrifice was a merely good game when it first came out. Despite its many flaws, the epic world-building, beautiful art direction, and surprisingly deep story told in an story-book fashion (which drove away some people due to its simplicity) made the game worthwhile even through its repetitive segments. Unfortunately, Delta does not remedy the critical flaw of repetition, it adds so many improvements that it is worth the new purchase for Soul Sacrifice fans, and a must-buy for newcomers seeking fast-paced action. It is an expansion, yes, but one that improves the game at a fundamental level.

    Soul Sacrifice Delta is the definitive version of Soul Sacrifice which addresses many issues players had with the first game. Weapon balancing, quick weapon summoning, spell combos, and heavier consequences for black rites are some of the many changes seen in this iteration.

    The repertoire of spells have been revamped and although there are still useless fodder ones scattered about, the balancing and the sheer number of old and new spells make it possible to achieve variety in builds.

    Main story line is largely unchanged, and all of the content from the first game is retained, though with minor graphical improvements. Of course, Soul Sacrifice suffers from the common flaw inherent in the hunting genre: repetition. This is slightly mitigated this time around because the spell rewards are diverse, but newcomers to the genre may be deterred, understandably.

    The amount of new story content is merely an expansion that has a small impact on the main story line, but it does an adequate job of expanding the universe of Soul Sacrifice. World-building was already very well done in the first game, and Delta adds new dimensions to the story. Again, these changes are basically inconsequential to the main story line, and therefore it is slightly disappointing.

    Is it worth buying?
    The $35.99 USD/CAD price tag for those who've played the game already is steep, but well worth it if you loved the first game. Soul Sacrifice Delta is an extremely polished version of the first game with plenty of new content, but it is completely reasonable for veterans to be driven away by being asked to pay full price for what is essentially an expansion, albeit a very large one.

    Those who've never played the game or were not interested the first time around should give Delta a chance. Despite not being perfect in any means, it is very near the apex of what the Soul Sacrifice experience that the first game sought to achieve.
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    10
    An amazing title for the vita, one that really shows off just what the vita can do with not only its hardware, but also the hardcore gaming scene.

    I really do hope that a second game gets made, one with a possible ps4 partner game much like how monster hunter 3 ultimate and monster hunter 3 on the wii u can work together.
  7. May 14, 2014
    3
    I gave 3 because Soul Sacrifice Delta should be a patch to Soul Sacrifice or some content should be patch and other DLC. Why? Because SSD and SS are the same game!!!

    Well it should be called Soul Sacrifice 1.5 (but still it is better they named it "Delta" and not "2"). As I've read somewhere else - SS Delta is to SS like Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate to Monster Hunter 3. What is
    I gave 3 because Soul Sacrifice Delta should be a patch to Soul Sacrifice or some content should be patch and other DLC. Why? Because SSD and SS are the same game!!!

    Well it should be called Soul Sacrifice 1.5 (but still it is better they named it "Delta" and not "2"). As I've read somewhere else - SS Delta is to SS like Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate to Monster Hunter 3.

    What is different in SSD from SS:
    - some bugs fixed
    - locations polished
    - added animations
    - little better character creating
    - now servers are not localized (so I've heard)
    - added monsters
    - added locations
    and other minor content. (I don't think I forgot about anything important)

    My advice:
    - if You have SS - don't buy SSD (if you are SS maniac then You will buy SSD regardless of what I say so - you've been warned)
    - if you don't have SS - buy SSD (forget about SS)

    So ending my little review - SSD is good game, solid one at least - it is not MH like game (don't think it is) but it is similar in some parts.
    If You don't have SS, and you want good monste-killing game - buy this one :)
    Expand
  8. May 15, 2014
    5
    Soul Sacrifice Delta is not a great game in terms of fun as is Monster Hunter, is only a good game.

    It is more rewarding to kill a Rathalos in 1 MH (2004) to kill any whatever monster in SSD. The depth in the battle system in SSD is weak and after a while it becomes boring, the story is ok, the level of detail of the maps is depressing and most importantly: the monsters are uncreative
    Soul Sacrifice Delta is not a great game in terms of fun as is Monster Hunter, is only a good game.

    It is more rewarding to kill a Rathalos in 1 MH (2004) to kill any whatever monster in SSD. The depth in the battle system in SSD is weak and after a while it becomes boring, the story is ok, the level of detail of the maps is depressing and most importantly: the monsters are uncreative in their attacks. (sorry my bad english ^_^ )
    Expand
  9. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    Ps vita 's best action rpg game from japans . It deserves really come to ps4 with next gen and 60fps . It would be great . Dont miss that game !

