Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack is a side-scrolling puzzle platformer about an ornery mutant blob that, after being held captive in a lab that can only be described as something out of a retro sci-fi movie from the early '50's, escapes into the world and sets out on a path to destroyTales from Space: Mutant Blobs Attack is a side-scrolling puzzle platformer about an ornery mutant blob that, after being held captive in a lab that can only be described as something out of a retro sci-fi movie from the early '50's, escapes into the world and sets out on a path to destroy and consume everything! A follow-up to last year's PlayStation®Network title Tales from Space: About a Blob, Mutant Blobs Attack will contain a wide range of exciting new features and gameplay modes designed exclusively for the PlayStation®Vita handheld entertainment system. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    100
    Mutant Blobs Attack! isn't a game with many surprises up its sleeve, but within its designed simplicity it contains unbridled joy. It's a game that focuses on being fun first, and succeeds at that ambition.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    93
    Its refreshing take on platform-based gaming, humour, variety, challenge and polish are instantly - and enduringly - impressive. Not only is this one of the best games on the Vita, it's one of the best games of the year - period.
  3. 90
    Tales From Space: Mutant Blobs Attack is one of the rare experiences where everything just clicks. The style, the feeling, the controls and the gameplay. If you are looking for a solid (or cheap) platformer for your priced PS Vita look no further. This one has everything going for it.
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    86
    Quite possibly the best value on the Vita right now. This is a neat, fun platforming adventure at a great price.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    84
    It reminds the puzzle game of the nineties with its immediate gameplay and its colorful graphic. It's a funny game and you'll appreciate it if you decide to take every single object trying to achieve the best score.
  6. Touchscreen is implemented nicely. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  7. Feb 24, 2012
    75
    Tales From Space: Mutant Blobs Attack mixes puzzles, platforming, and charm to provide a slimy good time.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. r50
    Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This game was a real surprise. It started off as a harmless platformer, but it just kept getting better and better. I feel bad because it'sThis game was a real surprise. It started off as a harmless platformer, but it just kept getting better and better. I feel bad because it's the most fun of any of the vita games I got at launch and it was the cheapest! The only launch game that deserves a 10 IMHO. Collapse
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    I wasn't at all surprised to see that (at least at the time I wrote this) there were only positive reviews for this game. I heard this was aI wasn't at all surprised to see that (at least at the time I wrote this) there were only positive reviews for this game. I heard this was a fun game back at launch but hadn't really gotten on board the Indy train yet, but I'm glad I finally gave it a try. It is simply a fun, charming, challenging while not frustrating game. You would think a game about a rolling blob would get stale fast, but I'll give it to drinkbox, they are constantly throwing in new little twists to the gameplay. I gave it to my wife to try who is far from an avid gamer and she really enjoyed it. It does a great job of using the Vita's different features without making it feel like a chore. If you like Mario or little big planet do yourself a huge favour and drop a few bucks on this game. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Agreed with other reviewer, didn't expect too much for $8, then was awesome. Maybe you could say it was too short, but, then again, I payed soAgreed with other reviewer, didn't expect too much for $8, then was awesome. Maybe you could say it was too short, but, then again, I payed so much less for this than other games that ended up costing me 50 bucks.... and i had already spent all my money on memory cards. :) Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    To be short and to the point - If Sony can get developers to make more games of this quality and stick them up for a fiver, the Vita would beTo be short and to the point - If Sony can get developers to make more games of this quality and stick them up for a fiver, the Vita would be more appealing to potential buyers of the console. Personally, I've bought all of the games that are £9 or under, and compared to the 3 or 4 full priced games I bought, with exception to Everybodys Golf (Hotshots golf in the US), I've spent a heck of a lot more time on the budget titles than the supposed AAA titles so far....... These types of games could be the new "Minis" for the Vita. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    One of the cheapest games for the Vita is also one of the best. If you own a Vita there's no excuse for not buying this wonderful platformer.One of the cheapest games for the Vita is also one of the best. If you own a Vita there's no excuse for not buying this wonderful platformer. And the online ranking system, will make you keep coming back to beat your own personal scores. This game is totally worth every penny Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    If you own a vita you must buy this game. The controls are great the story is fun and the gameplay is spot on. If you don't own it go andIf you own a vita you must buy this game. The controls are great the story is fun and the gameplay is spot on. If you don't own it go and buy it. It's that simple. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    7
    A nice small game based on physics. Kind of short (finished in about 6 hours), but fun. Became kind of repetitive close to end. Very niceA nice small game based on physics. Kind of short (finished in about 6 hours), but fun. Became kind of repetitive close to end. Very nice music but not enough tracks for variety, so it started to bug me out, and i turned it off :) Expand

See all 30 User Reviews