Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 2, 2013
    100
    All of which is to say: buy Thomas Was Alone. Buy it for yourself. Buy it for your friends. Buy it for random strangers on the street. It's seriously that good.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    85
    Thomas Was Alone is an abstract experience, but it’s a rewarding one that encourages continued exploration. Simple shapes and environments make it seem limited at first, but it crafts new puzzle solutions in its geometric world with each new level. Developer Mike Bithell clearly has a strong passion and understanding for what makes the medium of video games interesting and worth exploring.
  3. May 13, 2013
    80
    A charming and beautiful minimalistic puzzle platform game that offers both a gripping and amusing story through its great narration.
  4. 80
    Sharp and peculiar platformer that may look repetitive at first glance, but is more than worth the price of admission.
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    75
    Thomas Was Alone humanizes nondescript squares, creating an affecting and satisfying adventure.
  6. May 9, 2013
    70
    Thomas Was Alone does a stellar job in doing what it sets out to achieve. It uses simplistic visuals and basic gameplay to convey a sense of wonder and tell a very personable, well written and well realised story of isolation and companionship.
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    If you're looking for some meaningful storytelling in a video game, you will love Thomas Was Alone. If you're after a challenge, though, best to steer clear.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    a game that makes you care about characters that are nothing more than rectangles or squares. Thomas was alone provides a really unique anda game that makes you care about characters that are nothing more than rectangles or squares. Thomas was alone provides a really unique and interesting experience. It is a puzzle platformer that requires some thinking and the use of numerous "abilities" that the shapes possess. There are a number of powers and it is a treat to use the shapes numerous sizes and jumping abilities to navigate through a series of levels. the game is around the perfect length for something like this at about 3 hours (maybe less) but despite the excellent gameplay it is not the star of the show.

    an excellent story told by narrations from an UN-named narrator describes the feelings and thoughts of most of these shapes as they attempt to escape their doom. The story is really interesting and is brilliantly written.

    this game was an absolute treat to play on vita.
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Mike Bithell makes a game that is such an incredible joy to play, I hated having it finished.
    Sporting hilarious narration, beautifully
    Mike Bithell makes a game that is such an incredible joy to play, I hated having it finished.
    Sporting hilarious narration, beautifully simplistic design and truly enjoyable mechanics that was only let down by the simple technicality that there was just not enough of it.

    Originally finding its way into my life as one of the PS+ freebies for April, Thomas Was Alone was randomly selected to be the first game I've played in a long time on the dust collector called my PS Vita.
    The story of Thomas is a simple one. He is an AI gone rogue, but an AI with a heart that is ultimately filled with friendship and heroism as he joins a band of other misfit AI to escape into the world.

    Thomas, as the name suggests, begins the story as a lone jumping rectangle that you guide through various simple side scrolling levels. On your journey however you meet various other quadrangles of different sizes that provide different skills; including a short wide pink one that functions as a trampoline, a large blue square that cant jump very high but floats on water and a tall slim yellow one that jumps to enormous heights. It is in this part of the design that the games concept truly excels, instead of learning skills you meet friends, instead of fighting enemies you tackle the changing levels as a team, you must use your brain and work out the correct way and place to make use of each characters skills to guide you through the story, a concept I really warmed to.

    Each shape is given unique personality and character via the stunningly charming and soothing narration by Danny Wallace continuing to add to the nonsensical depth of a group of shapes and giving you an idea of the importance of their adventure from their perspective. It is at this point where Thomas Was Alone really becomes an experience. The story narration, alongside beautiful music by Danny Housden, and lighting effects that are pointlessly beautiful, bring the mechanics of this little game to life. On face value this is a game where you play as a series of shapes jumping around a world, but the more you play, the more it becomes, making you care for the characters, cheer for them, vilify them and genuinely be happy for them as they progress through their journey, a journey that is all too short.

    And it is here where my only issue, but a personal argument lies. At around 3 hours this game is short as you'd expect from the price point and genre but I cant decide if I want more. There is a fascinating commentary edition to play through that as a fan of movie commentaries I loved but what I really wanted was more to play in this world. However the issue I'm facing is that I feel much more would have devalued it, risked the ‘novelty wearing off’ or myself becoming frustrated at an eventually rising difficulty curve.

    Thomas Was Alone is the beautiful vision of a single man that takes any ‘graphics over gameplay’ argument by the scruff of its neck and gives it a good smacking. You become engrossed in the story, the characters and the world in a way I haven't felt with any triple A games in a long long time and any indie games since Journey. Its low price point and short compact ‘experience it’ story make it a must buy with the latter being this games only downfall. Give me more.
    Expand
  3. May 11, 2013
    9
    I got Thomas Was Alone because it was free this month on PS Plus, but I would have been very happen to purchase it. If I had to describe it II got Thomas Was Alone because it was free this month on PS Plus, but I would have been very happen to purchase it. If I had to describe it I would say 'portal with quadrangles'. It is available on multiple platforms but with well implemented touch controls that complement the standard buttons and most levels only taking a few minutes to complete it is a perfect fit for Vita. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    This game is fantastic. The story is incredible, as are the graphics and soundtrack. It is near perfection. It works really well on the PSThis game is fantastic. The story is incredible, as are the graphics and soundtrack. It is near perfection. It works really well on the PS Vita, and I found the touch-screen controls very useful, as I often lost track of how to control each character on the PC version. I am very excited to play Mike's next games! Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2014
    7
    pretty unique and addicting game. the story was very sweet and charming at first, seeing the blocks who dont get along work together to get topretty unique and addicting game. the story was very sweet and charming at first, seeing the blocks who dont get along work together to get to a goal. the game is pretty simple, but it does have 100 levels, with some variety in each new level. gameplay got repititive as you kept playing, and I gradually lost interest in the storytelling, but it's a good game for what it is, I gotta say i agree with metacritic and the 78 score for this game. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    In terms of storytelling telling and atmosphere Thomas Was Alone gets everything pretty much spot on, managing to create a memorable cast ofIn terms of storytelling telling and atmosphere Thomas Was Alone gets everything pretty much spot on, managing to create a memorable cast of characters from little more than squares and rectangles despite its minimalist approach.

    Unfortunately the gameplay itself, while competent, can't quite live up to the excellent presentation. I expect many will find it to be a little slow paced and its a shame that the puzzles never evolve to be as difficult, or indeed as clever, as the very best in the genre (such as Braid). It may not be a true classic but I'd recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different.

    *Having played both the PS3 and Vita version I must say it suited the handheld better.
    Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2013
    6
    What 'Thomas' does, it does very well, and kudos to the developer for actually making me care about these blocks can't fault them for that.What 'Thomas' does, it does very well, and kudos to the developer for actually making me care about these blocks can't fault them for that. Danny Wallace's narration in particular is one of the best I've heard in a game for some time, and never grates unlike Steven-bloody-Fry in LBP.

    It would be deeply unfair, however, to aim my main criticism at TWA, which is (I reiterate) a Good Game. However it is also the kind of thing I was playing 23-bleedin' years ago on my Amiga 500 (I know, I've still got it). My PS Vita is, as Sony keeps telling us, a titanic piece of kit, a handheld monster that once PS4 comes along will dominate all life but when I've paid £240 on Day One for it, and eighteen months down the line some of the top-rated Vita games are antiquated 2-D side-scrolling platformers WTF? Seriously WTF?

    Sony has today announced that PS4 will be cheaper and better than XBOne. Frankly I'm not holding my breath.
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews