Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Walking Dead is an award-winning vision of Robert Kirkman's global hit comic book series. Experience the true horror and emotional impact of being a survivor of the undead apocalypse in a zombie game unlike any other. You will meet people and experience events that will impact the story of Deputy Sheriff Rick Grimes, and you will be forced to make decisions that are not only tough, but that will have a direct effect on the story that you experience. The undead are everywhere, but they're not your only problem. Starvation, betrayal, heartbreak and more will challenge you as you attempt to survive in the world of The Walking Dead. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Presumably, this is something that was already known by everyone that's already played The Walking Dead on PS3/Xbox/PC/iOS, but if you haven't yet had a chance to see it for yourself, then you owe it to yourself to rectify your oversight and get it for your PS Vita immediately.
  2. What is there left to tell about The Walking Dead, our personal best game of 2012. Those who only own a Vita owe it to themselves to play this thrilling interactive zombie adventure. [October 2013 p.94]
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    As of this writing, the price is the same on PC and Vita, so if you've got a computer that can handle it, that's how I'd recommend playing it. But if you don't, grab this one on Vita and look past its issues to the great game lying underneath.
  4. All you really need to know is that this is a very capable port of one of the most celebrated games of 2012. Prepare to be drawn into a superbly written apocalyptic tale that will hook you in completely and aim for your feels. [November 2013, p83]
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    74
    Despite being far from the best version of this series, the Walking Dead on Vita is still a stellar adventure. The quality of Telltale's work transcends the various technical issues that haunt this port.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on PS Vita isn’t the definitive version, which is a shame, as the personal experience of the Vita itself could have added so much to the overall experience of the game. Instead what you get is a decent enough port that maintains most of the game’s charms, but just falls a little short on previous releases. However, that still makes it better than most games on the market.
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on the Vita is still the same fantastic game it was before; the story still resonates, you still form emotional connections with the characters and you still have the same pangs of horrific doubt over each and every choice the game puts in front of you.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Best way to play it. It really feels like a comic book coming to life. I would highly recommend either this or the iPad version because the feeling is so much better when you can play wherever you want. Vita version is superior to the iPad version (no glitches when shutting off the screen, choosing controls...). Collapse
  2. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Now, originally I gave this a 9.9 out of 10 saying that though I hadn't beat it quite yet,
    I had LOVED IT.
    Really, this game is good that it
    deserved to be ported to almost every damn console. I walked into 'the walking dead' a little sour, it was 2012 (or 2013), I had gotten the first 2 episodes on my PS3 for free from PS Plus. Of course, the series was not over yet and with the good reviews the series had gotten, I tried it. I had played a little bit of the first episode and had gotten SO stuck that I walked away with a sour face on. Then, in Christmas of 2013, I had gotten the vita with the walking dead bundle. Now, I had seen this bundle in very few places, at most I would see it in the nearest gamestop, or in those rigged arcade machines when I was in an arcade. Now that I have it, and beat it, here is my review. The walking dead, at first sounds like the last of us but its NOT. While the last of us had you escorting a teenage girl with a cure, the walking dead has no backstory behind the disease, and instead of going for a "GRITTY, EDGY" art style, it kinda reminds me of XIII, because of that games comic art style. Now, at first this seems like a zombie action game... with heavy story, kinda like the last of us, but you'd be HORRIBLY wrong. The walking dead is rather a point and click puzzle adventure game with zombies. You may scratch your heads and say "that sounds stupid", but I ensure you, you'd STILL be wrong. The puzzles are brilliant, and really make you see whats around you. The story and presentation are heavy as hell, but thats what makes this adventure so damn good. The story, starts slow, but as it progresses, you have to make certain choices, like wether you should save survivor a, or survivor b. The ending had me in tears, and is probably one of the emotional ones I've seen by far. I won't spoil anything, because this is one YOU should play YOURSELF, don't let lets plays ruin the game for you, and only use walkthroughs when stuck, thats my advice. Now onto the port. Sometimes, when a game gets its chance onto other consoles, it may not turn out too well, but sometimes it will work. Now wether this an example of an good port or it, it's definitely a fine one. It comes with ALL the episodes, and in case you've seen that other bundles have that, this one comes with the 400 Days expansion pack. The only real problem I have with the port is the "touchscreen mode". The touchscreen mode just f*cks everything up for the game if you have it on. For starters, you get the good impression that you DON'T have to log the cursor around (not that that was bad or anything), then you realize that once on, you can ONLY use the touchscreen, which mucks up the visual art style, and makes moving your character 10 times harder than it should be. Now, with an iPhone, iPod, iPad, or any other phone-like device, it kinda worked, but that was because the iPhone and iPod have tiny screens, with the PS Vita's screen being so wide, it practically makes the mode of no use unless your fingers are tired of using the thumb sticks, but in that case TAKE A BREAK. The worst part: in order to even turn it on/off, you HAVE to, and I mean you HAVE to quit your game, so if your game hasn't autosaved in a while, and the touchscreen mode is biting you, your basically screwed. Overall: Actual Game 10/10 Pros: +Amazing story/great cast +The ending will have you in tears +The puzzles are smart and work +Hooray for morality choices that WORK! Cons: NONE Overall, PS Vita port, 9/10 Pros: +Includes all the episodes... +Plus 400 days if you want that +It works... Cons: -...Just expect allot of freeze frames and loading screens -The touchscreen mode is not that good If you haven't played the walking dead yet, you're missing out on what will become a classic one day.... unless your a 12 year old who sits inside playing Call Of Duty all day. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game belongs on the Vita, its definitely a must have. The gameplay is great because of the touch features of the vita, and of course the OLED screen doesn't fail to amaze with the graphics. Picture this, headphones on, on a train ride home at night scary, Even tho the graphics are cartoon like the emotion each character carries is so life like, and yes it will keep you on the edge. I rate this game two thumbs up, and my big toe, Enjoi making the right decisions people! Hint: just dont say drop the gun down, Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This game is almost perfect.
    Very interesting story, good gameplay and animations, the problem is that sometimes it animations react slow,
    but that doesnt affect the game at all.
    The PS VITA is the place where this plays better.
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    First experience with walking dead, never played or watched it before, this is just stunning, excellent on the vita apart from a little bit of a lag here and there thats it, story is just brilliant and feels truly emotional. 9.5/10 from me - will be buying the others asap. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    This game is great, but the ratings are far from on target. First the graphics while fluid, seem a bit dated. Almost as if it where made a decade ago. While it adds to the ambiance, it looks like a sketch. There are constant pauses and long load times. These are tolerable considering the depth in the characters and story. However, in all honesty should prevent it from receiving a 10. I would still say it's one of the best games on the vita and is a must own. It seems to me that a great deal of people jump to give a game a 10 just because they enjoy it. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    Superb story with exceptional characters and intriguing relationships. This game should get a perfect 10 but the Vita version has significant technical problems. It looks just as good as other versions of the game, but it has lots of framerate issues and slowdowns/stuttering. It affects gameplay and takes away some of the fun and immersion (most of the times I die are as a result of these issues, which is frustrating).

    Never tried the PS3 version, but I'm guessing it's better than this. My suggestion to you is to get it on a different system, but you should definitely buy it.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews