Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria is a side-scrolling, action-adventure sandbox game with an emphasis on crafting and exploration set in vast and vibrant worlds.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Dec 30, 2013
    92
    Taking Terraria with you on-the-go puts an exciting spin on the absorbing formula, and the Vita version thankfully doesn't skimp on the goods. There's no depth sacrificed here.
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Terraria really is a joy to play, you can spend hours, upon hours doing things and seemingly get nowhere. But that works, it isn’t a stressful game, it is very relaxing and something that will become a permanent fixture in your gaming life. The possibilities are endless and the only barrier is your own imagination.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Terraria is a perfect fit on the Vita. Playing this adventure on a handheld is a huge bonus to a game that was already incredibly well made.
  4. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    It's essentially the same, full-featured game that console and PC owners have been playing, only with the added bonus of being able to take your terraformed world with you wherever you go, in addition to being able to bring it online.
  5. Looking for a content-crammed explore-'em-up for your Vita? Well, dig no further. [March 2014, p.92]
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    80
    Terraria on Vita is a joy to play and just different enough from everything else to stand out.
  7. Dec 23, 2013
    70
    Terraria proves a snug fit on the Vita.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all thoseI am a huge fan. I own hundreds of physical games for PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita and 3DS. I have dozens of games via digital for all those platforms but Terraria is keeping my attention something fierce. I didn't buy into the Minecraft phenomenon but was captured by Terraria's charming 2D 8Bit graphics, crafting, building and exploring. If you haven't had a chance to play this do yourself a favor and download the demo. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    terraria is such a fun game i think every single gamer should own. must have game. the one thing take makes the game better is that eventerraria is such a fun game i think every single gamer should own. must have game. the one thing take makes the game better is that even though you can do what you want the game with throw random boss battles at you making it easy to move on in game Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    When I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What TerrariaWhen I was told "it's like a 2D Minecraft" I thought that it sounded like the lamest idea ever but trust me it is anything but. What Terraria lacks in a third dimension it makes up for in depth. There is just so much to see and do in this game. It is like Minecraft in as much as you built yourself a shelter (eventually a castle) and dig ever deeper looking for better ores and treasure. But the sheer amount of unique items you can find and make for yourself is pretty amazing. Also the unique NPC's and bosses are fun. Having up to 8 friends jump into your game is pretty fun too. I also like that on normal mode dying in some cave doesn't mean you lose everything. (just half your cash on hand) so I was less chicken to take risks. I am excited to hit the Vita soon, but after Terraria it might seem too simple. This is one of the flat out best Vita games out there. Buy it. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Pros:
    I GOT F**KING EXCALIBUR
    SO MANY F**KING BOSSES SO MANY F**KING SWORDS EXCALIBUR CAN BE UPGRADE WHICH IS BADASS CRAFTING SYSTEM IS
    Pros:
    I GOT F**KING EXCALIBUR
    SO MANY F**KING BOSSES
    SO MANY F**KING SWORDS
    EXCALIBUR CAN BE UPGRADE WHICH IS BADASS
    CRAFTING SYSTEM IS AWESOME
    A GOD DAMN UZI
    GAMEPLAY CAN BE SLOW OR FAST
    F**KING DEMONS
    GAME IS IN 2D (that's a good thing)
    VOODOO DOLLS

    And now here are the cons:
    Bosses are op
    Items disappear from inventory
    A VERY SLOW BEGINNING (took me around 50 hours)
    frame drops when it rains or snows
    half the time you will be farming for items

    Other than that the game is great
    Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time,Very enjoyable and fun to play. The Vita version works well, which helps drain your spare time on this game. If you have lots of spare time, get this game. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    Ill try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls workIll try keep this short and sweet for you. The game is very fun and addicting completely worth the 15 bucks. The touch controls work reasonably well especially when you manage your inventory but the back touchpad feature sucks! You will know what im talking about if you get the game. But if you are even a little interested in the concept of Terraria got ahead and get this version you wont regret it. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    7
    The game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way toThe game is extremely addictive but once you complete everything you get really bored really fast. The multiplayer is lacking. Only way to enjoy the multiplayer is a LAN server or over Skype or Team Speak. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers