Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Touch My Katamari is FUN - fast-paced, zany fun.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    85
    It's not the game you want to justify your purchase of a Vita, as it won't have you signing the merits of its various technical features and thanking the Lord for a rear touchpad. But it's something more important than that – fun.
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    81
    Far better than the recent PSP and iOS versions, this is Katamari's most fun portable outing to date. More new stuff would have been nice, though. [March 2012, p.91]
  4. Eccentric and bursting with charm. [Apr 2012, p.58]
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Doesn't stray from a winning formula, offers the portable world dual analog sticks (which cements the experience), and brings in a new touch-based mechanic that actually affects the gameplay in a positive way. There isn't quite enough content, the camera does seem to be a bigger problem than in past entries, and I miss a few of the more unique modes found in other titles, but there's no denying it: this is Katamari and the fans should really enjoy it.
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    80
    We're having a ball with this sticky-ball game that really sticks to you.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    78
    We love the game, but if you already have another Katamari game in your collection, you won't find many changes here, and it seems more like an expansion of the second game.
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    78
    Touch My Katamari does little to break the mold, but with its odd humor and addictive simplicity, it's a great game to have on the go. Plus, at $30, it's one of the more reasonably-priced Vita launch games.
  9. May 19, 2012
    75
    The AMOLED-screen on the Vita really works in favor of Touch My Katamari since it comes with a rainbow of colors. Unfortunately the story mode isn't particularly long, which cuts the fun assignments, quirky Japanese humor and happy J-pop short.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari is a step in the right direction for the franchise, it's a lot of fun. Best of all, it doesn't cram the Vita's touch controls down your throat and makes good use of the hardware.
  11. Feb 20, 2012
    75
    it's a nifty trick when you need to fit your big blob through tight spaces or want to cut a wide, steamroller-like swath. But it's also a bit erratic, and players may find themselves invoking the feature accidentally, when their insolent fingers drift from the slivers of non-touchpad space that the Vita so generously provides on its rear end.
  12. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari isn't a revolution for the series, but it does add enough odds and ends to keep the series (excuse me) rolling along. The quirky and bizarre visuals are still here, the solid gameplay persists and you'll still find rolling up sumo wrestlers funny. At least I do.
  13. Feb 14, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari looks and plays better than ever, has a hilarious new story, and new touchscreen controls give players additional ways to roll their own, but that all doesn't change the fact that this is basically the same game we've played so many times already.
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    75
    If you never clicked with the series' ball-rolling insanity, Touch My Katamari isn't likely to win you over. However, I do think that the morphing is a significant enough tweak to warrant giving it another shot.
  15. The game feels right at home on the PlayStation Vita, with its short levels that only last a few minutes and intuitive combination of the classic controls and the touchpad which you use to expand or shrink your rolling ball of mayhem. [March 2012, p.62]
  16. Feb 22, 2012
    74
    If you absolutely need to look at the fanciest graphics, or if you just simply hate weird Japanese humor, Touch My Katamari is not for you. However, for anyone who can handle it, this title offers gameplay so addictive you'll struggle to put it down, despite its flaws.
  17. Feb 16, 2012
    74
    It seems the devs really just adapted the controls and didn't really add anything in terms of content and features.
  18. Feb 28, 2012
    72
    Touch My Katamari is based upon the core episodes of the series and works well to take 100% bonus from the PS Vita features, giving players tons of fun.
  19. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    A little more polish and some much-needed rethinking and this would've scored much higher. [May 2012, p.81]
  20. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Middling execution. [May 2012, p.98]
  21. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    It still has that Katamari Damacy charm, but if you've played one Katamari game you've played them all. The game uses the Vita's capabilities in a competent fashion, but I'd much rather use the joysticks to control the ball instead of the touch screen.
  22. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    Damn, this title sounds wrong after a couple of drinks… A lack of innovation, a short runtime and weak graphics keep this game from becoming a must-have. Fans, however, will most definitely enjoy some more Katamari.
  23. 70
    Touch My Katamari makes little changes to the core gameplay and art style, but it's still so much fun.
  24. Feb 24, 2012
    70
    Clearly, for some this won't be enough – they might find the experience too familiar. Some might even take offense to the fact that Namco Bandai divided something by six, which was once truly unique. … I, too, had taken issue with the recycling factor of it all. But if you decide to give it a chance, the games' disarming charms will have you hooked halfway through the introduction. At that point you'll be able to laugh again at the balance between heart and insanity the developers so effortlessly strike.
