Table Top Racing PlayStation Vita

Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Sep 30, 2014
    92
    Table Top Racing is exceptionally good fun, alone or with friends.
  2. 85
    An accomplished and beautifully playable reinvigoration of the classic toy racer genre, some minor flaws don't prevent Table Top Racer from being an easy recommendation for arcade petrol heads and newcomers alike.
  3. Aug 12, 2014
    83
    Which, come to think of it, means that Table Top Racing is among the very best racing games on the Vita. True, that's not a huge accomplishment, since the full list of Vita racing games can easily be counted on two hands. Nonetheless, this is a strong enough game that it's easy to imagine Table Top Racing standing out even if that list was several times as long.
  4. Sep 14, 2014
    80
    Table Top Racing is a very enjoyable kart racing game, with more depth than you would expect and a nice personality.
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    80
    Table Top Racing combines gameplay elements previously seen in the likes of Mario Kart and Crash Team Racing to create a well-balanced racer that becomes increasingly hectic as you bump up the difficulty. There’s a great deal of content to be had too considering the low entry price.
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    74
    With good looks and tight controls, Table Top Racing has a lot going for it. Unfortunately, this Vita-exclusive is marred by unoriginal weapons, boring track designs and the most annoying use of the rear touchscreen I've seen in years. It's not bad for the price, but should have been a lot better given the talent behind Playrise Digital.
  7. Hyper Magazine
    Sep 14, 2014
    70
    Enjoyable until unlocks become a micro-transaction resisting grind. [Issue#253, p.74]
  8. Sep 8, 2014
    70
    Table Top Racing does come across as being rather too easy, but as far as Vita racing games go, it is one of the most accessible, and certainly one of the most enjoyable.
  9. Aug 5, 2014
    70
    A fun time waster nothing more, nothing less. Table Top Racing takes a while to get going, but is enjoyable when it does.
  10. Aug 5, 2014
    70
    Sadly the better vehicles and upgrades will require either a monetary contribution or some serious grinding to unlock, but as it stands you have a solid, full game without having to pay an extra penny. Not the most thrilling racing sim available on the Vita, but certainly the best for its price.
  11. Aug 27, 2014
    65
    This is a complete Micro Machines-rip off, but it does have some fun race gameplay and cute circuits. The multiplayer is a bit of a downer as there are not much racers online, but the single-player is definitely an awesome challenge.
  12. Jan 7, 2015
    60
    While the core gameplay is enjoyable and the amount of content is impressive, Table Top Racing is missing too much to become a standout.
  13. Games Master UK
    Sep 19, 2014
    60
    The whole thing feels lightweight here on the Vita. [Nov 2014, p.79]
  14. Sep 19, 2014
    60
    In the end, Table Top Racing is a fine port.
  15. 60
    Table Top Racing's small issues are not enough to ruin what is essentially an easy, casual party racing game, but they're enough to ensure that it's never going to be remembered as a classic. Then again, it's being sold for a couple of dollars, so you can't really lose either.
  16. Aug 13, 2014
    60
    The cute courses and the decent track design do enough to make it worth playing for a while till a better racing game comes along.
  17. Aug 4, 2014
    60
    There’s some fun to be had here, spread across dozens of different events, and some vibrant environments. However, this isn’t an especially ambitious outing, so don’t expect it to drive away with your heart like the classics that it’s so clearly inspired by.
  18. Aug 22, 2014
    52
    This is not enough. Even as a mobile game this was rather a mediocre racer. On Vita with its hardware capabilities this is rather a disappointment.
  19. games(TM)
    Sep 16, 2014
    50
    Beige. [Issue#152, p.119]
  20. Aug 15, 2014
    50
    Table Top Racing is an excellent mobile game that doesn’t translate well to Vita.
  21. Aug 26, 2014
    30
    More or less satisfying on tablets and phones, Table Top Racing does not make the weight on a PS Vita.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    7
    This is a very solid kart racer albeit very generic and not the most polished. The actual gameplay is fun but there is nothing new here. ThereThis is a very solid kart racer albeit very generic and not the most polished. The actual gameplay is fun but there is nothing new here. There is a surprising amount of tracks and the game runs unbelievable smooth which Sonic racing wasn't able to achieve on the system. All the pick up powerups are everything you would expect and scream generic kart racer. The game is a bit on the slow and easy side but it is fun and relaxing. Annoying it assigns look in reverse to the back touch and there is no way to turn it off. It does have ways to pay to unlock but I found it was never needed. Sonic Racing is the better game on the Vita but this one is cheaper. Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2016
    8
    I find this game fun and addictive, I like that you can pick it up play for 5 minutes then put it down.
    I own both the PS Vita and PS4
    I find this game fun and addictive, I like that you can pick it up play for 5 minutes then put it down.
    I own both the PS Vita and PS4 versions. What angers me a bit is that the developers obviously didn't put any love into the Vita version, -in fact I wonder if they even played w/ a Vita very much. They treated the Vita like a phone which is not. They left all the "buy coins" prompts in and left the power up controls as a touch screen only button (when it should have utilized one of the Vita's physical buttons). This makes for less than ideal game play.
    I think there are little things w/ the Vita version that show the dev's laziness or carelessness when porting to the Vita.
    Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2015
    7
    This game reminds me more re-volt than micro machines. I love this type of fighting racer games. Smooth controls. Nice powerups (nothing new,This game reminds me more re-volt than micro machines. I love this type of fighting racer games. Smooth controls. Nice powerups (nothing new, but hey, they work fine and do the job!). We definitely need more games like this on sony and microsoft systems (nintedo has mario kart). Last time i had fun like this was on x360 with BLUR. Its cheap so You should give it a try. Full Review »