Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Aug 6, 2014
    67
    Escape Hatch Entertainment's game is quite a proof of what the studio will be able to do in the future, but it isn't that kind of all-round game that will make them well known enough to make the purchase of the game recommendable. Once there is a special offer it would be something to think about.
  2. May 6, 2014
    60
    Starlight Inception aims for the stars, but thanks to a barrage of issues, never really makes it past lift-off.
  3. Apr 27, 2014
    60
    A good game is in there somewhere, but held back by an overly ambitious ideal.
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    58
    If they keep working on it and patching some of the bigger problems, I can see Starlight Inception becoming a genuinely good game. If they don't, though..well, then you'll probably want to go away from it at warp speed.
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    38
    Despite the developers’ attempt to create a deep, story-driven experience, frustrating design decisions and technical inadequacies overshadow the competent but uninventive mechanics. The space sim genre will continue to rocket skyward, but Starlight, sadly, won’t be along for the ride.
  6. May 5, 2014
    20
    Starlight Inception is a hot mess.
User Score
2.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    Alright, so. This game isn't perfect, far from it. When I compare it with other Vita games, it's a little bit ugly. The characterAlright, so. This game isn't perfect, far from it. When I compare it with other Vita games, it's a little bit ugly. The character modelization, especially. That being said, characters aren't exactly the point, here, are there?

    No, the point is to have a space combat game on the Vita. And on that point, Starlight Inception delivers. I get to take my fighter out in space, battle other fighters in space, win some XP and use it to buy a better craft. And, since I didn't really want anything else out of this game, I'm quite happy with it.

    Sure, the horizon line is awfully close. Sure, the physics in an atmosphere seem to be same as in space, and that's a glaring violation of the laws of physics. That's why it doesn't get a ten.
    Still, I didn't have that much space-fun since Wing Commander.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2015
    5
    I'm neither as generous & forgving as my american peer, nor as desperately bitter as my british peer, but as this is the only game of it'sI'm neither as generous & forgving as my american peer, nor as desperately bitter as my british peer, but as this is the only game of it's kind on the vita (indeed, it's almost completely alone on consoles in general), i'm comfortable going so far as to call Starlight "functional". Not glowing, i admit, but if u gotta have it, u gotta have it. Sometimes it's okay to settle. I guess...

    Frankly, i'm a little surprised this game has absolutely no competition. A deep space sandbox seems very well suited to the Vita. Given the available niche in Space-Simcade gaming across the console map, it's safe to say that most every single space-geek in 'verse would snap up a decent modern version of Wing Commander. I surely would. Hell, even knowing how overly ambitious Starlight is, i couldn't help myself. There's just something about deep space and alien worlds. Well, if yer reading this, i'm sure you can relate. And tangentially, there's a fairly hardcore new game that fits the bill on the XB1.

    If u go in with your eyes open and your expectations elsewhere, there is...fun to be had here. or time to be spent, at the very least.

    Speaking of the old guard, if u don't care about graphics (or suspension of disbelief or controls or plot, &c.), you can always just DL an ancient console version of Wing commander for the vita. It's not hateful, it just hasn't aged as well as the very impressive stable of PS1 RPGs. It's a little...mode seven is all.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2014
    0
    absolute rubbish,i cant believe in this day and age a game like this can be made.i wish id given the £13.00 to a tramp or charity.how canabsolute rubbish,i cant believe in this day and age a game like this can be made.i wish id given the £13.00 to a tramp or charity.how can companies get away with selling us this garbage.playstation need to vet there games better.last time i played a game this bad was on a mastersystem.try finishing the game before putting it on sale,god i wish i could swear on this.normaly love flight sims,but if this is a sign of things to come then they can shove it in there black hole,"good game" dont make me laugh.the only spoiler this cotains is "congratulations youve just wasted your time and money".would rather have eye surgery than have to look at that game anymore.you have been warned. Full Review »