Uncharted: Golden Abyss PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Uncharted: Golden Abyss Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 771 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Uncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologistUncover the dark secret behind the 400-year-old massacre of a Spanish expedition as Nathan Drake tracks the murderous trail of an ancient and secret Spanish sect. Caught in the middle of a rivalry between Jason Dante - his old friend - and Marisa Chase - the granddaughter of an archeologist who has mysteriously vanished without a trace - Nathan Drake delves into the treacherous river basins, undiscovered temple ruins and karst caverns of Central America in search of a legendary lost city, only to find himself pushed to the edge of the Golden Abyss. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. 95
    A must-own for anyone at all considering a purchase of a PlayStation Vita. It shows what that little portable with plenty of power can do, from the graphics, to the controls, to the Vita-specific touch features – it's truly amazing.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    What really matters here is that, yes, Golden Abyss feels like an Uncharted game. If you own a Vita already, this is the game you should be playing right now. It looks and sounds fantastic, the "ledge painting" is a great new feature, and it gives us another story of our favorite treasure hunter Nathan Drake. Sure, it's not perfect.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    86
    A powerful tech demo for the PlayStation Vita, but it's also an engaging game that's a blast to play in spurts. Touch screen use is a little heavy-handed and it's missing those "wow" moments we're used to getting from the franchise, but it's a solid action adventure with production values strong enough to quell any sense of system buyer's remorse.
  4. CD-Action
    Feb 14, 2012
    80
    It's not on par with Among Thieves and Drake's Deception in terms of variety and panache but it is a real Uncharted game. Plus it's the most impressive thing I've seen on a mobile console. [March 2012, p.74]
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    The story is good enough to stand the comparison with the other Uncharted games, and that should be the only reason you'd need to go and buy this one.
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    Uncharted: Golden Abyss gets most of the way there; it is a stunning exhibition piece for the Vita's power and graphical capabilities (and a more subtle exhibition piece for its gimmicks), and it's a smart, modern take on treasure-hunting fantasies with enjoyable characters and classical themes.
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    The whole thing feels like a "B Team" sort of feel to it, but there's just enough Uncharted here to ensure that the experience isn't a total loss.

See all 80 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 155
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic. I've played the other 3 on PS3. I like this story, theres no monsters, like in 1 and 2, which makes this story farThis game is fantastic. I've played the other 3 on PS3. I like this story, theres no monsters, like in 1 and 2, which makes this story far more believable. I love the way they incorporated the touch features, and being able to turn off. I played it on Hard level, as it felt too easy on Normal. I actually have finished the game 7 times, once normal, six on Hard, Crushing level seems just that. Great story of course. Great controls, its THE game to have for Vita. Should be rated 92+. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    I'm not a fan of portable games, but I gave it a try when my brother bought it. This game is huge for a portable game. I mean, compared toI'm not a fan of portable games, but I gave it a try when my brother bought it. This game is huge for a portable game. I mean, compared to other portable games it has a decent time of campaign, the graphics are comparable to the first Uncharted released for PS3. Not only this, but the music are epic too, and the gameplay are well fluid , it works perfectly with Vita's move and light sensor, didn't expected that much. The story is engagement, new characters are charismatic as always and you learn and explore lots of relics , and puzzles. Talking about puzzles they got even more interesting by using Vita's capability. This game is a huge portable masterpiece. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Unlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed everyUnlike the majority of people reviewing this game, I've actually played it. Just finished my first run through on normal and enjoyed every minute of it. It is on par with the first, second, and third games, no joke. As an Uncharted fan this means it gets a solid 10 so I'll compare it to them to keep my personal bias out. Graphics are about 1.8, almost as good as the second. Story is almost the same as Uncharted 1, as in type. Actual events are more similar to the second. One thing I love are all the comments while playing. Very similar to the second, even better. Also I like the characters more, well a few at least. And now I'm to the gimmicks. First off they aren't! Everything feels intuitive and natural. And most are optional, so everybody stop complaining! I love cleaning artifacts and the such using the touch screen. Also the gyroscopic aiming works great! I have got so many head shots because of it. And that brings me to bonus stuff not in the other games. As well as a bunch of treasures their are charcoal drawings and photos. They add so much replay value. I don't just recommend this game, I recommend buying a Vita just for this game. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    I have been playing this game for a few days and I have to say that it is pretty amazing. I really love the way they integrate the touchI have been playing this game for a few days and I have to say that it is pretty amazing. I really love the way they integrate the touch panels (both front and back). The graphics are better than some PS3 games and the storyline is pretty good as well. Personally, this game alone fortifies my purchase of the Vita. The replay value is very high due to the inclusion of trophies and I hope they make a sequel. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    The Uncharted series has been widely successful ever since the very beginning of the first game, somehow mixing in a brilliant adventure-boundThe Uncharted series has been widely successful ever since the very beginning of the first game, somehow mixing in a brilliant adventure-bound story line with plenty of action and entertainment. Uncharted: Golden Abyss is no different from the other three games and is equally enjoyable minus the few hiccups this game has. To start off, this game easily surpassed my expectations graphic wise. Graphics for Golden Abyss are just slightly below the first Uncharted game. Secondly, the game plays almost as well as the rest of the series. The only real complaint I have about this game is the motion controls and touch screen controls. While motion is always welcome and does add flavor to the experience, at times I found it difficult to aim, eventually I turned off the motion controls all together. Touch screen controls are solid and easy to use but at the same time, they are also over used. To me, it felt as if I was swiping my finger across the screen every two minutes or so. Besides that the game plays wonderfully. It felt just as if I was playing on the Playstation 3. If there has ever been a reason to purchase a Vita then you will have to look no further. Uncharted: Golden Abyss accurately shows the amazing potential the Vita has to offer. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    It's a good game but the stupid gimmick controls and having to "clean" off artifacts really slows the pace of the game down and makes simpleIt's a good game but the stupid gimmick controls and having to "clean" off artifacts really slows the pace of the game down and makes simple things like climbing up and down a rope into a chore. The game is great though and easily one of the best Vita launch titles. Would have been a 10 in my book if it got rid of those stupid gimmick controls for everything. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    Short, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gamingShort, buggy, more cutscene then gameplay, bad controls... THAT'S Uncharted: GA. This game is just not good. Gayest boss fights in gaming history, 5 minute chapters, bad and predictable story... Don't waste your money on this garbage. All Uncharted game are good, but this one... 2 hours wasted of my life. And the fact that some cutscenes counts as 1 chapter makes me pissed off. Expand

See all 155 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita

    Hardware Review: PlayStation Vita Image
    Published: February 15, 2012
    Sony's new handheld gaming device arrives in North America next week (or today, for anyone purchasing the first edition bundle). Is it any good? Find out inside, where we survey dozens of reviews for the new PS Vita.