Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On the eve of the franchise's 30th anniversary since the original Spy Hunter was released to arcades in 1983, the new Spy Hunter races forward on its most thrilling and dangerous ride yet. The player once again takes on the role of the "Agent," the driver of the high-tech G-6155 Interceptor supercar, armed extensively with advanced weaponry, and ready to take on a global terrorist organization set on world domination. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. That said, 40 bucks is pretty steep for what's basically an arcade action game. To a certain breed of driver, though, the stress relief might be worth it. [Holiday 2012, p.85]
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    70
    If publishers are willing to take the risk of keeping the spirit of classic games alive, it's a shame the same courtesy isn't extended to budgets and development windows. With tried and true elements combined with attractive new features, Spy Hunter is a blast throughout its meaty campaign. The fact that such a poor presentation doesn't completely hinder the enjoyment of the title speaks volumes to the strength of the gameplay. As it stands, fans of arcade-style mayhem will adore Spy Hunter, but its low rent appearance will prove a nagging reminder of missed opportunities.
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    68
    Despite the crude graphics Spy Hunter is somehow addictive and really entertaining. But after all the price is a deal breaker and therefore this game is not so much a bestseller as a collector's item.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    50
    Repetitive, graphically outdated and with flawed controls, Spy Hunter is a wasted chance to finally revitalize an old cult.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This is a game that would fit better on a mobile device rather than a dedicated handheld. It's not a bad game, but it's just hard to justify a purchase at the current price point due to its lack of content.
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    50
    Mixed bag: On one hand, the vehicular combat is solid. On the other, it's let down by poor mechanics and a slew of unwelcome gameplay additions.
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    30
    One thing has to be said about Spy Hunter: the game is very consistent. The graphics, the controls and the way the game is dressed up; it's all consistently terrible. Save your money for a movie ticket to Skyfall or buy some 007 movies on Blu-Ray, because that'll give you a hundred times more secret agent fun than Spy Hunter ever will.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I used to love going to the arcade and running back to this game. It just had an urgency that made the game play intensity so much fun. I can't say this is an absolutely perfect revamp, but it's a lot of fun. I've gotten to really enjoy the nostalgia and the new twists are nice. Graphics look great and I just love the lineup of games coming our way to the Vita this next 2 months. Finally the season of VITA games begins !!!! :-) Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    This is a great game at its core, but it has low budget written all over it. The essential parts of the game that make it fun are intact, but elements such as menu design, graphics and cutscenes were mediocre at best. It is a spectacular, thrilling game with lots of replay value. It's unfortunate that it didn't get the support and promotion that it deserves. How ironic that a low budget game that no one bothered to care about is actually one of the few truly fun games now available on the Vita. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    7
    As I was playing Spy hunter and finding myself, at times, frustrated with the controls or the level repetition I realized something. Playing this game made me feel like I was 9 or 10 years old again playing games on my SNES or Genesis. The controls weren't always the greatest and the levels not necessarily the most varied but I was having fun. Sometimes it was maddeningly frustrated fun, but fun nonetheless. Spy Hunter is a modern throwback to those old school games that let you have fun while seriously contemplating throwing your controller (or Vita in this case) against a wall. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    I was happily surprised with the amount of fun I had with this game. The graphics and controls are no we're near as good as other games, but there is just something fun about playing this. I was a huge fan of the original and may be biased, but I keep going back to this game a enjoying every second of it! If it has one issue it's the fact it was priced too high, but you will have a great time playing it. Collapse
  5. Jan 2, 2013
    7
    These "B" grade games are rare these days. It is refreshingly unintentionally cheesy fun. It is very simple fun that seems aimed at a very young demographic but was a lot of fun for an adult like me. Still seems very much like the original Spy Hunter in spirit even if the gameplay is different with a mission oriented structure. Expand