    All DLCs are free . Thank you awesome video game productors .
  10. May 22, 2014
    10
    I think people should stop comparing SS with MH , they are completely different games , each has a strong point , eg MH has a very fun multiplayer but has a history as simply empty when SS has an exceptional history.
    When I saw this game at first sight I did not put faith in him , but because I am a crazy fan of this franchise I decided to buy it even though it might disappoint me .
    Now
    I think people should stop comparing SS with MH , they are completely different games , each has a strong point , eg MH has a very fun multiplayer but has a history as simply empty when SS has an exceptional history.
    When I saw this game at first sight I did not put faith in him , but because I am a crazy fan of this franchise I decided to buy it even though it might disappoint me .
    Now I have to say that SSD managed to impress me , small changes were able to leave the game much more enjoyable , the ones I can name are:
    The improved IA
    The online ranking sorcerers updated weekly
    The introduction of the factions is very welcome because it really makes a difference depending on your choice
    A customization that now allows your character to be almost unique
    The new spells are pretty cool, while the old have been upgraded to improve cooperation in multiplayer
    Perhaps the best thing that was introduced in the Delta was the Labyrinth Eternal Alice mode , simply wonderful , simple and fun .
    I know that many players miss a MH on Vita , but I think it's past time to wake up and see how many good games the Vita has that style .
    Ragnarok is pretty fun .
    The Vita received Toukiden , which is an excellent game .
    Soul Sacrifice do not need to comment .
    And Freedom Wars is coming and it looks great .
    And if I had a MH on Psvita ?
    Will all of those games would have been created?
    Expand
  11. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Already SS was amazing gem and with Delta, more than amazing, with so much new improvements game very solid and unique. Deep story with convincing dub, masterpiece OST, art etc... Wish i can give 9.5 but i can't, give 10 because there is no game without defects, especially in SS Delta:; loading times, insufficient locations, some Al problems.

    If you have Vita and you don't own SS:
    Already SS was amazing gem and with Delta, more than amazing, with so much new improvements game very solid and unique. Deep story with convincing dub, masterpiece OST, art etc... Wish i can give 9.5 but i can't, give 10 because there is no game without defects, especially in SS Delta:; loading times, insufficient locations, some Al problems.

    If you have Vita and you don't own SS: Delta, this mean you are really bad person, support this amazing quality of game. Hope we can see SS 2 for Vita too.
    Expand
  12. Jan 20, 2015
    9
    I just recently acquired a PS Vita which is why I hadn’t had the chance to play Soul Sacrifice Delta earlier. But man, what a pleasant surprise :) !

    This game has me firmly in its grasp now for it’s so much fun to play and addictive! Basically it’s an action RPG with strong similarities to the Monster Hunter series. But while I never really got warm with MH, I just love SSD! In my
    I just recently acquired a PS Vita which is why I hadn’t had the chance to play Soul Sacrifice Delta earlier. But man, what a pleasant surprise :) !

    This game has me firmly in its grasp now for it’s so much fun to play and addictive! Basically it’s an action RPG with strong similarities to the Monster Hunter series. But while I never really got warm with MH, I just love SSD! In my opinion, it’s so much better in pretty much every aspect. The graphics are great, the sound and music is incredibly good, the online mode is a blast and the story is epic and very well told.

    Actually the story surprised me the most since I didn’t really expect anything special. I would have been happy with an excuse to go out and hunt monsters to develop my character and get better loot. But instead I’ve found an intense story where I really cared about its characters and desperately wanted to know how it ends. Not just the main story is worth playing, though. The side missions of the three available fractions are just as thrilling as the main storyline.

    The character development is deep and fun, too. At any given time you can equip six offerings (spells) which function as your weapons, heals and support actions. Whether you equip six weapon offerings or five weapon and one healing offering is up to you and your play style. You can also choose between a variety of weapon offerings, from slow and powerful ones to quick and rather weak ones. Do you want to be a melee fighter or do you prefer to keep your distance and attack using throw weapons?
    Whenever you kill a monster you have the choice to either save it, sacrifice it or to let fate decide for you. That also depends on the fraction you choose to fight for. While saving it boosts your defense, sacrificing a monster boosts your attack power.
    This system allows you to form your character according to your playstyle.

    In online mode you play with up to three additional players to complete so called pacts, which are missions where you need to do different things. Most common are boss fights but there are also missions where you need to collect four items or kill ten minor monsters etc.

