User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 81
  2. Negative: 7 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself aI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Ill try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls work reasonably well especially when you manage your inventory but the back touchpad feature sucks! You will know what im talking about if you get the game. But if you are even a little interested in the concept of Terraria got ahead and get this version you wontIll try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls work reasonably well especially when you manage your inventory but the back touchpad feature sucks! You will know what im talking about if you get the game. But if you are even a little interested in the concept of Terraria got ahead and get this version you wont regret it. Expand
  3. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    This is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and have Terraria on iPad as well. This is the version that I have enjoyed playing the most. If you are a fan of Terraria and want the best mobile version of the game then pick up the Vita version.

    The controls work extremely well. The rear touchpad is a nuisance
    This is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and have Terraria on iPad as well. This is the version that I have enjoyed playing the most. If you are a fan of Terraria and want the best mobile version of the game then pick up the Vita version.

    The controls work extremely well. The rear touchpad is a nuisance and needs to have an option to be able to turn it off. I have only experienced one crash so far with the game but this may be because I never save the game and always just put the Vita to sleep. I love the fact that I can do this with Terraria. It has allowed me to have brief five minute game sessions and be able to pick up where I left off with any dropped loot still in place.

    If you haven't played Terraria before then check out the free demo. Take that one hour of gameplay which will only let you do very few things and then imagine that you have many more hours still to go. I believe in the last week I have managed to clock up a good 20 hours gameplay already.

    Love the game.
    Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time, get this game.
  5. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    When I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. ButWhen I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. But the sheer amount of unique items you can find and make for yourself is pretty amazing. Also the unique NPC's and bosses are fun. Having up to 8 friends jump into your game is pretty fun too. I also like that on normal mode dying in some cave doesn't mean you lose everything. (just half your cash on hand) so I was less chicken to take risks. I am excited to hit the Vita soon, but after Terraria it might seem too simple. This is one of the flat out best Vita games out there. Buy it. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I've played the pc one for around 200 hours and I can happily say this one is great! The controls are pretty much just like the ps3's, but they added some touchscreen controls which are really great in menus. The fps is actually really good, you'd think it would lag in boss fights but nope! This review was just for the ps vita version, if you wanna know what the game is like go read the pcI've played the pc one for around 200 hours and I can happily say this one is great! The controls are pretty much just like the ps3's, but they added some touchscreen controls which are really great in menus. The fps is actually really good, you'd think it would lag in boss fights but nope! This review was just for the ps vita version, if you wanna know what the game is like go read the pc reviews. 8.5/10 which rounds to 9! It's a must have downloadable game on the vita. It's also gonna be getting a lot of updates! Get it now! Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! You can walk over the big world, craft many items, and kill other players in PvP using powerful Minishark, Blue Moon, and other cool things. I beat many bosses each day, until I'll kill the Wall of Flesh!
    It isn't Minecraft 2D, it's more.
    Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    terraria is such a fun game i think every single gamer should own. must have game. the one thing take makes the game better is that even though you can do what you want the game with throw random boss battles at you making it easy to move on in game
  9. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    The game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way to enjoy the multiplayer is a LAN server or over Skype or Team Speak.
  10. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Crafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world and that's what makes it so fun. Mining for new materials is a blast, and the more you find the more you can create. You can also tackle the various enemies about and hunt down some great bosses. Or you can avoid all that and just focus on shaping theCrafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world and that's what makes it so fun. Mining for new materials is a blast, and the more you find the more you can create. You can also tackle the various enemies about and hunt down some great bosses. Or you can avoid all that and just focus on shaping the environment around you and build a castle. Whatever you choose to "Terraria" is a constant source of player-created fun. Expand
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    Really good game with awesome controls. Looks great on my ps vita with perfect colors and the best is that it runs at 960x544 (ps Vita native resoultion) and it runs smooth. (I think it runs at 60fps)

    One of the best games you can buy for you Ps Vita.
  12. Jan 7, 2014
    8
    This game is really fun, I have to admit. I find it a bit painful to have to switch between tools just to knock out the back wall of my house, but that might just be because I just started playing recently.I still prefer Minecraft even though it has fewer features without a doubt, I guess I'm just less a fan of the side-scrolling aspect. It is really, really well-made though and it keepsThis game is really fun, I have to admit. I find it a bit painful to have to switch between tools just to knock out the back wall of my house, but that might just be because I just started playing recently.I still prefer Minecraft even though it has fewer features without a doubt, I guess I'm just less a fan of the side-scrolling aspect. It is really, really well-made though and it keeps me entertained for hours on end. Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    One of the best downloadable games there are on the Vita, the game is the same as the other versions, it still has hardmode and all that. The controls work fine, manual cursor (don't know why it's called manual) for AUTOMATIC cursor, or smart cursor for directly placing the cursor on one spot. If you haven't played Terraria, think of it as Minecraft, but 2-D and with magic and fantasy. TheOne of the best downloadable games there are on the Vita, the game is the same as the other versions, it still has hardmode and all that. The controls work fine, manual cursor (don't know why it's called manual) for AUTOMATIC cursor, or smart cursor for directly placing the cursor on one spot. If you haven't played Terraria, think of it as Minecraft, but 2-D and with magic and fantasy. The game is hard, especially when you reach hardmode, so the game is more for hard-core players, but anyone can play it though. If you have a Vita, then I really suggest you get the game, a nice downloadable on the go is nice right? Expand
  14. Jun 6, 2014
    10
    I see some people mention that ONCE YOU CLEAR THE GAME, it gets boring.I spent 50 hours so far, and I didn't kill any bosses except for Evil eye. Game has a lot to offer, a long gameplay, and for me, if the game keeps you occupied more than 20 hours, it's a success! Especially on the hand held.
  15. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Pros:
    I GOT F**KING EXCALIBUR
    SO MANY F**KING BOSSES SO MANY F**KING SWORDS EXCALIBUR CAN BE UPGRADE WHICH IS BADASS CRAFTING SYSTEM IS AWESOME A GOD DAMN UZI GAMEPLAY CAN BE SLOW OR FAST F**KING DEMONS GAME IS IN 2D (that's a good thing) VOODOO DOLLS And now here are the cons: Bosses are op Items disappear from inventory A VERY SLOW BEGINNING (took me around 50 hours)
    Pros:
    I GOT F**KING EXCALIBUR
    SO MANY F**KING BOSSES
    SO MANY F**KING SWORDS
    EXCALIBUR CAN BE UPGRADE WHICH IS BADASS
    CRAFTING SYSTEM IS AWESOME
    A GOD DAMN UZI
    GAMEPLAY CAN BE SLOW OR FAST
    F**KING DEMONS
    GAME IS IN 2D (that's a good thing)
    VOODOO DOLLS

    And now here are the cons:
    Bosses are op
    Items disappear from inventory
    A VERY SLOW BEGINNING (took me around 50 hours)
    frame drops when it rains or snows
    half the time you will be farming for items

    Other than that the game is great
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. A perfect port of what is effectively an emergent fun generator. [March 2014, p81]
  2. Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  3. Jan 22, 2014
    85
    Terraria works even better on PsVita, thanks to an excellent control scheme and the usual catchy gameplay.