• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 593 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Uncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologist who has mysteriously vanished without a trace - Nathan Drake delves into the treacherous river basins, undiscovered temple ruins and karst caverns of Central America in search of a legendary lost city, only to find himself pushed to the edge of the Golden Abyss. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 95
    A must-own for anyone at all considering a purchase of a PlayStation Vita. It shows what that little portable with plenty of power can do, from the graphics, to the controls, to the Vita-specific touch features – it's truly amazing.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    What really matters here is that, yes, Golden Abyss feels like an Uncharted game. If you own a Vita already, this is the game you should be playing right now. It looks and sounds fantastic, the "ledge painting" is a great new feature, and it gives us another story of our favorite treasure hunter Nathan Drake. Sure, it's not perfect.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    86
    A powerful tech demo for the PlayStation Vita, but it's also an engaging game that's a blast to play in spurts. Touch screen use is a little heavy-handed and it's missing those "wow" moments we're used to getting from the franchise, but it's a solid action adventure with production values strong enough to quell any sense of system buyer's remorse.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    It's not on par with Among Thieves and Drake's Deception in terms of variety and panache but it is a real Uncharted game. Plus it's the most impressive thing I've seen on a mobile console. [March 2012, p.74]
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The story is good enough to stand the comparison with the other Uncharted games, and that should be the only reason you'd need to go and buy this one.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    Uncharted: Golden Abyss gets most of the way there; it is a stunning exhibition piece for the Vita's power and graphical capabilities (and a more subtle exhibition piece for its gimmicks), and it's a smart, modern take on treasure-hunting fantasies with enjoyable characters and classical themes.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The whole thing feels like a "B Team" sort of feel to it, but there's just enough Uncharted here to ensure that the experience isn't a total loss.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 139
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic. I've played the other 3 on PS3. I like this story, theres no monsters, like in 1 and 2, which makes this story far more believable. I love the way they incorporated the touch features, and being able to turn off. I played it on Hard level, as it felt too easy on Normal. I actually have finished the game 7 times, once normal, six on Hard, Crushing level seems just that. Great story of course. Great controls, its THE game to have for Vita. Should be rated 92+. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Alright well this is the first Vita game I have finished and I can't help but feel that I have been absolutely spoiled! Visually it was on par with all the other uncharted games I have played to date. It felt like drake wasn't quite the same character as in the console games but everything else was just as good. The exploration was awesome and just when you thought you hit a boring level you are slapped in the face with some amazing visuals. It was difficult getting used to the controls but once I figured out the gyroscope for shooting mechanism I was all set. The touch screen was really nice when it came to climbing; however, I was extremely annoyed by the whole "swipe in the direction of this orange arrow to lift someone/cut this/grab on". I understand that this was the flagship example of how this hardware can be included in the game but I felt like it diluted Uncharted. Beyond that I really liked the plot and the dynamics between characters. It felt a lot like an uncharted game in that sense, especially after having played the second one. I could definitely see myself revisiting this one as I broke it up into 30 minutes trips on a subway which was limiting in immersing myself. Bottom line, it was another Uncharted game, it was just as awesome and its siblings, and I sincerely hope another one comes out for the Vita. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    It nowhere near as good as the last two entries but then again, I wasn't expecting it to be. The fact is that Naughty Dog isn't the one who developed Golden Abyss and it clearly shows. The writing is worse, the characters uninteresting stock characters, the settings are all the same, the puzzles lack scale and wonder, and the set-piece moments are rare. But even with all these flaws, it doesn't change the fact that this is an astonishingly similar experience to Naughty Dog's works on the PS3. If this is Sony Bend's first contribution to the PS Vita, then my hopes for the future are bright indeed. This game is fantastic. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    I just completed Uncharted GA, I give it a 7/10 or so.
    I've only completed the original Uncharted so I'm not particularly well invested in
    the series, some thoughts;
    +It looks awesome, along with Gravity Rush it really shows the Vita's capabilities, it bodes very well for the graphical benchmark we can expect on the handheld throughout it's lifetime
    +The animation is excellent, on par with the console games as far as I'm concerned
    + The gyro controls are really perfect, the gunplay feels pretty awesome, sniping with the gyro is so much more satisfying than using an analog stick
    + The voice acting and the music is stellar
    + The overall pacing and cinematic nature is very compelling
    + I liked some of the other interactive elements such as the charcoal rubbings and flipping through the pages of Drake's notebook
    - I feel like the interesting aspects of the story (including the mythos behind the gods and all of the treasure and whatnot) are lost within the cluttered pages of the notebook, a lot of it's hard to comprehend, I couldn't even pronounce half of the names of the Gods and in general I feel like the game does an injustice to these elements by not expanding on it more
    - The villains and overall plot are largely predictable or uninteresting
    - The combat, while fun, is very formulaic, much like the other Uncharted title I played, it tends to bog down the pacing somewhat - though there is much more platforming here for those who prefer that
    - The 'sticky' style platforming which Uncharted has brought into this generation is quite shallow - though it does work well within the game
    - I came across a variety of bugs, including Drake constantly walking towards the camera when the sticks are in their default position, enemy encounters randomly not triggering, being unable to pick up certain weapons (and thus not being able to proceed) and the touch screen functionality becoming completely unresponsive. They were all resolved relatively quickly but it was frustrating at the time

    I only paid half of the RRP for the game, and for that price it was well worth the money, I'd only recommend it at a higher price for fans of the series - though I will say Golden Abyss is definitely as good as, if not better, than the original Uncharted.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Short, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gaming history, 5 minute chapters, bad and predictable story... Don't waste your money on this garbage. All Uncharted game are good, but this one... 2 hours wasted of my life. And the fact that some cutscenes counts as 1 chapter makes me pissed off. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.