Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria is a side-scrolling, action-adventure sandbox game with an emphasis on crafting and exploration set in vast and vibrant worlds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  5. Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all thoseI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Great game! You can walk over the big world, craft many items, and kill other players in PvP using powerful Minishark, Blue Moon, and other cool things. I beat many bosses each day, until I'll kill the Wall of Flesh!
    It isn't Minecraft 2D, it's more.
    Collapse
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    When I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What TerrariaWhen I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. But the sheer amount of unique items you can find and make for yourself is pretty amazing. Also the unique NPC's and bosses are fun. Having up to 8 friends jump into your game is pretty fun too. I also like that on normal mode dying in some cave doesn't mean you lose everything. (just half your cash on hand) so I was less chicken to take risks. I am excited to hit the Vita soon, but after Terraria it might seem too simple. This is one of the flat out best Vita games out there. Buy it. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Crafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world andCrafting, exploring, or fighting, whatever you choose player freedom is at the center of it all. It's up to you what you do in this world and that's what makes it so fun. Mining for new materials is a blast, and the more you find the more you can create. You can also tackle the various enemies about and hunt down some great bosses. Or you can avoid all that and just focus on shaping the environment around you and build a castle. Whatever you choose to "Terraria" is a constant source of player-created fun. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    This is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and haveThis is a game that I have played non-stop since its release. I completed V1 of Terraria when it was initially released on PC and have Terraria on iPad as well. This is the version that I have enjoyed playing the most. If you are a fan of Terraria and want the best mobile version of the game then pick up the Vita version.

    The controls work extremely well. The rear touchpad is a nuisance and needs to have an option to be able to turn it off. I have only experienced one crash so far with the game but this may be because I never save the game and always just put the Vita to sleep. I love the fact that I can do this with Terraria. It has allowed me to have brief five minute game sessions and be able to pick up where I left off with any dropped loot still in place.

    If you haven't played Terraria before then check out the free demo. Take that one hour of gameplay which will only let you do very few things and then imagine that you have many more hours still to go. I believe in the last week I have managed to clock up a good 20 hours gameplay already.

    Love the game.
    Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time,Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time, get this game. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    The game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way toThe game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way to enjoy the multiplayer is a LAN server or over Skype or Team Speak. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers