Unit 13 PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
Buy On
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    On the outside, Unit 13 looks like an ordinary actiongame, but looks can be deceiving. The game has a few cool ideas, can be quite diverse and has a lot of content. The short missions are also perfect for when you're on the road. So it'll be a while before we'll get bored with Unit 13.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 3, 2012
    80
    Much about 13 feels familiar, but considering the quality of this portable package, that's not a bad thing. [May 2012, p.77]
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Zipper Interactive has taken their experience with the PSP and cranked up their flair to produce an excellent hand held shooter. If you are a Vita owner and you love action games then Unit 13 is a must have. With great mechanics and a functioning online co-op there is a lot of fun and many hours to spend with this great title. I couldn't put the game down and I expect to keep revisiting it for a while.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    A competent game that shows VITA is able to manage shooting games as if it was a console. If you are looking for multiplayer action you will find one that works perfectly, with solid graphics, good atmosphere and plenty of possibilities. Its only flaw is the absence of any original features, and a less-than-charming story.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    This is the framework for a feature-packed, capable shooter, but it falls over with some questionable AI and occasionally clunky cover-based controls – twitchy aiming and sometimes disobedient snap-out-of-cover mechanics from 'AAA' games such as Gears of War or Metal Gear Solid.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    80
    A few questionable design choices, like your inability to disable auto-aim and a camera way to close on your avatar, keep Unit 13 from reaching the absolute top. This is, however, a very solid shooter that will keep you playing for a long time to come.
  8. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  9. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    The co-op mode is really fun and the daily missions are tough, but addictive challenges. A PS Vita must-have.
  10. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    It may not be a full showcase of what your new handheld can do, but Zipper did a commendable job of creating a bite-sized modern warfare scenario for you to play with. Not must-own material for everyone, but definitely worth the time if you've been waiting for a Vita game with a strong focus on virtual military combat.
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    An enjoyable and intersting SOCOM spin-off that offers a good amount of content and replay value. Perfect for mobile playing.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Unit 13′s a pleasant surprise. It offers up a really smart level structure which caters for short burst gaming, but similarly presents hours of gameplay that'll take considerable time and effort to perfect and master.
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Look once at Unit 13 and you'll probably write it off as a non-entity. Look twice, and you'll see a game where some really smart ideas are lurking just beneath the surface.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    There's a real attention to quality and portability that Zipper has put into Unit 13. From gameplay that combines the Vita's new touchscreen tech with the tight controls and solid gameplay of the best games in the SOCOM series to missions time-designed around commuting gamers and airport dwellers alike.
  15. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 3, 2012
    80
    Unit 13 is the first proper shooter on a handheld console and, if we have anything to say about it, it certainly won't be the last one. If they are all as good as Zipper Interactive's latest outing on the PlayStation Vita, of course. [March 2012, p.50]
  16. Feb 15, 2012
    80
    Unit 13 has great controls, lots of variety and content that may outlast many other shooters on the market - no matter what platform you're playing on. Not bad for a game that is released during the Vita launch window.
  17. The genius of Unit 13 is it doesn't try to take that glossy, cinematic action experience of a console shooter and give it to you on a handheld – instead, it takes all the best parts of mobile gaming and gives them to you in a shooter.
  18. Mar 12, 2012
    78
    While some gamers may disapprove of the lack of a story-driven campaign, I believe that Unit 13 is exactly what Vita owners want while on the go. It delivers instant action, without the time consuming clutter of cut-scenes. Furthermore, the game features plenty of customisation and is challenging enough to be replayed over and over in an effort to best a highscore or simply try a different character.
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    77
    The presentation is definitely not the strong point, but Unit 13 offers well designed infiltration missions and a very entertaining coop mode.
  20. 76
    Unit 13 is perhaps the first competent cooperative shooter we've seen on a handheld device, but its repetitive environments and awkward cover mechanics keep it from reaching its full potential.
  21. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 17, 2012
    75
    A decent 3rd person shooter, which has repetitive levels and fairly stupid AI. The different types missions are a good idea. [Apr 2012]
  22. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 is a solid final game for the company and is a unique experience as compared to the rest of the existing PS Vita library. It should more than satisfy most long-time fans of the SOCOM series as well as those who are fans of tactical military shooters.
  23. Mar 10, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 isn't the best and most revolutionary shooter available but prooves that there are many posibilities for shooters on the PlayStation Vita.
  24. Mar 9, 2012
    75
    It might not have an epic story or complex characters, but it will serve your shooter needs. This game is a great showcase for what console-like games could be for the Vita. It has some great ideas, a few rough edges and shows a whole lot of promise for future games on the Vita.
  25. 75
    Because it's been designed specifically to take advantage of the Vita's portability and social features, it's very much a success. Be it single-player or co-op, the gameplay is smooth, shooting is accurate with the Vita's twin sticks, and each mission's unique objectives keep the experience feeling fresh - and fun - each time you load Unit 13 into your Vita.
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 doesn't have flashy visuals or an in-depth campaign, but it does have good controls and plenty to do. I think the AI could use a tune-up and the visuals some polish, but if you're looking for a game to sink bullet after bullet into, Unit 13 will keep you entertained.
  27. Feb 17, 2012
    75
    An interesting Shooter, offering a solid amount of missions and a good replay value. Perfect for Pick-Up and Play, is spoiled by some issues regarding enemy IA and cover system.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor anyI purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor any tactical shooter but my skeptism soon turned to a sigh of relief. The game looks, feels, and plays really solid. Being I just got it and I'm only a fourth the way through my review is based on what I've played and not on the entire game. But I've played the multiplayer and the single missions and I have to say I'm hooked so hooked I made this account just to write a review because the early reviews are knocking way lower than what it really is. I'm a tough critic.. A tough critic that don't like tactical shooters and I am saying it is an excellent gam. Especially for new vita owners who want more of a shooter and less platform or kid games. Voice acting:7.1 Missions 8.9 graphics: 8.7 gameplay: 9.1. Replay value :10- it's so high cause they always send you new missions, you can level up,play with a friend. Overall 9.1 Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title,Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title, and I never wait that. Full Review »