Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 27, 2014
    100
    Basically, if you have a PS Vita, you should buy The Sly Collection ASAP, because there aren't too many games — Vita or otherwise — that are more worth your time and money.
  2. 90
    Feels like the ultimate Sly Cooper experience, and is among the best releases on the Vita. The games may be old, but they feel timeless.
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    90
    The Sly Cooper Trilogy on Vita is one of the best collections available, and it remains so much fun. Sure, the first game does seem a bit dated and repetitive, but the other two titles really open up the gameplay options.
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    85
    For series fans it’s a great opportunity to experience these games again, and genre fans like me who haven’t played them should definitely check them out.
  5. Lovingly ported to PSV, but not completely ageless. [June 2014, p77]
  6. 85
    Sly's jump to PS Vita is a resounding success, with solid gameplay and stories wrapped in impressive technical polish and Cross-Save support.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    85
    A bit repetitive, but the later games make this worthwhile.
  8. Apr 16, 2014
    85
    If you like platform games and simple stealth mechanics, Sly Trilogy is the portable collection for you.
  9. Apr 16, 2014
    83
    If you are a newcomer to the series, you'll find enough new features to be a worthy game to play. The conversion makes us feel satisfied enough, keeping in mind the terrible tries of other ones on PS Vita.
  10. May 30, 2014
    81
    The Sly Collection succeeds where many before it have failed: it brings a classic console platforming series to the Vita with no crippling side effects. Despite some forgivable framerate issues, the enduring charm and intelligence of Sly Cooper’s design stole my heart once again.
  11. Aug 21, 2014
    80
    The Sly Trilogy is as great as you remember it on the PlayStation Vita. The graphics are vibrant, the story engaging and the characters charming and fun.
  12. Jul 3, 2014
    80
    If you're a Sly Cooper fan or are looking for some good platforming action on your Vita, you need The Sly Cooper Collection.
  13. May 27, 2014
    80
    If Sly's your thing - and it's not an exclusive club - this is another fine way to enjoy three classic games.
  14. May 7, 2014
    80
    With an opening chapter weaker than its sequels, The Sly Collection is nevertheless an ideal opportunity to become acquainted (or reacquainted) with Sly, Bentley and Murray.
  15. May 2, 2014
    80
    Three great platformers for the price of one. If you own a PS Vita, you really shouldn't miss this one.
  16. Apr 30, 2014
    80
    This is a work of high quality and almost makes us believe that Sly was born originally for a portable format.
  17. Apr 23, 2014
    80
    A remake of a remake that stands on its own on the PlayStation Vita.
  18. Apr 22, 2014
    80
    The Sly Cooper HD Trilogy do the job while we're waiting for some true exclusive titles on PS Vita. Compared to the PS3 version, this port has nothing to be ashamed of, as gameplay and visuals are still excellent. The only regrets we have are about the lack of interaction with the touchscreen and the necessity to download the third episode.
  19. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    These are three great games you shouldn't miss, so this is a great opportunity if you missed them before. The port could have been better, but having the Sly trilogy on a handheld is, indeed, tempting.
  20. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Sly Trilogy works great on the PlayStation Vita despite the lack of features developed in order to take advantage of its hardware. The three games are still enjoyable and the HD textures take the toon-shading a step higher in terms of quality.
  21. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Another excellent collection for PS Vita of one of the beloved PS2 stealth adventures. A must have for Vita owners.
  22. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    It’s no surprise that the Sly Trilogy is a great fit for the Vita. Fun and engaging despite occasional difficult spikes, the enjoyment only tends to wane after playing for long periods, and may become slightly tiresome should you decide to marathon all three games one after another.
  23. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Despite the pixelation of the cartoonish cinematics, this trilogy still endures the test of time brilliantly on PS Vita, and thus stands as a wonderful way to discover Sly Cooper's tumultuous past.
  24. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    It may be sneaking onto Sony’s handheld more silently than the cunning raccoon at the centre of its adventures, but The Sly Collection provides the best platforming antics that you can currently find on the pocketable format.
  25. One of the best HD collections in the Playstation library is now on PS Vita. Old episodes of Sly Cooper are pure fun on the handheld console. Only downside is the low resolutions on textures and cinematics.
  26. May 27, 2014
    75
    While some small technical issues crop up every once in a while, the Sly Cooper Collection on Vita is a surprisingly competent handheld port of three excellent games.
  27. May 19, 2014
    75
    The Sly Trilogy is a very strong collection. The games have had a nice wax and are still very fun. The second part is the absolute high point in this trilogy and the other two are most definitely still worth playing.
  28. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Even today, the first trilogy of Sly Cooper has something to say. Unfortunately, the conversion of the first episode is technically a mess.
  29. 70
    The Sly Trilogy is still a very good collection and if you can ignore the slight issues with the compressed videos and sound, you will have a wonderful time.
  30. Apr 16, 2014
    60
    One third rubbish and one third brilliance, The Sly Trilogy reminds us why the series is so much fun to play and why we forgot about it in the first place.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 29, 2014
    10
    When I first heard that Sanzaru Games was porting the Sly Collection to the vita, I was ecstatic. Not only were these games my favorite as a child, but they were also coming to my favorite system! However, I was apprehensive; The Jak and Daxter Collection for Vita was atrocious. But I had faith in Sanzaru because they did the ps3 port very well and they also made Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, which was a good game that did the series justice. So I bought it day one (May 27th in America) and so far, I must say... I am loving every minute of it. Not only is it a good port; its a fantastic HD updating. The games all look great on the vita screen and the frame rate is smooth. If you love Sly Cooper, DEFINITELY get this collection. If you liked thieves in time but you never played this original, for sure get this game. If you have never played a Sly Cooper game in your life, I recommend you check out some gameplay footage and see if its your thing. If so, definitely buy this. This was a great port by a great studio, 10/10 Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2014
    10
    The Sly Cooper Collection for the PS Vita is amazing. This, FF X/X-2 HD Remaster and the MGS HD Collection stand as the best PS2 to PS Vita ports. The game runs a very smooth frame-rate, runs a native 960x544, and the controls are good. Compared to the God of War Collection and the Jak & Daxter Collection, this is the best optimized for the Vita. If you are a Sly fan, go get it. If you never played any of the games on PS2, pick it up; I can almost guarantee that you will enjoy playing these 3 classics on the little handheld. Also know that the first 2 games are on the Vita card. Sly 3 is on a voucher, like Final Fantasy X-2. Full Review »
  3. May 31, 2014
    9
    Good god this port is impressive, the framerate is so smooth it literally shocked me. About 2 or 3 times the framerate very slightly dropped for about 2 seconds, of course I barely noticed it. I've played all 3 games, haven't finished any of them, but I hugely recommend this to any sly cooper fans or psvita owners who just want over 100 hours of oldschool fun or some games to occupy their time.

    The only thing I hated was that sly 3 isn't on the cartridge, you have to download it off the ps store. Lame.
    Full Review »