Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Touch My Katamari, the ever-growing ball of bits and bobs is controlled by touching the screen to roll it in any direction. A completely new Katamari gameplay feature allows players to use the rear touch pad of the PlayStation Vita to stretch the ball either horizontally or vertically to pick up more objects at once or squeeze through a narrow gap. Players will once again step into the shoes of the tireless Prince, tasked by the King of All Cosmos with rolling up ever more enormous balls of weird and wonderful junk. As the Prince travels through the varied levels of gentle lunacy, he will find himself amassing all manner of items large and small, inanimate and very much alive, from humble little ants to the volcanic grandeur of Mount Fuji. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Touch My Katamari is FUN - fast-paced, zany fun.
  2. Feb 25, 2012
    80
    We're having a ball with this sticky-ball game that really sticks to you.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    75
    it's a nifty trick when you need to fit your big blob through tight spaces or want to cut a wide, steamroller-like swath. But it's also a bit erratic, and players may find themselves invoking the feature accidentally, when their insolent fingers drift from the slivers of non-touchpad space that the Vita so generously provides on its rear end.
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    Touch my Katamari offers a slightly low amount of amusing levels to roll through and with the addition of ball-morphing, it's more fun than ever. The weirdness also makes a triumphant return, though it is starting to show its age.
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    70
    It still has that Katamari Damacy charm, but if you've played one Katamari game you've played them all. The game uses the Vita's capabilities in a competent fashion, but I'd much rather use the joysticks to control the ball instead of the touch screen.
  6. It's also overly familiar, too short and full of irritating load times. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  7. Mar 5, 2012
    33
    In the end this is not much more than a demoversion with a hefty pricetag, a slap in the face of the devoted fan.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    A fresh story that is actually fairly easy to understand, at least compared to past titles in the series. While short, it definitely has replay value in the trophies. I spent a good six hours with it every day for a week and a half. I still haven't gotten the last trophy. The controls are perfect, the integration with Vita's touch screens is perfect, and the load times are very very short. I honestly don't have a single gripe about this game. For $30, it's a must-own for anyone who likes fun...especially when you can take that fun anywhere! Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    I really think katamari titles are self explanatory. You roll stuff up, inflict terror upon worlds, while single handedly humiliating deities and getting the shaft from your ambiguously homosexual father who just so happens to be the ruler. Of everything. This game adds a few new features, familiar environments, a great soundtrack, and SLIGHTLY updated graphics. A must have for fanboys/girls or someone looking for an addictive pick up n play handheld title. Instant classic :) Collapse
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Although, if you had all previous games of Katamari, this one might be not so good choice, it's still very good game with katamari feel. "Stretching" feature is awesome and refreshes gameplay, the story is quite simple but good and fun at the same time. I enjoyed this game end still enjoying it, thanks to the free DLC! Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates the vita's touch screens very effectively. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    8
    Decent graphics, slight replayablilty, frustrating controls. If you're a fan of the game, pick it up. Otherwise pass on it. Many of the levels feel like rehashed versions of the older games, too. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    Katamari is what you expect it to be only in a handheld format. I enjoyed the console versions and graphics and controls are the same. THere is a touch screen option but i dont use it. Yes the camera still gets blocked from time to time and the story is what can be expected. GReat to pick up and just roll around :-) If you dont like the series there isnt anything to pull you in. Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Being a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't have much reason to go back to it. Definitely could have been done better, but I'm not sorry that I bought it. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.