Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria is a side-scrolling, action-adventure sandbox game with an emphasis on crafting and exploration set in vast and vibrant worlds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  5. Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! You can walk over the big world, craft many items, and kill other players in PvP using powerful Minishark, Blue Moon, and other cool things. I beat many bosses each day, until I'll kill the Wall of Flesh!
    It isn't Minecraft 2D, it's more.
    Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    When I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. But the sheer amount of unique items you can find and make for yourself is pretty amazing. Also the unique NPC's and bosses are fun. Having up to 8 friends jump into your game is pretty fun too. I also like that on normal mode dying in some cave doesn't mean you lose everything. (just half your cash on hand) so I was less chicken to take risks. I am excited to hit the Vita soon, but after Terraria it might seem too simple. This is one of the flat out best Vita games out there. Buy it. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    Really good game with awesome controls. Looks great on my ps vita with perfect colors and the best is that it runs at 960x544 (ps Vita native resoultion) and it runs smooth. (I think it runs at 60fps)

    One of the best games you can buy for you Ps Vita.
    Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time, get this game. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I've played the pc one for around 200 hours and I can happily say this one is great! The controls are pretty much just like the ps3's, but they added some touchscreen controls which are really great in menus. The fps is actually really good, you'd think it would lag in boss fights but nope! This review was just for the ps vita version, if you wanna know what the game is like go read the pc reviews. 8.5/10 which rounds to 9! It's a must have downloadable game on the vita. It's also gonna be getting a lot of updates! Get it now! Collapse
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    The game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way to enjoy the multiplayer is a LAN server or over Skype or Team Speak. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews