• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 590 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Uncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologist who has mysteriously vanished without a trace - Nathan Drake delves into the treacherous river basins, undiscovered temple ruins and karst caverns of Central America in search of a legendary lost city, only to find himself pushed to the edge of the Golden Abyss. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 95
    A must-own for anyone at all considering a purchase of a PlayStation Vita. It shows what that little portable with plenty of power can do, from the graphics, to the controls, to the Vita-specific touch features – it's truly amazing.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    What really matters here is that, yes, Golden Abyss feels like an Uncharted game. If you own a Vita already, this is the game you should be playing right now. It looks and sounds fantastic, the "ledge painting" is a great new feature, and it gives us another story of our favorite treasure hunter Nathan Drake. Sure, it's not perfect.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    86
    A powerful tech demo for the PlayStation Vita, but it's also an engaging game that's a blast to play in spurts. Touch screen use is a little heavy-handed and it's missing those "wow" moments we're used to getting from the franchise, but it's a solid action adventure with production values strong enough to quell any sense of system buyer's remorse.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    It's not on par with Among Thieves and Drake's Deception in terms of variety and panache but it is a real Uncharted game. Plus it's the most impressive thing I've seen on a mobile console. [March 2012, p.74]
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The story is good enough to stand the comparison with the other Uncharted games, and that should be the only reason you'd need to go and buy this one.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    Uncharted: Golden Abyss gets most of the way there; it is a stunning exhibition piece for the Vita's power and graphical capabilities (and a more subtle exhibition piece for its gimmicks), and it's a smart, modern take on treasure-hunting fantasies with enjoyable characters and classical themes.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The whole thing feels like a "B Team" sort of feel to it, but there's just enough Uncharted here to ensure that the experience isn't a total loss.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 138
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Really enjoyed this game. It was fun and the storyline was good. Parts of it could be cheesy at times, but overall, it was a good game. The graphics on this game alone is worth playing as it displays what the vita is capable of. Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    So I finally got around to playing this thru Playstation Plus. My game backlog is ridiculous. I never played an uncharted game before....the graphics are amazing and overall its a fun experience especially if you like shooters with Sniper rifles....I played on the most difficult setting. It was a blast. I wish they would bring more games like this to the VITA however Sony has their head so far up their butt when it comes to marketing this will not likely happen. Check out Uncharted..... Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2012
    8
    This is the first Uncharted game that I have played. Its one of the only games i have for my vita. When I first started playing it i was unsure,i didnt know what the series is about. Luckily if your new to the series like me dont worry because this game does a good job of giving you insite on what the series is about. This is a good game,a really good game. But its just shy of being a "great" game. One of the things that hooked me is the platforming,it feels just like assasins creed,another thing is the combat which isnt bad at all. The story is also very good and will probably keep you hooked until the end and this game is a lot longer than i expected it to be,as soon as i thought i was about to beat the game a new plot twist had playing for a few more hours. A few things arent perfect like the touch screen combat,which is just frustrating. Over all this is a good game,and one of the only vita games at the moment that takes it self seriously as an action adventure game Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    One of the best titles for the PSVITA so far. Despite the unnecessary use of the console's touchscreen, for example the excessive swipes, this title is a perfect demonstration of the Vita's capabilities. Very nice story, though not as great as the PS3's games. Drake's journal and collectibles makes this title enjoyable to play more than once, as there are many pictures to take and objects to pick up. It's a little big too easy compared to the PS3 titles, but I assume this is because the portable's gaming experience isn't as comfortable as the dualshock is. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    although i was very impressed with the presentation of this game on a handheld, i was immediately disappointed that there was no competitive multiplayer. i enjoyed the multiplayer of uncharted 2 and 3 and thought it would be a given that this uncharted title would include a multiplayer mode similar to those featured in those games.

    also, every time i was forced to use the new touch controls it infuriated me, especially when you have to balance the vita to keep from falling off a narrow beam. it's ridiculous and obvious that the sole reason they implemented this was to make use of the vita's capabilities- the problem is it is annoying and kills the game's momentum.

    considering the high bar this franchise repeatedly sets, this game was a disappointment for me, although i still respect and appreciate the great combat and beautiful presentation.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Short, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gaming history, 5 minute chapters, bad and predictable story... Don't waste your money on this garbage. All Uncharted game are good, but this one... 2 hours wasted of my life. And the fact that some cutscenes counts as 1 chapter makes me pissed off. Expand

See all 138 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.