Uncharted: Golden Abyss PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 15, 2012
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 706 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Uncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the actionUncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the action button over and over again while jumping around. The game also included a couple puzzles but I thought they were too easy and a waste of 5 minutes. The story started out great but by the end I really didn't care that much anymore even though the game doesn't take that long to beat. The series deserves respect for what it tried to do but I would rather spend my time playing a longer more interesting game. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After finishing Uncharted Golden Abyss, I felt a slight sadness. A sadness that I'd finished one of the best Handheld games ever devised. The game started pretty slowly for me, and felt fairly dull at the beginning, lacking the excitement of previous Uncharted games. The story felt unclear, and I hadn't come across one Assault rifle, however, as the game built up, it became far more exciting. I had no use for the Assault rifles, as the gun combat was pretty awful, and the battles were very stealth-friendly. Stealth is very satisfying in this game. Graphically, it was stunning also. plenty of beautiful places to discover, in a true Uncharted style. Everything felt polished (graphically anyway) and had a lot of effort put into it. The story also became very exciting, and only got better towards the end, and the characters were very detailed and interesting. Any battles that didn't allow stealth were pretty fun and challenging, and just the gameplay in general, while linear, was very tense and enjoyable. The only things I disliked was the constant lag throughout the game, the slow start, the boss-fights being Touchscreen QTEs, and the game showing things I had to climb on in gold was very immersion breaking, but all in all the game was pretty damn good, and don't worry, sully appears later on.

    - An Uncharted fan.
    Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Aside from the lackluster graphics and gimmicky controls, Uncharted : Golden Abyss tells a decent story and has incredible voice acting... but the controls... terrible, just terrible.
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    6
    My critic is based on the "hardcore gaming" mode like very hard and crushing... very bad gameplay! The grenades not respond well. The final combat is painfull. No fun, it's poor. A word for Sony; the touch screen is for Angry Bird, you know? Not for Uncharted, Resistance etc... I hope that you understand me! Stupid!
  5. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    A good edition to the Uncharted series, but suffers from control issues. The graphics are great, storyline is up there with other uncharted games, but sadly the controls are very touchy which make it hard to play. I would frequently go for melee combat after trying to shoot enemies for over a minute without any luck due to the touchy controls, and small enemies making it hard to target them.
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    I finished the game yesterday on normal and my feelings are very mixed about this game. I like the story very much and the characters too but thats about it. The parts where you are actually playing are mind numbingly repetitive. Either you climb up predetermined paths with the occasional QTE to check if you are still awake or you cover and shoot. Both parts are executed poorly. I evenI finished the game yesterday on normal and my feelings are very mixed about this game. I like the story very much and the characters too but thats about it. The parts where you are actually playing are mind numbingly repetitive. Either you climb up predetermined paths with the occasional QTE to check if you are still awake or you cover and shoot. Both parts are executed poorly. I even think the playing parts destroy part of the believability of the story. When you control Drake yourself you can literally jump 30 metres and are an unstoppable killing machine. It goes against everything you experience in the cutscenes and dialogues. Its like experiencing two different scenarios of one franchise. The cutscenes are Uncharted, the adventure movie, Nathan Drake being a nice guy, an adventurer and a scholar, an homage to Indiana Jones movies. And then there is Uncharted: First Blood, with cover shooting, grenade tossing, bullets soaking Nathan Drake, one man army, Rambos Mentor.
    I haven't played any other Uncharted yet but this game feels like it would have been a way better movie than a game. I liked the story so much that I found myself literally fighting through this poor game to see the conclusion.
    Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    I'm really not liking it so far. I'm on chapter 7 playing on hard difficulty and so far it takes forever to bring down enemies, it's ridiculous. I've run into so many annoying situations where I jump to places and just hang there and the game doesn't allow you to press O to drop like Uncharted on the ps3. There's nothing terrible about per say but it just doesn't live up to the UnchartedI'm really not liking it so far. I'm on chapter 7 playing on hard difficulty and so far it takes forever to bring down enemies, it's ridiculous. I've run into so many annoying situations where I jump to places and just hang there and the game doesn't allow you to press O to drop like Uncharted on the ps3. There's nothing terrible about per say but it just doesn't live up to the Uncharted standards. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    Great start, for being one of the first games released to the VITA.
    Good graphics, sufficient performance, good gameplay (although I don't like 2-weapons-based videogames and I hate "playing the cutscenes") and good sound. Compared to Assassin's Creed 3 Liberation and Unit 13, this is an excellent game.
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Because its a launch game you cant criticize it to much, its very much below quality compared to the ps3 version (graphics, voice acting, audio) the graphics are pretty good for a handheld but they are inconsistent, they can look amazing at some points and then pretty awful in some other...i feel its been rushed just so it could be a launch title, the tedious touch screen interactions areBecause its a launch game you cant criticize it to much, its very much below quality compared to the ps3 version (graphics, voice acting, audio) the graphics are pretty good for a handheld but they are inconsistent, they can look amazing at some points and then pretty awful in some other...i feel its been rushed just so it could be a launch title, the tedious touch screen interactions are there throughout the game, i enjoyed the puzzles and the platforming but the shooting doesn't feel right..perhaps if the developers had enough time they would of tweaked them but they it feels awkward to use the sticks and shoot a target. Overall i think its a good game but dont judge the vita by the launch titles the developers will be still getting used to the new platform. Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I just completed Uncharted GA, I give it a 7/10 or so.
    I've only completed the original Uncharted so I'm not particularly well invested in the series, some thoughts;
    +It looks awesome, along with Gravity Rush it really shows the Vita's capabilities, it bodes very well for the graphical benchmark we can expect on the handheld throughout it's lifetime +The animation is excellent, on par
    I just completed Uncharted GA, I give it a 7/10 or so.
    I've only completed the original Uncharted so I'm not particularly well invested in the series, some thoughts;
    +It looks awesome, along with Gravity Rush it really shows the Vita's capabilities, it bodes very well for the graphical benchmark we can expect on the handheld throughout it's lifetime
    +The animation is excellent, on par with the console games as far as I'm concerned
    + The gyro controls are really perfect, the gunplay feels pretty awesome, sniping with the gyro is so much more satisfying than using an analog stick
    + The voice acting and the music is stellar
    + The overall pacing and cinematic nature is very compelling
    + I liked some of the other interactive elements such as the charcoal rubbings and flipping through the pages of Drake's notebook
    - I feel like the interesting aspects of the story (including the mythos behind the gods and all of the treasure and whatnot) are lost within the cluttered pages of the notebook, a lot of it's hard to comprehend, I couldn't even pronounce half of the names of the Gods and in general I feel like the game does an injustice to these elements by not expanding on it more
    - The villains and overall plot are largely predictable or uninteresting
    - The combat, while fun, is very formulaic, much like the other Uncharted title I played, it tends to bog down the pacing somewhat - though there is much more platforming here for those who prefer that
    - The 'sticky' style platforming which Uncharted has brought into this generation is quite shallow - though it does work well within the game
    - I came across a variety of bugs, including Drake constantly walking towards the camera when the sticks are in their default position, enemy encounters randomly not triggering, being unable to pick up certain weapons (and thus not being able to proceed) and the touch screen functionality becoming completely unresponsive. They were all resolved relatively quickly but it was frustrating at the time

    I only paid half of the RRP for the game, and for that price it was well worth the money, I'd only recommend it at a higher price for fans of the series - though I will say Golden Abyss is definitely as good as, if not better, than the original Uncharted.
    Expand
  11. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    although i was very impressed with the presentation of this game on a handheld, i was immediately disappointed that there was no competitive multiplayer. i enjoyed the multiplayer of uncharted 2 and 3 and thought it would be a given that this uncharted title would include a multiplayer mode similar to those featured in those games.

    also, every time i was forced to use the new touch
    although i was very impressed with the presentation of this game on a handheld, i was immediately disappointed that there was no competitive multiplayer. i enjoyed the multiplayer of uncharted 2 and 3 and thought it would be a given that this uncharted title would include a multiplayer mode similar to those featured in those games.

    also, every time i was forced to use the new touch controls it infuriated me, especially when you have to balance the vita to keep from falling off a narrow beam. it's ridiculous and obvious that the sole reason they implemented this was to make use of the vita's capabilities- the problem is it is annoying and kills the game's momentum.

    considering the high bar this franchise repeatedly sets, this game was a disappointment for me, although i still respect and appreciate the great combat and beautiful presentation.
    Expand
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    besides the aiming, movement and coversystem is totaly messed up and nearly frustrating, the "riddles" and story is fun. but thats all. its just an average game with poor controls (and thats not a vita problem)
  13. Mar 12, 2012
    5
    BOOOOOOOORIIING.... ok it has nice actions, controls etc but still boooooriiiing... also Chase is annoying. oh, the graphics and music are awesome. I have nothing to rant about them. That's why it gets a 5. It's just a over rated game.
  14. Jul 4, 2012
    7
    Bend studios did a fantastic job making a game which clearly has the "uncharted" charm but has some room to be able to also show of the amazing features which are now available thanks to the PSVITA. Its graphics aren't the best on the console by quite abit off and the shooting is abit fiddly, but as a package you'd be daft to doubt this being anything less than a good game.
  15. Aug 22, 2012
    5
    Really disappointed with this game.

    The only plus side to this game is the graphics (Which are really good) and the story. But the gameplay is boring and repetitive, the boss fights are QUICK TIME EVENTS ARGHGH!! What is this!?!? Heavy Rain!?!?!??!?!?????? And the puzzles are super easy!!! I honestly think the game should've been a movie. I don't think it's worth your
    Really disappointed with this game.

    The only plus side to this game is the graphics (Which are really good) and the story.

    But the gameplay is boring and repetitive, the boss fights are QUICK TIME EVENTS ARGHGH!!
    What is this!?!? Heavy Rain!?!?!??!?!??????

    And the puzzles are super easy!!!

    I honestly think the game should've been a movie.

    I don't think it's worth your money.

    Go buy Gravity Rush. (I wish I had)
    Expand
  16. Jan 28, 2014
    5
    Game is really boring always same things happens soldiers come and you attack them then climbing walls around and taking orders from the others nothing seems like real i barely finished this game
  17. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    Golden Abyss provides a surprisingly competent experience that doesn't feel like a dumbed down handheld game at all. It's got everything you would expect from an Uncharted title. It's biggest mistake however is something that far too many system launch titles make: trying too hard to sell you on the system's features. The puzzles and optional input methods frequently have you rubbingGolden Abyss provides a surprisingly competent experience that doesn't feel like a dumbed down handheld game at all. It's got everything you would expect from an Uncharted title. It's biggest mistake however is something that far too many system launch titles make: trying too hard to sell you on the system's features. The puzzles and optional input methods frequently have you rubbing various parts of the PSV and tilting things. Sometimes it can come as a surprised and you can get screwed over fore merely holding the system "wrong". The climbing portion of the game is made way too easy with the touch screen. Luckily using the touch screen for climbing is optional and you can use the regular controls just like a real Uncharted game, but it's always there in the back of my mind saying tempting me that there's and easier faster way out. As soon as any climbing portion stops being satisfying I just say "F it!" and wildly rub my fingers across the screen and Nathan seems to figure it out quickly monkeying his way to the objective. Expand
  18. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    I had this game. I had it because I love uncharted, but I traded it in because after the second time i played it, it just wasn't fun anymore. The graphics are good but there is no multiplayer mode. I am happy to have traded this game in to gamestop which i used the trade in credit to help pay for LBP vita. So if you love uncharted, i am sure you could find this on amazon for $20I had this game. I had it because I love uncharted, but I traded it in because after the second time i played it, it just wasn't fun anymore. The graphics are good but there is no multiplayer mode. I am happy to have traded this game in to gamestop which i used the trade in credit to help pay for LBP vita. So if you love uncharted, i am sure you could find this on amazon for $20

