Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 2, 2013
    100
    All of which is to say: buy Thomas Was Alone. Buy it for yourself. Buy it for your friends. Buy it for random strangers on the street. It's seriously that good.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    85
    Thomas Was Alone is an abstract experience, but it’s a rewarding one that encourages continued exploration. Simple shapes and environments make it seem limited at first, but it crafts new puzzle solutions in its geometric world with each new level. Developer Mike Bithell clearly has a strong passion and understanding for what makes the medium of video games interesting and worth exploring.
  3. 80
    Sharp and peculiar platformer that may look repetitive at first glance, but is more than worth the price of admission.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    A charming and beautiful minimalistic puzzle platform game that offers both a gripping and amusing story through its great narration.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    75
    Thomas Was Alone humanizes nondescript squares, creating an affecting and satisfying adventure.
  6. May 9, 2013
    70
    Thomas Was Alone does a stellar job in doing what it sets out to achieve. It uses simplistic visuals and basic gameplay to convey a sense of wonder and tell a very personable, well written and well realised story of isolation and companionship.
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    If you're looking for some meaningful storytelling in a video game, you will love Thomas Was Alone. If you're after a challenge, though, best to steer clear.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 11, 2013
    9
    I got Thomas Was Alone because it was free this month on PS Plus, but I would have been very happen to purchase it. If I had to describe it I would say 'portal with quadrangles'. It is available on multiple platforms but with well implemented touch controls that complement the standard buttons and most levels only taking a few minutes to complete it is a perfect fit for Vita. Full Review »
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    What 'Thomas' does, it does very well, and kudos to the developer for actually making me care about these blocks can't fault them for that. Danny Wallace's narration in particular is one of the best I've heard in a game for some time, and never grates unlike Steven-bloody-Fry in LBP.

    It would be deeply unfair, however, to aim my main criticism at TWA, which is (I reiterate) a Good Game. However it is also the kind of thing I was playing 23-bleedin' years ago on my Amiga 500 (I know, I've still got it). My PS Vita is, as Sony keeps telling us, a titanic piece of kit, a handheld monster that once PS4 comes along will dominate all life but when I've paid £240 on Day One for it, and eighteen months down the line some of the top-rated Vita games are antiquated 2-D side-scrolling platformers WTF? Seriously WTF?

    Sony has today announced that PS4 will be cheaper and better than XBOne. Frankly I'm not holding my breath.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    It's not epic story about end of the world, but it's personal and full of emotions. Told with minimalistic set pieces that works right, because soon you will sympathize with these little colorful rectangles. Full Review »