  25. Feb 18, 2012
    70
    Touch My Katamari is a fun return to form that ends long before it has a chance to wear out its welcome.
  26. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Touch my Katamari offers a slightly low amount of amusing levels to roll through and with the addition of ball-morphing, it's more fun than ever. The weirdness also makes a triumphant return, though it is starting to show its age.
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Despite being light on levels, the replayability and charm of Touch My Katamari is likely enough to keep gamers interested for months to come. The changes shrinking and expanding add to the formula shouldn't be downplayed, as they really are the most significant additions since we first laid eyes on the wide-faced Prince, and we're happy to see the developers experiment with great success to create one of the most charming entries in the series yet.
  28. Apr 4, 2012
    68
    It is loud, brash and bizarre; but that's what makes this a Katamari game and goes a long way in making up for some of the minor niggles.
  29. Mar 14, 2012
    68
    Whether you're new to the series or a veteran, you may find the later levels to be pretty challenging - and by challenging I mean annoying.
  30. Feb 29, 2012
    65
    I'm torn by Touch My Katamari because I liked the game, I'm sure I'll get a lot of use out of it in the future, and yet I still feel disappointed by it due to the lack of content, relatively poor music given the series' usual high standard, and the comedy simply not being funny this time around. It gets the basic idea of a katamari game right and does deliver fun, but not as much as prior installments. I'd recommend it as a rental or a heavily-discounted purchase, but there's no way I can recommend it as a full-priced purchase for anyone.
  31. It's also overly familiar, too short and full of irritating load times. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  32. Mar 16, 2012
    60
    Stood by itself, or put into the hands of a new player, Touch My Katamari might feel pretty great, but for experienced high rollers it misses the mark by nestling too close to the series' past. Though it attempts a new thing or two, it's not enough. Touch My Katamari's still fun at its core, but more clearly than ever it indicates that the series is dearly in need of another twist or a refreshed design.
  33. Feb 28, 2012
    60
    Not a bad game, but it is a polarising one. [Issue#119, p.99]
  34. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    It's great to finally have a portable Katamari as playable as the console versions, but we already saw this game seven years ago…and six years ago…and five years ago…and...
  35. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Most disappointing is the game's conclusion, which lacks the kind of all-encompassing, universe devouring qualities of some of the series' best entries, switching instead to a sort of Rainbow Road-esque fantasy land that just tosses a bunch of random giant things from the other games together into a technicolor slurry.
  36. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Touch My Katamari is still a decent series entry, and if you don't know the franchise there's some enjoyment to be found, though the authenticity and soul of Takahashi's Katamari games remains lost.
  37. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    Touch My Katamari is well-controlled and fun while it lasts, but it feels like the series has stagnated. The touchscreen controls are welcome, but I wish the developers had been a bit more creative with the Vita's functionality.
  38. Feb 22, 2012
    58
    So on the content side of things, the game isn't really lacking, it's just failing in innovation or uniqueness when compared to the rest of the series. Again, it's great to have this game in a portable format that finally works, but unless you've been away from the series for quite some time, or find yourself a ridiculously hardcore fan of the Katamari games, I hesitate to call this a must buy. I've still had some fun with it, but I found it to be one of the weakest launch Vita titles I've encountered so far.
  39. Apr 26, 2012
    50
    Touch My Katamari is peppered with small, satisfying innovations, but it never strays far from its old rolling grounds. If you have any measure of experience with the series, then despite its gallons of charm, Touch My Katamari's all-too-familiar set of challenges will feel old hat, and fast.
  40. In many ways, Touch my Katamari feels more like game for your phone than a Vita title: incredibly accessible, yet designed for small bursts only. [April 2012, p76]
  41. Mar 5, 2012
    33
    In the end this is not much more than a demoversion with a hefty pricetag, a slap in the face of the devoted fan.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Being a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't have much reason to go back to it. Definitely could have been done better, but I'm not sorry that I bought it. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates the vita's touch screens very effectively. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Although, if you had all previous games of Katamari, this one might be not so good choice, it's still very good game with katamari feel. "Stretching" feature is awesome and refreshes gameplay, the story is quite simple but good and fun at the same time. I enjoyed this game end still enjoying it, thanks to the free DLC! Full Review »