    All in all, SSD is one of the best and most addictive games I’ve played in quite some time… no matter the gaming platform! It’s a MUST HAVE for every PS Vita owner and even if you don’t own one, you should seriously consider getting one just for this game… I mean it!
    Expand
  13. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    Soul Sacrifice was great game, the story and its lore but Delta is by a far better game. There is more story than ever and has new twisted twists that you shouldn't miss out. The fast pace action battle is really where the game shines in Soul Sacrifice Delta, more so than SS. Have you ever thought of using a feather but not being able to get use it unless get rid of that magic? Well, DeltaSoul Sacrifice was great game, the story and its lore but Delta is by a far better game. There is more story than ever and has new twisted twists that you shouldn't miss out. The fast pace action battle is really where the game shines in Soul Sacrifice Delta, more so than SS. Have you ever thought of using a feather but not being able to get use it unless get rid of that magic? Well, Delta gives you exactly and more combinations of magics. The lore of this game is really a gem among many games, cleverly written folktales that are dark gloomy and refreshing. What else is improved is many technical issues, more crossover dlc than ever, more magic/accessory/raiment - more open customization, monsters, lore, survival mode (alice maze), whole new endless content of pact maker (blank pages), open servers, improved ally and large selection of sorcerers to keep you occupied etc. Expand
  14. Mar 3, 2015
    9
    Good Sides:Great Story
    Huge amount of skills
    Great online features
    Unique faction system
    Good char creation
    Huge amount of quests

    Bad sides:Quest places is too small like a room
    Combos are repetitive
  15. Apr 4, 2015
    9
    To be clear, Delta is the original Soul Sacrifice with a lot more content, tweaked mechanics and slightly enhanced graphics. I was pleasantly surprised at how well put together this game is. The graphics, voice acting, story telling, loads of lore to read up on, and combat screams quality. Also, I'm a big Dark Souls fan, and this game in some weird way reminds me of it. It's much easierTo be clear, Delta is the original Soul Sacrifice with a lot more content, tweaked mechanics and slightly enhanced graphics. I was pleasantly surprised at how well put together this game is. The graphics, voice acting, story telling, loads of lore to read up on, and combat screams quality. Also, I'm a big Dark Souls fan, and this game in some weird way reminds me of it. It's much easier than DK but it definitely has that darker feel with the tone and bosses.

    Your character is imprisoned by a powerful sorcerer called "Magusar" and any day could bring your death by sacrifice. A living, talking book called "Libron" finds his way to your cell. The book is an old journal of a sorcerer. The more you read the book, the stronger you become so the only chance you have at survival is reading the contents of it. The actual character you fight as is the author of the journal. The game is a series of relived memories of the sorcerer. Before each battle, there's a cut-scene with some nice comic book like art within the pages of "Libron".You follow the sorcerers story and slowly learn how "Magusar" became evil while meeting new sorcerers and fighting archfiend who are people that succumbed to evil thoughts.

    I find the combat to be simple but highly addicting. You can have 6 "offerings" which are spells you can use during a fight. Many of them are offensive but some can heal or alter your evasion (your roll animation and speed). Some weapons can be thrown while some turn your arm into a giants arm and others have you summon weapons and so on. On top of this, they can have elemental damage such as bolt, heat, poison etc. They also have a certain number of uses before they run out.They can be boosted by fusing them together which makes the number of uses increase. You can refill the offerings uses by sacrificing defeated enemy souls instead of saving them. When you sacrifice an enemy's soul, you gain more magical power and your character becomes stronger. If you save them, your characters defense goes up. So you have 2 separate levels, one for your right arm (sacrifice) and one for your left (save). You can also equip multiple sigils to your arm which boost certain abilities such as elemental or defense. there are sigils for your light arm, your dark arm or your neutral arm, so using sigils to cater to your style is recommended.

    You fight in an arena type setting, but the settings can vary dramatically. It ranges from brightly lit desert settings to dark castle rooms. The variation is nice. You fight grunts for some of the missions and then you fight a boss, called an archfiend. Archfiends give you offerings as well. If you save an archfiend, you get more points for your light arm and the archfiend turns back into a regular person which then becomes an ally to use in fights.

    That's really just a simple overview of the game. If you thought monster hunter seemed interesting but it had too much grinding and was too slow, then you should give this a shot. It's fast paced, easy to learn and really fun to play and unravel the mysteries of the world. The lore is genuinely interesting stuff. There are dozens of hours to be played in this game.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 19, 2014
    80
    It feels almost like a full sequel. [Issue#150, p.122]
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    80
    This is the perfect time to start with this franchise, as Delta is a lot harder than it's predecessor. There is a lot of new content, better graphics and that interesting magical atmosphere that are all very enjoyable.
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    70
    At a time when consumption is so high that we move from game to game so fast, the idea of replaying a game where we have to find the improvements almost under the microscope is not exactly the most convenient.