    PLUS: Classic uncharted experience... Fun story the first time.... Great graphics
    MINUS: High price... Not as fun second time through... no multiplayer
    Expand
  19. ERB
    Nov 22, 2013
    7
    Uncharted: Golden Abyss is not a bad game.The game play in this game is good and the storyline is good too but the graphics in this game is bad.The game play is good and fun which saved the game from getting a score of 4 from me and even the storyline is good.It is fun playing this game and it is also entertaining but the graphics are really bad.The game gets a score of 7/10 because of itsUncharted: Golden Abyss is not a bad game.The game play in this game is good and the storyline is good too but the graphics in this game is bad.The game play is good and fun which saved the game from getting a score of 4 from me and even the storyline is good.It is fun playing this game and it is also entertaining but the graphics are really bad.The game gets a score of 7/10 because of its awesome game play.And I recommend you fans to buy this game now because this is a great game.And I bet that you guys will like this game. Expand
  20. Jan 1, 2014
    5
    While it does have it's uncharted moment's as in it's dry humour between Drake and his companions the occasional interesting puzzle and cinematic action, the game looses it's rhythm around the half way mark with it's over populated enemy's carrying ultimate ammo against one guy, and an awful AI partner which doesn't protect you, it just becomes unrealistic at that point, it does howeverWhile it does have it's uncharted moment's as in it's dry humour between Drake and his companions the occasional interesting puzzle and cinematic action, the game looses it's rhythm around the half way mark with it's over populated enemy's carrying ultimate ammo against one guy, and an awful AI partner which doesn't protect you, it just becomes unrealistic at that point, it does however show the potential of the vita Expand
  21. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Love this game soooo much! Just like the console version! Stunning visuals along with great use of the Vita's controls resulted in a great, portable uncharted experience. I love that all the uses of the vitas controls are optional (e.g aming by tilting the Vita). Played this game for hours!
  22. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    Even though it looks good it is not that impressive overall. The story is predictable and boring and you wan to skip all the cutscenes because all of the characters eyeballs makes you want to curl up and cry (and the dialogue is not that interesting either). Collectibles you find in the games are just as impressive as things you could find in a kitchen, garden or workshop. Shooting is notEven though it looks good it is not that impressive overall. The story is predictable and boring and you wan to skip all the cutscenes because all of the characters eyeballs makes you want to curl up and cry (and the dialogue is not that interesting either). Collectibles you find in the games are just as impressive as things you could find in a kitchen, garden or workshop. Shooting is not great, it feels like you holding a stick shooting air at people (maybe except some big handguns). I liked the humour in the game like when you have to clean a dirty object by smudging your dirty fingers all over the screen. Expand
  23. Sep 10, 2013
    6
    I did never really understood all the hype surrounding this game! I never liked the graphics much, and thought the puzzle solving was way too slow for my taste, even boring at times. And while the shooting was ok fun, there wasn´t enough of it for me to enjoy much. I find it hard really to recommend Uncharted: Golden Abyss to anyone and think this experience quite hollow..
  24. Jan 14, 2014
    7
    First of all, stellar production values put into this game. It's truely on par with the PS3 singleplayer experiences on the graphical part, which is a thing the game deserves praise for.
    However, it's also very similar for the rest to the console games, ie gameplay isn't that super and really can get tedious. One of the few games that would've benefited from a shorter campaign in my
    First of all, stellar production values put into this game. It's truely on par with the PS3 singleplayer experiences on the graphical part, which is a thing the game deserves praise for.
    However, it's also very similar for the rest to the console games, ie gameplay isn't that super and really can get tedious. One of the few games that would've benefited from a shorter campaign in my opion, it really drags on (ie cutscene, fight, climb, climb, fight, climb, cutscene, climb etc).
    It tries to make use of the functionalities of the vita, but except for the dragging screen mechanic for the climbing (which is an improvement), the other stuff used feel gimmicky (eg holding your game against a bright light can seem fun, but not at the start of a train ride in which the light wasn't bright enough and I couldn't get up to go wave my vita against a light anyway... It is after all a portable console). But good for one playthrough, not really that much left to discover after it.
    Expand
  25. Aug 19, 2014
    6
    all the titles of every chapters are a line of the characters, which don't make sense in the first place and it's lazy. Gameplay is ok, but the scenes and story is nowhere near the great Naughty Dog works.
  26. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    QTE boss fights were obviously invented before fun, because they aren't. Lots of shooting, some exploring- your standard Uncharted fare can be found here. The controls can be somewhat iffy but the main detractor from this game are the QTE boss fights which are not fun, they do not require skill-- they are simply tedious.
  27. Mar 25, 2014
    7
    The game takes place before the events of drakes fortune. And follows drake and a new character called chase, in the hunt for the golden abyss. The story as a whole is ok but it seems to drag on and nothing much really happens, the ending is pretty poor aswell imo. The game introduces some new interesting mechanics such as taking photo's, bounty's and introducing a lot of nice vitaThe game takes place before the events of drakes fortune. And follows drake and a new character called chase, in the hunt for the golden abyss. The story as a whole is ok but it seems to drag on and nothing much really happens, the ending is pretty poor aswell imo. The game introduces some new interesting mechanics such as taking photo's, bounty's and introducing a lot of nice vita features that generally works well wiping problems. I didn't notice any frame drops, the game runs surprisingly smooth throughout. If you have either played he other games or just got your vita I would seriously consider buying this game as it incorporates a lot of nice vita only features and shows off what the system can do. Expand
  28. Dec 20, 2014
    6
    The game was okay, the Graphics were decent, the Story was Okay but... The two things that bug me the most about the game are...

    Controls, I just could not get comfortable with the controls and to me the Tomb Raider Reboot was much better in this area. Lack of PS TV Support is the second area, I don't really see why they couldn't patch this to work with the PS TV as this is one of
    The game was okay, the Graphics were decent, the Story was Okay but... The two things that bug me the most about the game are...

    Controls, I just could not get comfortable with the controls and to me the Tomb Raider Reboot was much better in this area.

    Lack of PS TV Support is the second area, I don't really see why they couldn't patch this to work with the PS TV as this is one of Sony's biggest developers and, it makes no sense why games like Uncharted and Little Big Planet don't get any support from Sony for this.

    Anyway, you might like the game but, again the controls were just way too much for me to get over and I absolutely hated every minute of using them.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    So overall Uncharted: Golden Abyss is not without faults, but nothing glaring enough to prevent recommending it, firstly as a very enjoyable game and secondly as an example of what the Vita can do.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 17, 2012
    86
    A very pretty action-adventure, which shows nicely, what Vita can do. There's too much generic shooting at the end, though. [Apr 2012]
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    90
    At its core, it's the same Uncharted game we've all played before, but it's bolstered by sterling presentation, a bevy of secrets, and straightforward tomb-raiding gameplay that feels like a love ode to the series' adventure forebears.