Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    I'm sure some people may question why they need to pick up 16-month-late port, but if the prospect of being Spidey on-the-go is at all appealing to you (or even if you're in the mood for some fun, open-world action), then you definitely need to check this out.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    71
    Compared to the console version, the handheld one suffers a sensible visual downgrade, but the experience still is a great one, as fun and complete as it was last year.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man on Vita is at heart a good game, with all of the content of the home console versions available to you on the move. However the technical flaws and shortcomings that occur could potentially diminish your enjoyment depending on your outlook on such things.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    50
    There’s a good game hidden in here, but you may need a bite from a radioactive insect to see through its glaring flaws.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    48
    Once bugs start popping up, the experience on Vita starts to become as infected as the civilians Spider-Man fights to rescue. Audio issues, frame-rate problems, and even a few game-crashing bugs all tarnish this otherwise-decent game. There is very little reason to pick up this game for your Vita.
  6. A decent PS3 game swung low enough to limbo under our already low expectations. [February 2014, p82]
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    40
    Amazing Spider-Man on Vita, while impressive in scope, is more disappointing than broken.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    From the get go I immediatly noticed the graphics were toned down. But the framerate was buttery smooth. The voice acting and sounds are great! But when web swinging the framerate can drop slightly. The city is huge, populated but not pretty. You can see very far but allot was sacrifised. The web sounds are tinny but all other sound effects and voice acting is great. The combat is responsive and fun as are the dungeons.

    Good.
    Full console game
    Great Acting
    Good story
    Fun swinging and gameplay

    Bad
    Blurry Graphics
    Character models are meh
    Sometimes the framerate drops though rarely.

    For pure fun I give it a 9
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    Missing content (Iguna level, Blimp missions), no inclusion of DLC content. That alone is iffy.

    A lot of framerate drops in the open world,
    and in later levels as well. Insane drops during the car chase missions.

    Generally ugly, aside from Spider-Man who looks really good.

    Overall, I enjoyed the game though and got the platinum a 2nd time (got it on PS3 too). It's impressive to have another open world game on PS Vita. And the controls are perfect.

    I highly suggest waiting for $20 or less before buying it though. It is not worth getting a paired back (visually, performance, and content) port for $40 a year later. Especially since there's no sign of the sequel coming to PS Vita.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    7
    This game is a pretty decent port of the console version. When I first played the game, I instantly noticed the visuals(Like the PC version on low resolution). It's not as big of a downgrade, but from far off, it starts to look really muddy, but I'm able to look past it. It was just a small thing to sacrifice to port the full game on to Vita. The framerate I somewhat slower than the console version, but it's not that noticeable. The game does make some use of the Vita's features, mainly while using the camera(You could use the motion sensors to move the camera, touchscreen to zoom in/out The controls can be somewhat of an issue, like holding the left button to use the camera or pressing the up button to switch from perching to climbing mode in the heat of battle. There have been better ports for Vita(Persona 4, Metal Gear, Need For Speed: Most Wanted), but there have also been some worse ones(Jak and Daxter Collection, Ratchet and Clank: Full Frontal Assault). So are you looking for a good superhero game to play on the go? Look no further, this game can scratch that itch. Full Review »