• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 95
    A must-own for anyone at all considering a purchase of a PlayStation Vita. It shows what that little portable with plenty of power can do, from the graphics, to the controls, to the Vita-specific touch features – it's truly amazing.
  2. 95
    A great experience from start to finish with dramatic moments, slick combat and carefully-measured platform play. Even the abundance of collectibles and stunning open environments make up in some way for its lack of a multiplayer component.
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    95
    It takes the series' much-loved gameplay, storytelling and presentation, and adds on innovative touch and tilt features to make a game that fits perfectly alongside its predecessors. Prepare to be amazed by a portable videogame.
  4. Feb 17, 2012
    91
    I'm really impressed by how well realized Uncharted: Golden Abyss is on a handheld. I had been a little skeptical at how well the series would translate to the small screen, but I've found myself really enjoying this game. It does lose a little bit of the scope, especially compared to the Uncharted 2 or 3, but I feel like that's to be expected here. Still, the excellent third person gameplay is extremely strong, and the game actually paces its combat and exploration mechanics better than Uncharted 3 did. I definitely urge new Vita owners to pick this one up; it deserves to be a marquee title for the Vita.
  5. Apr 8, 2012
    90
    At its core, it's the same Uncharted game we've all played before, but it's bolstered by sterling presentation, a bevy of secrets, and straightforward tomb-raiding gameplay that feels like a love ode to the series' adventure forebears.
  6. A very impressive achievement. [Apr 2012, p.54]
  7. Uncharted: Golden Abyss shines as a fun, authentic prequel that looks bloody amazing as a first generation title. The larger cinematic moments may not blow your mind, like similar set-piece events in Uncharted 3, but there's still no denying how succulent this looks on that 5 inch OLED screen. [March 2012, p60]
  8. Feb 27, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for a way to justify that new Vita and its memory card, look no further. Even if you don't like the series, the combination of fantastic gunplay and slick platforming delivered in a new way may just win you over.
  9. 90
    If you jump on board you're treated to an exciting action adventure that fits neatly into the Uncharted series.
  10. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    This game is everything you would expect from an Uncharted game. It's a superb action adventure title, highly entertaining and almost without flaws. The unique features of the PlayStation Vita are the icing on the cake, fitting nicely into Nathan Drake's newest adventure. Now, if only the story had been a little bit less predictable.
  11. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    What really matters here is that, yes, Golden Abyss feels like an Uncharted game. If you own a Vita already, this is the game you should be playing right now. It looks and sounds fantastic, the "ledge painting" is a great new feature, and it gives us another story of our favorite treasure hunter Nathan Drake. Sure, it's not perfect.
  12. Feb 14, 2012
    90
    For sure, Uncharted Golden Abyss is not of the same quality than the previous, full-blown PS3 episodes, but it's a damn good portable version of it. Visually, it lacks a little variety and the art direction isn't as good as the others, but technically speaking, it's still one of the prettier games of the Vita, and a faire demonstration of its prowess. The adventure remains quite thrilling, it's full a little additions to take advantage of the Vita (and hey are not as gadget as one might think), and its definitely a must-have for this console launch.
  13. Jan 10, 2012
    90
    A triple-A title that you can carry in your pocket, mobile gaming doesn't get any better than this.
  14. Feb 20, 2012
    89
    It looks fantastic, the franchise trademarks are here (most all of which are of a super high quality), and the blend of high-tech touchscreen and traditional controls is a triumph for the next generation of portable entertainment. You'll spot a few of the aforementioned sacrifices but they're not likely to ruin your fun.
  15. Feb 16, 2012
    87
    If you are buying a PS Vita system don't forget to take Drake with you – it's a must-have launch title which pushes the Vita features nicely.
  16. Feb 15, 2012
    87
    This is the launch title everyone should get, provided they like the action-adventure genre. A pocket blockbuster which can resist the comparison with the domestic entries and makes good use of the touch screen to add extra gameplay features. Drake is as charming as ever, and this title defines what the genre can offer in the PSVita. Shooting is at last fun on portable consoles.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 602 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 138
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    The graphics are simply phenominal for a handheld, however, the gameplay aspects really fall short of my expectations. True, maybe I had high expectatioons, but this i sUNCHARTED, on eof the best series on the playstation. The touchscreen was sloppy, and the story did not seem to have a lot of work put into it. Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Only just started it but it's AMAZING so far. True attention to detail and their is a lot of story, which surprised me! When playing this I have the same awe factor when I played Uncharted Drake's Fortune for the first time, enjoy! Full Review »