• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Soul Sacrifice is a brutal combat experience where every decision made will have consequential results.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    90
    Soul Sacrifice is a heavy action-rpg with a great moral choice system. Even if the camera controls are poor and there are a few graphical quirks the developer Marvelous AQL delivers an awesome game with lots of replayability. If you own a PS Vita you owe yourself to play this game.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    86
    It’s an original and moody action-RPG with fast-paced, energetic combat and layers upon layers of depth to explore.
  3. Apr 30, 2013
    85
    Soul Sacrifice is what you'd get if you smashed Phantom Dust and Monster Hunter together and added a meaningful plot, and it does what it sets out to do with aplomb.
  4. It’s a brilliantly well-structured handheld game, both offline and on, and despite the lack of a traditional hub world it never sacrifices depth for the sake of portability. Familiar ideas are wound up with fresh ones, resulting in one of the strongest games of its kind to hit the system so far.
  5. May 3, 2013
    80
    Like any great action RPG, the game is about tuning a character build, and shepherding it through increasingly difficult variations of the same things you’ve been doing all along, with friends, strangers, or an AI along for the ride. But unlike many such games, it’s got one hell of a story, insidiously barbed gameplay hooks, and the sort of infinite lifespan that makes your Vita worth the money you spent.
  6. May 3, 2013
    75
    It's not without its problems, but Soul Sacrifice's strong identity and rewarding commitment to the decision-making process are reason enough to try your hand at ridding the land of foul archfiends.
  7. May 5, 2013
    40
    Although there are some interesting ideas here and the Vita could benefit from a title like Soul Sacrifice, everything rides on how good the core game is, and to me, it just doesn't hold up.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 61
  2. Negative: 4 out of 61
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Absolutely blow my mind, awesome itemization, you get ways to play instead of irons to wear and only see it moving, 400+ skills to customizateAbsolutely blow my mind, awesome itemization, you get ways to play instead of irons to wear and only see it moving, 400+ skills to customizate your toon whith your own style, great longevity with the magics level up system, and a wonderful online! also the difficulty of the game is really challenging! Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    One of my favorites on the Vita, the game is phenomenal. Soul Sacrifice has: addictive and challenging gameplay, a good story and concept, andOne of my favorites on the Vita, the game is phenomenal. Soul Sacrifice has: addictive and challenging gameplay, a good story and concept, and two paths to choose from. What I mean by that is if you choose to save or sacrifice a being. It's simple, saving will increase your life level, it will increase your defense and recovery, not HP though. OR, you can sacrifice, which will raise your magic level, increases attack damage. You can choose one or both. The game starts off easy, but a little while later, the game will punch your face. lol. If you're into Monster Hunter and/or like 3rd person action games, Then I really suggest and recommend you get this game if you have a Vita. Countless hours poured into the game. BUT, I suggest you get SS Delta instead, it's the same game, but with more content. Expand
  3. May 14, 2013
    10
    This is an absolute must buy for anyone that owns a PS Vita! If you don't own one, it is definitely worth buying one just for this game andThis is an absolute must buy for anyone that owns a PS Vita! If you don't own one, it is definitely worth buying one just for this game and with a playstation plus membership for only 17.99 (3 months) or 50.00(1 year) you get plenty of great Vita games for free that are updated every month and plenty of free PS3 games!

    Soul Sacrifice proves what this system can do and there is even plenty of room for graphics improvements and such, because the Vita hasn't even been fully unlocked, the CPU speed is limited I'm sure.
    Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This game is different in a good way. It has very interesting story and nice graphics. I think this game is one of a kind. I like how theThis game is different in a good way. It has very interesting story and nice graphics. I think this game is one of a kind. I like how the online works even though there are no many players. I'm looking forward to more games that take risk and try to do something new. Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    9
    At first, you do not know what you are doing and where this game will take you but after a couple of fights you start to get hooked to theAt first, you do not know what you are doing and where this game will take you but after a couple of fights you start to get hooked to the leveling system and loot system. I would recommend this game to people who have the vita. A must have. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    For me this was the system seller game. A really great RPG that starts slowly only a few spells but later on the game opens up and you findFor me this was the system seller game. A really great RPG that starts slowly only a few spells but later on the game opens up and you find yourself in a really deeply customizable RPG that needs time and some times google to understand the mechanics. The story is let's just say that it can touch your heart and has interesting twists and character development. If you don't want to play the story mode in Avalon Pacts you can still find a ton of quests that can help you level up, earn new spells and get some more allies.
    There's multiplayer too so if you need any help or play with your friends you are able to do that too via wi-fi or Ad-hoc still alive and well.
    The game sometimes can get a little bit repetitive but the game eases this feeling by throwing new types of enemies in front of you so you need to change up your gamestyle sometimes.
    Overall a must have for the Vita if you like RPGs and the sacrifice/save mechanics are interesting and has an effect on your gamestyle and how other NPCs are looking at you.
    For trophy hunters for me it took 65 hours to get that platinum and there were still places that I didn't touched.
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    0
    Enemies, and even your own friends will be knocking you around like a ragdoll the whole game, in a game where you have to stand still andEnemies, and even your own friends will be knocking you around like a ragdoll the whole game, in a game where you have to stand still and charge up to do pretty much anything. The locations look pretty nice but again, it's boring and void of depth. I mean that literally, every mission just spawns you into a big flat arena to fight enemies, and that's it Expand

See all 61 User Reviews