Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Pinball Arcade franchise includes real tables from Bally, Williams, Gottlieb and Stern, many of which feature well-known licensed themes. Two new tables will be released every month as downloadable content. Every new table will be available in trial mode, absolutely free.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    84
    The brilliantly designed "The Tales of the Arabian Nights" alone is worth the entrance to this arcade – even tough the visuals can't compete with the likes of Zen Pinball or Pinball FX 2.
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    So if you've got a Vita handy and a pocketful of quarters, you can trade in your heavy pocket of change for a pocketful of some of the best classic pinball tables ever created. While nothing can ever truly recreate playing these classic tables in the arcades, The Pinball Arcade is definitely the next best thing.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    There's a paucity of challenges to keep you engaged, but Pinball Arcade makes up for that with sheer power of presentation and rock-solid ball physics.
  4. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Thanks to the quality of each table and excellent reproduction of physics, The Pinball Arcade is a title highly recommended to fans of the genre or those who have always been intrigued by the this kind of games.
  5. May 23, 2012
    67
    The Pinball Arcade is an excellent platform for emulating the classic tables that made the pinball genre as great as it was. An accurate physics engine and an insane attention to the level of details make the future bright for the game. Now FarSight just needs to begin putting its licensing agreements to use and roll out more tables as well as make use of the various features being promised. Until then, it fails to live up to its potential.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    This is a fun pinball game that reproduces actual pinball games. The constant updates of new tables keeps you going. My recent favorite is the Elvira table. Probably the most played game on my Vita. The games are hard but it is rewarding when you do well. Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Never before have I seen such a low-profile title so soundly destroy the competition in its niche genre. I downloaded the demo alongside a half-dozen others when I finally purchased a Vita, but Pinball Arcade was the only one I kept coming back to. The very next day, I snagged the reasonably priced base game along with both available DLC packs, thus unlocking eight of the finest pinball machines in gaming history, with plenty more planned for near-future release. Let me be clear on two points here... First, I would normally pass by a pinball game without a second thought, not because I dislike pinball (quite the opposite, actually) but because I've never played a virtual pinball game that accurately recreated the real-life experience. Pinball Arcade got my attention by featuring cross-platform support between Vita and PS3, along with the claim that its historic machines were recreated with the same physics, measurements, and actual chip emulation of the original tables. Farsight Studios exceeds expectations on all of these points. Not only was the game a great value, but I immediately downloaded my PS3 copy and got obsessed with looking up old tables that may get included with forthcoming DLC. Now to the second point - I generally dislike download-only titles on my PlayStation or XBox platforms. While such throwaway, casual experiences may be fine on iOS or Android, I prefer packaged retail releases with deeper gameplay on the more hardcore consoles. The Pinball Arcade, however, offered such an addictive, nostalgic museum of virtual classics that it managed to tear me away from massive titles like Mass Effect 3, Dragon's Dogma, and even my first Vita purchase Gravity Rush. As for the meat of the game, it's really nothing more complicated than using flippers, tilt-nudges, and some quick mental geometry to knock a metal ball into the right targets, but the controls are incredibly responsive and accomodates both touchscreen and button-only play styles. Climbing the leaderboards is what it's all about, though generally I only care about beating my own top scores and learning the nuances of each unique table. It's hardcore, old-school, and tremendously challenging, but it also offers enough immediate gratification that newcomers to pinball can still enjoy themselves. Game menus also provide background information on each table's real-world history. Speaking of which, some of you may be curious about which tables are included. The base game includes 4 - Tales of the Arabian Nights, Ripley's Believe It or Not, Black Hole, and Theatre of Magic. As of July 2012, Farsight has made two DLCs available, each of which adds 2 more machines - Cirqus Voltaire and Funhouse in one, Medieval Madness and Bride of Pin-Bot in the other. If that's not enough, 4 more have been announced for August DLC - Gorgar and Monster Mash in the first pack, Creature from the Black Lagoon and Black Knight in the second. Furthermore, Farsight has successfully secured the rights to reproduce Twilight Zone, thanks to a kickstarter campaign, which is incredibly cool since Twilight Zone is arguably the more revered pinball machine of all time. Star Trek: The Next Generation and Attack from Mars are also reportedly in the works, with even more over the very bright horizon. If you're a pinball fan, you've probably already stopped reading to immediately download the game, but if you're still with me, just know this - The Pinball Arcade is the finest virtual collection of pinball gaming ever created, and with so much additional content on the way, it is truly the retro gift that just keeps giving. Fine work, Farsight. Collapse
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    Faithful representations of pinball machines of old, lots of fun to be had relearning table rules and chasing your own high scores! My only criticisms are that the newer tables seem to be rushed quality wise compared to the earlier released tables. A few bugs here and there in DLC packs 6 and 7 and the visuals don't seem to be making the most of the Vita's powerful graphics capabilities, the iphone versions of some tables look a lot sharper and colorful..
    Overall though a must buy for pinball lovers and for newbies to the genre, check it out!
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    The Greatest real pinball tables you could have in your pocket and enjoy them anytime. There are many tables to choose from and every table comes with detailed instructions how it works. Launch! Expand