Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set not long after the action of Columbia Pictures' blockbuster film, The Amazing Spider-Man thrusts New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of unimaginable threats.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    91
    I'm sure some people may question why they need to pick up 16-month-late port, but if the prospect of being Spidey on-the-go is at all appealing to you (or even if you're in the mood for some fun, open-world action), then you definitely need to check this out.
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    71
    Compared to the console version, the handheld one suffers a sensible visual downgrade, but the experience still is a great one, as fun and complete as it was last year.
  3. Jan 8, 2014
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man on Vita is at heart a good game, with all of the content of the home console versions available to you on the move. However the technical flaws and shortcomings that occur could potentially diminish your enjoyment depending on your outlook on such things.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    50
    There’s a good game hidden in here, but you may need a bite from a radioactive insect to see through its glaring flaws.
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    48
    Once bugs start popping up, the experience on Vita starts to become as infected as the civilians Spider-Man fights to rescue. Audio issues, frame-rate problems, and even a few game-crashing bugs all tarnish this otherwise-decent game. There is very little reason to pick up this game for your Vita.
  6. A decent PS3 game swung low enough to limbo under our already low expectations. [February 2014, p82]
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    40
    Amazing Spider-Man on Vita, while impressive in scope, is more disappointing than broken.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    From the get go I immediatly noticed the graphics were toned down. But the framerate was buttery smooth. The voice acting and sounds areFrom the get go I immediatly noticed the graphics were toned down. But the framerate was buttery smooth. The voice acting and sounds are great! But when web swinging the framerate can drop slightly. The city is huge, populated but not pretty. You can see very far but allot was sacrifised. The web sounds are tinny but all other sound effects and voice acting is great. The combat is responsive and fun as are the dungeons.

    Good.
    Full console game
    Great Acting
    Good story
    Fun swinging and gameplay

    Bad
    Blurry Graphics
    Character models are meh
    Sometimes the framerate drops though rarely.

    For pure fun I give it a 9
    Collapse
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    A fast paced third person open world action game. Just what Vita was needing. Maybe ocasional glitches are remarcable but considering this isA fast paced third person open world action game. Just what Vita was needing. Maybe ocasional glitches are remarcable but considering this is a loyal port from big consoles and dedicated pc the quality of the effort is remarcable. Kudos to Activision and thanks for briging some quality release toi us hungry Vitas owners Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    I had reservations about getting the game, but overall I am satisfied that I got it. The first thing I noticed was the graphics. I was notI had reservations about getting the game, but overall I am satisfied that I got it. The first thing I noticed was the graphics. I was not impressed with them and was hoping they would look better. After I started playing the first couple chapters i was really enjoying the combat and swinging and the graphics didn't bother me as much. I am enjoying the game and my only complaints are the graphics could be a little better and the navigation takes getting used too. Overall I recommend the game Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    I would like to give a thumbs up to Activision and Mercenary Technology for this game port. I have been critical of Activision in the pastI would like to give a thumbs up to Activision and Mercenary Technology for this game port. I have been critical of Activision in the past when it was deserved. This game is an example of what Vita owners are asking for. The game is not perfect, the graphics have been scaled down to run on the vita, and the framerate dips at times. We understand this and are OK with it because the game is close to the console version and maintains the open world spider man experience. The game plays well and is extremely enjoyable. Thank you to the developers for all the hard work bringing an open world super hero game to the vita. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    I took my time getting this, waiting for a price drop and was it worth it, definitely. Much like the best Vita games its a decent portI took my time getting this, waiting for a price drop and was it worth it, definitely. Much like the best Vita games its a decent port meaning you get a big game. I love indie as well but this is a full sized open world and that feels great in your hands. It has solid combat and fun story line, great web swinging and an ok plot. Sure, it isnt a scratch on the console version, a loss of fidelity, serious jaggies, some semi serious slow down etc but actually for a vita game its solid, playable and fun. Worth the ten quid its been going for latley. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    Плохой порт, средней игры. Вообще играется вполне нормально, но огромное количество "мыла" отпугивает. Оценка: 7/10 за за саму игру, 5/10 заПлохой порт, средней игры. Вообще играется вполне нормально, но огромное количество "мыла" отпугивает. Оценка: 7/10 за за саму игру, 5/10 за качество порта. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2013
    7
    So I've been looking for reviews on this game for Vita and couldn't find a single one. I'm guessing Activision didn't send out any reviewSo I've been looking for reviews on this game for Vita and couldn't find a single one. I'm guessing Activision didn't send out any review copies to websites. I finally decided to buy the game, since I love my Vita and prefer portable gaming to console.... I wasn't disappointed.

    ASM is simply a port of the console game that came out earlier this year. For some reason, the graphics have taken a major dip, though. After seeing Killzone Mercenary, we all know what kind of graphics the Vita is capable of. So it's a mystery to me why it looks so bad. They're not horrible, but it really looks like a PSP game in comparison to what we've come to expect on the VIta. The framerate has issues as well, but all together, it's easy to look past, since the game is fun.

    ASM is an open-world game, like GTA or even more so like Infamous or Prototype. It follows the same type of layout that those games have. You upgrade Spider Man by accomplishing tasks and the story and you have an entire city to explore.

    For Trophy hunters, this is a GREAT game. There's alot to do and collect. As a trophy guy myself, I can see this staying in my Vita for quite some time.

    Bottom line... If you can look past the graphical issues and have not yet played ASM on the consoles and you liked inFamous or Prototype, definitely check this out, especially if you want something like said games on-the-go.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews