Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    I'm sure some people may question why they need to pick up 16-month-late port, but if the prospect of being Spidey on-the-go is at all appealing to you (or even if you're in the mood for some fun, open-world action), then you definitely need to check this out.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    71
    Compared to the console version, the handheld one suffers a sensible visual downgrade, but the experience still is a great one, as fun and complete as it was last year.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man on Vita is at heart a good game, with all of the content of the home console versions available to you on the move. However the technical flaws and shortcomings that occur could potentially diminish your enjoyment depending on your outlook on such things.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    50
    There’s a good game hidden in here, but you may need a bite from a radioactive insect to see through its glaring flaws.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    48
    Once bugs start popping up, the experience on Vita starts to become as infected as the civilians Spider-Man fights to rescue. Audio issues, frame-rate problems, and even a few game-crashing bugs all tarnish this otherwise-decent game. There is very little reason to pick up this game for your Vita.
  6. A decent PS3 game swung low enough to limbo under our already low expectations. [February 2014, p82]
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    40
    Amazing Spider-Man on Vita, while impressive in scope, is more disappointing than broken.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    So I've been looking for reviews on this game for Vita and couldn't find a single one. I'm guessing Activision didn't send out any reviewSo I've been looking for reviews on this game for Vita and couldn't find a single one. I'm guessing Activision didn't send out any review copies to websites. I finally decided to buy the game, since I love my Vita and prefer portable gaming to console.... I wasn't disappointed.

    ASM is simply a port of the console game that came out earlier this year. For some reason, the graphics have taken a major dip, though. After seeing Killzone Mercenary, we all know what kind of graphics the Vita is capable of. So it's a mystery to me why it looks so bad. They're not horrible, but it really looks like a PSP game in comparison to what we've come to expect on the VIta. The framerate has issues as well, but all together, it's easy to look past, since the game is fun.

    ASM is an open-world game, like GTA or even more so like Infamous or Prototype. It follows the same type of layout that those games have. You upgrade Spider Man by accomplishing tasks and the story and you have an entire city to explore.

    For Trophy hunters, this is a GREAT game. There's alot to do and collect. As a trophy guy myself, I can see this staying in my Vita for quite some time.

    Bottom line... If you can look past the graphical issues and have not yet played ASM on the consoles and you liked inFamous or Prototype, definitely check this out, especially if you want something like said games on-the-go.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    From the get go I immediatly noticed the graphics were toned down. But the framerate was buttery smooth. The voice acting and sounds areFrom the get go I immediatly noticed the graphics were toned down. But the framerate was buttery smooth. The voice acting and sounds are great! But when web swinging the framerate can drop slightly. The city is huge, populated but not pretty. You can see very far but allot was sacrifised. The web sounds are tinny but all other sound effects and voice acting is great. The combat is responsive and fun as are the dungeons.

    Good.
    Full console game
    Great Acting
    Good story
    Fun swinging and gameplay

    Bad
    Blurry Graphics
    Character models are meh
    Sometimes the framerate drops though rarely.

    For pure fun I give it a 9
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Missing content (Iguna level, Blimp missions), no inclusion of DLC content. That alone is iffy.

    A lot of framerate drops in the open world,
    Missing content (Iguna level, Blimp missions), no inclusion of DLC content. That alone is iffy.

    A lot of framerate drops in the open world, and in later levels as well. Insane drops during the car chase missions.

    Generally ugly, aside from Spider-Man who looks really good.

    Overall, I enjoyed the game though and got the platinum a 2nd time (got it on PS3 too). It's impressive to have another open world game on PS Vita. And the controls are perfect.

    I highly suggest waiting for $20 or less before buying it though. It is not worth getting a paired back (visually, performance, and content) port for $40 a year later. Especially since there's no sign of the sequel coming to PS Vita.
    Full Review »