Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
Buy On
  1. 70
    Touch My Katamari makes little changes to the core gameplay and art style, but it's still so much fun.
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    70
    Touch My Katamari is a fun return to form that ends long before it has a chance to wear out its welcome.
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    Touch My Katamari is well-controlled and fun while it lasts, but it feels like the series has stagnated. The touchscreen controls are welcome, but I wish the developers had been a bit more creative with the Vita's functionality.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Despite being light on levels, the replayability and charm of Touch My Katamari is likely enough to keep gamers interested for months to come. The changes shrinking and expanding add to the formula shouldn't be downplayed, as they really are the most significant additions since we first laid eyes on the wide-faced Prince, and we're happy to see the developers experiment with great success to create one of the most charming entries in the series yet.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    50
    Touch My Katamari is peppered with small, satisfying innovations, but it never strays far from its old rolling grounds. If you have any measure of experience with the series, then despite its gallons of charm, Touch My Katamari's all-too-familiar set of challenges will feel old hat, and fast.
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    68
    It is loud, brash and bizarre; but that's what makes this a Katamari game and goes a long way in making up for some of the minor niggles.
  7. Mar 16, 2012
    60
    Stood by itself, or put into the hands of a new player, Touch My Katamari might feel pretty great, but for experienced high rollers it misses the mark by nestling too close to the series' past. Though it attempts a new thing or two, it's not enough. Touch My Katamari's still fun at its core, but more clearly than ever it indicates that the series is dearly in need of another twist or a refreshed design.
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    68
    Whether you're new to the series or a veteran, you may find the later levels to be pretty challenging - and by challenging I mean annoying.
  9. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    It still has that Katamari Damacy charm, but if you've played one Katamari game you've played them all. The game uses the Vita's capabilities in a competent fashion, but I'd much rather use the joysticks to control the ball instead of the touch screen.
  10. Mar 5, 2012
    70
    Damn, this title sounds wrong after a couple of drinks… A lack of innovation, a short runtime and weak graphics keep this game from becoming a must-have. Fans, however, will most definitely enjoy some more Katamari.
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    65
    I'm torn by Touch My Katamari because I liked the game, I'm sure I'll get a lot of use out of it in the future, and yet I still feel disappointed by it due to the lack of content, relatively poor music given the series' usual high standard, and the comedy simply not being funny this time around. It gets the basic idea of a katamari game right and does deliver fun, but not as much as prior installments. I'd recommend it as a rental or a heavily-discounted purchase, but there's no way I can recommend it as a full-priced purchase for anyone.
  12. Feb 28, 2012
    72
    Touch My Katamari is based upon the core episodes of the series and works well to take 100% bonus from the PS Vita features, giving players tons of fun.
  13. Feb 24, 2012
    70
    Clearly, for some this won't be enough – they might find the experience too familiar. Some might even take offense to the fact that Namco Bandai divided something by six, which was once truly unique. … I, too, had taken issue with the recycling factor of it all. But if you decide to give it a chance, the games' disarming charms will have you hooked halfway through the introduction. At that point you'll be able to laugh again at the balance between heart and insanity the developers so effortlessly strike.
  14. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    It's great to finally have a portable Katamari as playable as the console versions, but we already saw this game seven years ago…and six years ago…and five years ago…and...
  15. Feb 22, 2012
    58
    So on the content side of things, the game isn't really lacking, it's just failing in innovation or uniqueness when compared to the rest of the series. Again, it's great to have this game in a portable format that finally works, but unless you've been away from the series for quite some time, or find yourself a ridiculously hardcore fan of the Katamari games, I hesitate to call this a must buy. I've still had some fun with it, but I found it to be one of the weakest launch Vita titles I've encountered so far.
  16. Feb 22, 2012
    74
    If you absolutely need to look at the fanciest graphics, or if you just simply hate weird Japanese humor, Touch My Katamari is not for you. However, for anyone who can handle it, this title offers gameplay so addictive you'll struggle to put it down, despite its flaws.
  17. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Most disappointing is the game's conclusion, which lacks the kind of all-encompassing, universe devouring qualities of some of the series' best entries, switching instead to a sort of Rainbow Road-esque fantasy land that just tosses a bunch of random giant things from the other games together into a technicolor slurry.
  18. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Touch My Katamari is still a decent series entry, and if you don't know the franchise there's some enjoyment to be found, though the authenticity and soul of Takahashi's Katamari games remains lost.
  19. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Touch my Katamari offers a slightly low amount of amusing levels to roll through and with the addition of ball-morphing, it's more fun than ever. The weirdness also makes a triumphant return, though it is starting to show its age.
  20. Feb 16, 2012
    74
    It seems the devs really just adapted the controls and didn't really add anything in terms of content and features.
  21. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 12, 2012
    70
    A little more polish and some much-needed rethinking and this would've scored much higher. [May 2012, p.81]
  22. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    50
    In many ways, Touch my Katamari feels more like game for your phone than a Vita title: incredibly accessible, yet designed for small bursts only. [April 2012, p76]
  23. Games Master UK
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Middling execution. [May 2012, p.98]
  24. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 29, 2012
    60
    It's also overly familiar, too short and full of irritating load times. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  25. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    74
    The game feels right at home on the PlayStation Vita, with its short levels that only last a few minutes and intuitive combination of the classic controls and the touchpad which you use to expand or shrink your rolling ball of mayhem. [March 2012, p.62]
  26. games(TM)
    Feb 28, 2012
    60
    Not a bad game, but it is a polarising one. [Issue#119, p.99]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 7, 2015
    9
    It's light on content but it's pretty enjoyable. The controls are at their best for the series, and the new backpad touch thing that lets youIt's light on content but it's pretty enjoyable. The controls are at their best for the series, and the new backpad touch thing that lets you change the shape of the Katamari is amazing. Get it on the cheap and play it when you watch TV or something. Not much more to say about Katamari. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Being a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't haveBeing a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't have much reason to go back to it. Definitely could have been done better, but I'm not sorry that I bought it. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates theThis game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates the vita's touch screens very effectively. Full Review »