Uncharted: Golden Abyss PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    70
    Despite its flaws the platforming and cover-based shooting are on par with its console peers. There is fun to be had with Uncharted: Golden Abyss, regardless of how badly it fumbles with its new technology.
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    Action gamers who found their way to Uncharted via God of War and similar bombastic franchises will only have their itches scratched in the cutscenes. Whereas if your main enjoyment comes from the character interaction and cute dialogue these games seem to do better than so many others, you won't be disappointed at all.
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    If you've played an Uncharted game before you'll know what you're in for. Uncharted Golden Abyss is technically very impressive and the voice acting is great. But we've already seen this on the PS3 with better controls.
  4. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    A very good action-adventure game with varied and entertaining gameplay. However, it's quite boring to watch all those characters and scenario as well as it is a tiresome experience to use all those new functions of the PS Vita handheld. Fortunately, you don't need to use them to the full. And then, when you click off all the dialogues there is nothing that could stop you from your enjoyment of cool graphics and great action passages that are plenty.
  5. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    That being said, this is still an Uncharted game. Every Uncharted game comes with a certain base level of precision and execution, and that hasn't been lowered here. Golden Abyss gets a pass, but it doesn't come with honours.
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    Nathan Drakes first portable adventure is equally as impressive as it is disappointing. Bend Studio have created a visually impressive adventure with an excellent control scheme, but the haphazard use of some motion controls and the lacklustre story are a small let-down.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    A story worthy of the franchise, Uncharted: Golden Abyss falls short in terms of pacing and controls, as the touchscreen gimmick takes the experience down a big notch.
  8. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    Like an over-encumbered sherpa, Drake stumbles occasionally under the weight of all the gadgets and gimmicks included with the new system. For better or worse, Uncharted demonstrates just about everything the Vita can deliver.
  9. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    Though Uncharted: Golden Abyss brings a little too much reality to Drake's day-to-day by making him polish artifacts in gimmicky touchscreen nonsense, there's still a good, if formulaic, adventure to be had. In other words, this might just sell you on the Vita ... whenever it's not selling you on the Vita.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    Golden Abyss is full of disappointments. The action set pieces are great, but there's too few of them; the voice acting is exemplary, but the narrative doesn't do it justice; the touch and motion controls work well for some actions, but they ruin others. For every moment of enjoyment you have, something comes along to spoil it. Despite its problems, though, Golden Abyss still succeeds in delivering some intense, entertaining action and combat.
  11. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    This is an enjoyable game, and Studio Bend has proved itself capable of competently shepherding Sony's trusted franchises, but its limited spectacle and lacking script also make it the worst entry in the Uncharted series since the original Drake's Fortune.
  12. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    There's also the beauty of Uncharted's exotic locales, which act as a great showcase for Vita's astonishing display. And even if Golden Abyss starred a power-armoured space marine fighting his way across the cardboard-box planet, it would still be a robust thirdperson shooter, the likes of which we've simply never seen on a handheld. The core Uncharted experience is still here, in other words. It's stripped a little bare, but it's just about enough.
  13. Feb 27, 2012
    67
    Abyss does mix up the Uncharted formula, using Vita's touchscreens and gyroscope: Rather than just pressing X at a specific moment during a cinematic fight, you swipe the screen. These additions are mostly tedious, a barrier between players and the story. Stopping in the middle of crossing over a crevasse to tilt the Vita left and right to regain your balance doesn't ramp up the tension, it breaks that tension in half.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    65
    Golden Abyss is for the fans, no doubt – a formulaic Uncharted that sticks to what it knows best. It's more down-to-earth, realistic and at times, adventurous, but is unable to match its console-counterpart's memorable sequences and polish. It's also for those who needs a constant reminder of how "OMG! Vita is awesom3z!".
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    65
    The technology and mechanics clearly show how good this game could be. Naughty Dog's genius spark is missing and what we got is just good craftmanship. It's a great base for a real Uncharted for PS Vita, that most likely will debut in a year or two.
  16. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The whole thing feels like a "B Team" sort of feel to it, but there's just enough Uncharted here to ensure that the experience isn't a total loss.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 142
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed everyUnlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    The graphics are simply phenominal for a handheld, however, the gameplay aspects really fall short of my expectations. True, maybe I had highThe graphics are simply phenominal for a handheld, however, the gameplay aspects really fall short of my expectations. True, maybe I had high expectatioons, but this i sUNCHARTED, on eof the best series on the playstation. The touchscreen was sloppy, and the story did not seem to have a lot of work put into it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Only just started it but it's AMAZING so far. True attention to detail and their is a lot of story, which surprised me! When playing this IOnly just started it but it's AMAZING so far. True attention to detail and their is a lot of story, which surprised me! When playing this I have the same awe factor when I played Uncharted Drake's Fortune for the first time, enjoy! Full Review »