Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Presumably, this is something that was already known by everyone that's already played The Walking Dead on PS3/Xbox/PC/iOS, but if you haven't yet had a chance to see it for yourself, then you owe it to yourself to rectify your oversight and get it for your PS Vita immediately.
  2. What is there left to tell about The Walking Dead, our personal best game of 2012. Those who only own a Vita owe it to themselves to play this thrilling interactive zombie adventure. [October 2013 p.94]
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    As of this writing, the price is the same on PC and Vita, so if you've got a computer that can handle it, that's how I'd recommend playing it. But if you don't, grab this one on Vita and look past its issues to the great game lying underneath.
  4. All you really need to know is that this is a very capable port of one of the most celebrated games of 2012. Prepare to be drawn into a superbly written apocalyptic tale that will hook you in completely and aim for your feels. [November 2013, p83]
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    74
    Despite being far from the best version of this series, the Walking Dead on Vita is still a stellar adventure. The quality of Telltale's work transcends the various technical issues that haunt this port.
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on the Vita is still the same fantastic game it was before; the story still resonates, you still form emotional connections with the characters and you still have the same pangs of horrific doubt over each and every choice the game puts in front of you.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on PS Vita isn’t the definitive version, which is a shame, as the personal experience of the Vita itself could have added so much to the overall experience of the game. Instead what you get is a decent enough port that maintains most of the game’s charms, but just falls a little short on previous releases. However, that still makes it better than most games on the market.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Best way to play it. It really feels like a comic book coming to life. I would highly recommend either this or the iPad version because theBest way to play it. It really feels like a comic book coming to life. I would highly recommend either this or the iPad version because the feeling is so much better when you can play wherever you want. Vita version is superior to the iPad version (no glitches when shutting off the screen, choosing controls...). Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    Superb story with exceptional characters and intriguing relationships. This game should get a perfect 10 but the Vita version has significantSuperb story with exceptional characters and intriguing relationships. This game should get a perfect 10 but the Vita version has significant technical problems. It looks just as good as other versions of the game, but it has lots of framerate issues and slowdowns/stuttering. It affects gameplay and takes away some of the fun and immersion (most of the times I die are as a result of these issues, which is frustrating).

    Never tried the PS3 version, but I'm guessing it's better than this. My suggestion to you is to get it on a different system, but you should definitely buy it.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    This game is great, but the ratings are far from on target. First the graphics while fluid, seem a bit dated. Almost as if it where made aThis game is great, but the ratings are far from on target. First the graphics while fluid, seem a bit dated. Almost as if it where made a decade ago. While it adds to the ambiance, it looks like a sketch. There are constant pauses and long load times. These are tolerable considering the depth in the characters and story. However, in all honesty should prevent it from receiving a 10. I would still say it's one of the best games on the vita and is a must own. It seems to me that a great deal of people jump to give a game a 10 just because they enjoy it. Full Review »