• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this very special delivery. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    100
    Tearaway is one of those rare games that gets exponentially better with its ending.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    95
    A love letter to creativity and the PS Vita, Tearaway is a game you shouldn't miss and it is a real system seller.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    93
    It sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when I built strange worlds equipped with nothing but crayons and card.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    A handheld masterpiece, and a shining example of how unique hardware features should be handled. Its short running time is mostly overshadowed by its compelling mix of platforming, combat, and personalisation – a brilliantly crafted gameplay combination that'll keep you glued to the wonderful world that Media Molecule has created.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Moving and unique, funny and imaginative: Tearaway is an amazing experience with a few nuisances preventing it to become the true masterpiece PlayStation Vita deserves.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    A charming vindication of the PS Vita, that uses the console’s many abilities to the fullest – even if that does mean you’re left wanting more.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Tearaway is cheerful, clever, and colorful, but never quite attains the masterful blend of art and gameplay exhibited by developer Media Molecule's previous efforts, the LittleBigPlanet games.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 2 out of 63
  1. May 19, 2014
    10
    fantastic game mm have done it again the one problem i have is that the last two levels felt like sony approached mm and said use all the vita controls so there is a lot of motion control front and back touchscreen unnecessarily thrown in other than that its a must have for vita owners Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on the Vita. A very unique creative game that even makes Nintendo games look pale compared to Tearaway. I highly recommend this! Money well spent. Kudos to media molecules Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This game despite being "for all ages" and by that I mean usually built for kids. It's so addicting I can't put it down. I absolutely love the "paper craft" that you can print, gives extra activities I can do with my son. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    This game is a piece of art. Among the few truly great exclusive titles on the Vita, Wipeout 2048, Uncharted GA, Killzone Mercenary, Tearaway is something special. Instead of creating a regular 3d world Media Molecule created a living, breathing paper world. Every single detail in this game makes the experience a pleasure. A must own title for anyone who can appreciate a charming game that provides a experience off the beaten pass of fps et. a. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    This game is nothing short of magical. I find a feeling of an amazing calm come over me when I play Tearaway. To me, this is one of the classic games of this whole generation. Incredible! Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Words cant describe the the charm and beauty of this game. It your looking for something truly unique you MUST play this game. Sony truly knocked this one out of the park. Media molecule is truly a gifted devoper Expand
  7. May 28, 2014
    6
    I don't exactly understand the praise this game has received. The visuals are great, the controls work for the most part (had some trouble with the rear touchpad), but the combat is incredibly repetitive and to me, the story was lackluster. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.