Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    52
    A game that may sell based on name recognition alone. It's certainly not worth the forty-dollar price tag.
  2. Nov 1, 2012
    30
    Spy Hunter's poor handling and dire visuals make this one of the least impressive PS Vita titles to date. Even long-term Spy Hunter devotees will struggle to get behind this one.
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    50
    Repetitive, graphically outdated and with flawed controls, Spy Hunter is a wasted chance to finally revitalize an old cult.
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    68
    Despite the crude graphics Spy Hunter is somehow addictive and really entertaining. But after all the price is a deal breaker and therefore this game is not so much a bestseller as a collector's item.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    The basis of Spy Hunter is fine, really. The gameplay is okay and pretty diverse. Graphics wise it lacks strength though, and the controls just don't feel right. We hope to see Spy Hunter in all its glory someday. Unfortunately that day is not today.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    40
    Spy Hunter is a classic, old game from the past that is now at its second reboot. It's a shame that the developers didn't even try to improve this portable version of the game. Even if the gameplay it's not that bad, it's the lack of attention to details that is missing from this game.
  7. Nov 5, 2012
    50
    Mixed bag: On one hand, the vehicular combat is solid. On the other, it's let down by poor mechanics and a slew of unwelcome gameplay additions.
  8. 70
    If publishers are willing to take the risk of keeping the spirit of classic games alive, it's a shame the same courtesy isn't extended to budgets and development windows. With tried and true elements combined with attractive new features, Spy Hunter is a blast throughout its meaty campaign. The fact that such a poor presentation doesn't completely hinder the enjoyment of the title speaks volumes to the strength of the gameplay. As it stands, fans of arcade-style mayhem will adore Spy Hunter, but its low rent appearance will prove a nagging reminder of missed opportunities.
  9. That said, 40 bucks is pretty steep for what's basically an arcade action game. To a certain breed of driver, though, the stress relief might be worth it. [Holiday 2012, p.85]
  10. Oct 25, 2012
    60
    I was looking forward to this reboot. I like simple and lightning fast arcade action on wheels. But why did the developers focus so much on trial & error? With almost each and every one of the surprisingly varied missions it is not my skills that decide the outcome, but my ability to learn the level...
  11. Unfortunately, there's just not a lot of meat to Spy Hunter: the campaign is a decent length, but rarely does it go anywhere new or interesting. This isn't the sort of game that requires strategy or nuance, and failing a mission – which happens often, as the difficulty tends to spike in places – means replaying the whole damn thing, which is a big turnoff. [January 2013, p71]
  12. Oct 25, 2012
    30
    One thing has to be said about Spy Hunter: the game is very consistent. The graphics, the controls and the way the game is dressed up; it's all consistently terrible. Save your money for a movie ticket to Skyfall or buy some 007 movies on Blu-Ray, because that'll give you a hundred times more secret agent fun than Spy Hunter ever will.
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This is a game that would fit better on a mobile device rather than a dedicated handheld. It's not a bad game, but it's just hard to justify a purchase at the current price point due to its lack of content.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I used to love going to the arcade and running back to this game. It just had an urgency that made the game play intensity so much fun. I can't say this is an absolutely perfect revamp, but it's a lot of fun. I've gotten to really enjoy the nostalgia and the new twists are nice. Graphics look great and I just love the lineup of games coming our way to the Vita this next 2 months. Finally the season of VITA games begins !!!! :-) Full Review »
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    I was happily surprised with the amount of fun I had with this game. The graphics and controls are no we're near as good as other games, but there is just something fun about playing this. I was a huge fan of the original and may be biased, but I keep going back to this game a enjoying every second of it! If it has one issue it's the fact it was priced too high, but you will have a great time playing it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    These "B" grade games are rare these days. It is refreshingly unintentionally cheesy fun. It is very simple fun that seems aimed at a very young demographic but was a lot of fun for an adult like me. Still seems very much like the original Spy Hunter in spirit even if the gameplay is different with a mission oriented structure. Full Review »