• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this veryAdventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this very special delivery. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    100
    Tearaway is one of those rare games that gets exponentially better with its ending.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    95
    A love letter to creativity and the PS Vita, Tearaway is a game you shouldn't miss and it is a real system seller.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    93
    It sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when I built strange worlds equipped with nothing but crayons and card.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    A handheld masterpiece, and a shining example of how unique hardware features should be handled. Its short running time is mostly overshadowed by its compelling mix of platforming, combat, and personalisation – a brilliantly crafted gameplay combination that'll keep you glued to the wonderful world that Media Molecule has created.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Moving and unique, funny and imaginative: Tearaway is an amazing experience with a few nuisances preventing it to become the true masterpiece PlayStation Vita deserves.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    A charming vindication of the PS Vita, that uses the console’s many abilities to the fullest – even if that does mean you’re left wanting more.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Tearaway is cheerful, clever, and colorful, but never quite attains the masterful blend of art and gameplay exhibited by developer Media Molecule's previous efforts, the LittleBigPlanet games.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
  1. May 19, 2014
    10
    fantastic game mm have done it again the one problem i have is that the last two levels felt like sony approached mm and said use all the vitafantastic game mm have done it again the one problem i have is that the last two levels felt like sony approached mm and said use all the vita controls so there is a lot of motion control front and back touchscreen unnecessarily thrown in other than that its a must have for vita owners Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on theQuite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on the Vita. A very unique creative game that even makes Nintendo games look pale compared to Tearaway. I highly recommend this! Money well spent. Kudos to media molecules Collapse
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This game despite being "for all ages" and by that I mean usually built for kids. It's so addicting I can't put it down. I absolutely love theThis game despite being "for all ages" and by that I mean usually built for kids. It's so addicting I can't put it down. I absolutely love the "paper craft" that you can print, gives extra activities I can do with my son. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    tearaway is absolutely incredible. it has an unique style with immersion that is unrivaled by any other portable game. It deserves the 10/10tearaway is absolutely incredible. it has an unique style with immersion that is unrivaled by any other portable game. It deserves the 10/10 rating. definitely a must have vita game. Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Much like LittleBigPlanet, Media Molecule shows their full creativity with Tearaway. As a platformer, it succeeds. The papercraft visuals andMuch like LittleBigPlanet, Media Molecule shows their full creativity with Tearaway. As a platformer, it succeeds. The papercraft visuals and the nice soundtrack complement this game very well. This is a gem that shines bright like Sony Japan Studio's The Puppeteer. This is a must own title and should not be passed up any Vita owner. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Truly an amazing experience and one of the best handheld games ever made. this is an experience that will only ever be possible on aTruly an amazing experience and one of the best handheld games ever made. this is an experience that will only ever be possible on a playstation vita and it uses each of the vita's gimmicks in a truly interesting way. the addition of unique and fascinating art style using papercraft, fun platforming and a really unique story. what makes this game so special though is the additon of you. you are not just playing it, you are the main character and fully featured in the world of tearaway. fun things like photos, recordings and your own creations are fully featured in the world of tearaway and pop up in expected and unexpected places. it really makes it a game that is fully tailored to you. This is your story and it is something that i have never quite experience before. this game must be played by everyone who has a vita. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    The game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not toThe game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not to mention platform elements. However, the game uses the maximum Vita and has a very sweet and beautiful style. But believe me, it's not a platformer and even bit-em-up. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.