Uncharted: Golden Abyss PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uncharted: Golden Abyss Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 781 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Uncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologistUncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologist who has mysteriously vanished without a trace - Nathan Drake delves into the treacherous river basins, undiscovered temple ruins and karst caverns of Central America in search of a legendary lost city, only to find himself pushed to the edge of the Golden Abyss. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Uncharted: Golden Abyss Gameplay Video
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 95
    A must-own for anyone at all considering a purchase of a PlayStation Vita. It shows what that little portable with plenty of power can do, from the graphics, to the controls, to the Vita-specific touch features – it's truly amazing.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    What really matters here is that, yes, Golden Abyss feels like an Uncharted game. If you own a Vita already, this is the game you should be playing right now. It looks and sounds fantastic, the "ledge painting" is a great new feature, and it gives us another story of our favorite treasure hunter Nathan Drake. Sure, it's not perfect.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    86
    A powerful tech demo for the PlayStation Vita, but it's also an engaging game that's a blast to play in spurts. Touch screen use is a little heavy-handed and it's missing those "wow" moments we're used to getting from the franchise, but it's a solid action adventure with production values strong enough to quell any sense of system buyer's remorse.
  4. CD-Action
    Feb 14, 2012
    80
    It's not on par with Among Thieves and Drake's Deception in terms of variety and panache but it is a real Uncharted game. Plus it's the most impressive thing I've seen on a mobile console. [March 2012, p.74]
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The story is good enough to stand the comparison with the other Uncharted games, and that should be the only reason you'd need to go and buy this one.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    Uncharted: Golden Abyss gets most of the way there; it is a stunning exhibition piece for the Vita's power and graphical capabilities (and a more subtle exhibition piece for its gimmicks), and it's a smart, modern take on treasure-hunting fantasies with enjoyable characters and classical themes.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The whole thing feels like a "B Team" sort of feel to it, but there's just enough Uncharted here to ensure that the experience isn't a total loss.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 148
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic. I've played the other 3 on PS3. I like this story, theres no monsters, like in 1 and 2, which makes this story farThis game is fantastic. I've played the other 3 on PS3. I like this story, theres no monsters, like in 1 and 2, which makes this story far more believable. I love the way they incorporated the touch features, and being able to turn off. I played it on Hard level, as it felt too easy on Normal. I actually have finished the game 7 times, once normal, six on Hard, Crushing level seems just that. Great story of course. Great controls, its THE game to have for Vita. Should be rated 92+. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    I'm not a fan of portable games, but I gave it a try when my brother bought it. This game is huge for a portable game. I mean, compared toI'm not a fan of portable games, but I gave it a try when my brother bought it. This game is huge for a portable game. I mean, compared to other portable games it has a decent time of campaign, the graphics are comparable to the first Uncharted released for PS3. Not only this, but the music are epic too, and the gameplay are well fluid , it works perfectly with Vita's move and light sensor, didn't expected that much. The story is engagement, new characters are charismatic as always and you learn and explore lots of relics , and puzzles. Talking about puzzles they got even more interesting by using Vita's capability. This game is a huge portable masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed everyUnlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    I have been playing this game for a few days and I have to say that it is pretty amazing. I really love the way they integrate the touchI have been playing this game for a few days and I have to say that it is pretty amazing. I really love the way they integrate the touch panels (both front and back). The graphics are better than some PS3 games and the storyline is pretty good as well. Personally, this game alone fortifies my purchase of the Vita. The replay value is very high due to the inclusion of trophies and I hope they make a sequel. Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2013
    8
    Some of the touch controls were forced, but Golden Abyss is by no means a bad game. The story is good, Nathan Drake still shines as aSome of the touch controls were forced, but Golden Abyss is by no means a bad game. The story is good, Nathan Drake still shines as a protagonist and the gunplay was well-executed. Graphics ranged from okay to stunning. PS If anyone is deterred from buying the game due to the overuse of touch controls there is always the option of using the analog sticks. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    I just got Uncharted : Golden Abyss's Platinum Trophy today, so it's time to give some feedback about it. For the record, I only playedI just got Uncharted : Golden Abyss's Platinum Trophy today, so it's time to give some feedback about it. For the record, I only played Uncharted 1 and 2 for the PS3 so far, I haven't tried Uncharted 3 yet.

    First of all, this Uncharted looks good and moves well. It may not be nearly as impressive as its PS3 counterparts, and it does lack those "WTF?"moments like the ones in Uncharted 2 for example (with Tanks and Helicopters...), but it really looks great for a portable game system, even though the environments lack variety. When you see such graphics in the first wave of games of the machine, you can expect some pure graphical awesomeness in the games that will arrive in a couple of years, when the Vita beast is fully tamed by the developers.

    Enough with the technical aspects anyway, let's talk about the gameplay. Players who played an Uncharted game before won't be lost, since the game system is the same as on the PS3. However, since Uncharted is a "1st party" game released with the Vita, it had to make use of all the special features of the Vita : the Touch Screens (front and rear), the gyroscope, etc. Some of the ideas they found were interesting, others were pretty lame. Some features can be disabled (for example, aiming with the gyroscope), but some of them are mandatory, and they quickly get old and annoying. The Charcoal Rubbings and the action of cleaning objects for example (both are done by rubbing the Touch screen) are nice ideas, but you do it so many times during the game that it seriously gets on your nerves. Same thing with the Touch Screen Quick Time Events (QTE), I found them more annoying than fun, especially during the boss fights on Crushing difficulty, they're really frustrating.

    As for the story, it's a typical Uncharted story, with the usual twists. Nothing really surprising there, but it's still pretty good and interesting. The background is developed further through the millions of collectible things scattered throughout the levels, each of them giving you some information.

    I'll conclude saying that this Uncharted is a very solid game. Not the best of the series, but I definitely don't regret buying it and playing it, in spite of a few bad design choices.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Short, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gamingShort, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gaming history, 5 minute chapters, bad and predictable story... Don't waste your money on this garbage. All Uncharted game are good, but this one... 2 hours wasted of my life. And the fact that some cutscenes counts as 1 chapter makes me pissed off. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.