Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Terraria is an original action-platformer game. It is also a survival and rpg adventure. And above all, is a great 2D sandbox game with endless gameplay options.
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    80
    Terraria is an enjoyable, combat focused alternative to Minecraft that doesn’t ape Mojang’s game for the sake of taking advantage of consumer confusion. It has its own spirit and soul, allowing it to stand on its own two feet.
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    A wonderful 2D world, an almost infinite number of possibilities, an adventure full of fun and challenges: all in a portable version on PS Vita.
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    Terraria works even better on PsVita, thanks to an excellent control scheme and the usual catchy gameplay.
  5. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  8. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  9. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  10. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    Terraria on PS Vita is a must buy game for every owner of the Sony's handheld. This is probably the best port so far, thanks to the dual control's nature of PS Vita, finally properly used.
  11. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 3, 2014
    85
    A perfect port of what is effectively an emergent fun generator. [March 2014, p81]
  12. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 27, 2014
    80
    Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  13. Dec 29, 2013
    80
    If you're okay with making your own fun, and delight in recounting homespun stories, then Terraria is the game for you.
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    90
    A micromanager’s dream come true. It’s the perfect representation of addictive, in-depth gaming with a simplified visage.
  15. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.
  16. Dec 31, 2013
    90
    An impressive port that, while needing to jury rig one or two things, does a most admirable job of putting Terraria in your pocket.
  17. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    PSVita proves once again that it is a perfect hardware for almost every kind of game. The mix of physical and touch controls help Terraria to feel even better, since the game itself still holds all its fun and addictivity.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all thoseI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    When I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What TerrariaWhen I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. But the sheer amount of unique items you can find and make for yourself is pretty amazing. Also the unique NPC's and bosses are fun. Having up to 8 friends jump into your game is pretty fun too. I also like that on normal mode dying in some cave doesn't mean you lose everything. (just half your cash on hand) so I was less chicken to take risks. I am excited to hit the Vita soon, but after Terraria it might seem too simple. This is one of the flat out best Vita games out there. Buy it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Great game! You can walk over the big world, craft many items, and kill other players in PvP using powerful Minishark, Blue Moon, and other cool things. I beat many bosses each day, until I'll kill the Wall of Flesh!
    It isn't Minecraft 2D, it's more.
    Full Review »