• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 doesn't have flashy visuals or an in-depth campaign, but it does have good controls and plenty to do. I think the AI could use a tune-up and the visuals some polish, but if you're looking for a game to sink bullet after bullet into, Unit 13 will keep you entertained.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    Infiltrating enemy territory and tactically eliminating evildoers is tense and enjoyable in Unit 13.
  3. 76
    Unit 13 is perhaps the first competent cooperative shooter we've seen on a handheld device, but its repetitive environments and awkward cover mechanics keep it from reaching its full potential.
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    65
    Zipper has shooter mechanics down after years of making SOCOM games, but Unit 13's missions lack personality and the guard A.I. is downright awful at times. If you're dying to shoot some guys on your Vita, it may scratch that itch. Just don't expect anything you haven't seen ad nauseum.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Look once at Unit 13 and you'll probably write it off as a non-entity. Look twice, and you'll see a game where some really smart ideas are lurking just beneath the surface.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 is a solid final game for the company and is a unique experience as compared to the rest of the existing PS Vita library. It should more than satisfy most long-time fans of the SOCOM series as well as those who are fans of tactical military shooters.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    When all is said and done, Unit 13 fills a void but not completely. It proves that shooters can be done well on a mobile device, and it proves that Zipper is the third-person shooter crutch that Sony can lean on whenever it needs a title to show other developers that it can be done.
  9. Mar 17, 2012
    74
    Unit 13 is a fun "pick & play" 3rd person shooter which offers a good number of missions, modes and challenges, albeit somewhat repetitive. It looks good and plays even better but you can't help feeling Zipper Interactive could have done more.
  10. Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  11. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    There's a real attention to quality and portability that Zipper has put into Unit 13. From gameplay that combines the Vita's new touchscreen tech with the tight controls and solid gameplay of the best games in the SOCOM series to missions time-designed around commuting gamers and airport dwellers alike.
  13. Mar 13, 2012
    80
    A competent game that shows VITA is able to manage shooting games as if it was a console. If you are looking for multiplayer action you will find one that works perfectly, with solid graphics, good atmosphere and plenty of possibilities. Its only flaw is the absence of any original features, and a less-than-charming story.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    It may not be a full showcase of what your new handheld can do, but Zipper did a commendable job of creating a bite-sized modern warfare scenario for you to play with. Not must-own material for everyone, but definitely worth the time if you've been waiting for a Vita game with a strong focus on virtual military combat.
  15. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 is not ashamed of what it is, and as long as you are good with that, you will enjoy the game. It is a collection of missions perfectly suited for a portable machine with no real reason behind them. The controls are elegant, and the ways you can tackle the missions are abundant.
  16. Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    60
    Certain key aspects of the game don't feel like they've had enough time spent on them, so the result is a game that is on the right tracks but more of a taster of things to come than something Vita owners should celebrate.
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 is a fairly good game, designed specifically for online co-op.
  19. Apr 10, 2012
    67
    Unit 13 is a great little shooter for playing "on the go". Don't be fooled by the look, this isn't nearly as technical or tactical as it looks. Zipper Interactive's swan song is a purely "arcade" experience from beginning to end where your one and only goal it taking out the bad guys with quickness and finesse.
  20. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    In years to come, Unit 13 will likely not be remembered by a great many people, but for right now, it's a good indicator of what the future of console-equivalent experiences will feel like on Sony's newest portable. The future's looking promising.
  21. Feb 17, 2012
    75
    An interesting Shooter, offering a solid amount of missions and a good replay value. Perfect for Pick-Up and Play, is spoiled by some issues regarding enemy IA and cover system.
  22. Apr 17, 2012
    75
    A decent 3rd person shooter, which has repetitive levels and fairly stupid AI. The different types missions are a good idea. [Apr 2012]
  23. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    It’s not going to set any new standards in the genre, but it’s a fine foray into the third person shooter genre and proves that this type of game can, and should, exist on the PlayStation Vita.
  24. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    An enjoyable and intersting SOCOM spin-off that offers a good amount of content and replay value. Perfect for mobile playing.
  25. Mar 10, 2012
    75
    Unit 13 isn't the best and most revolutionary shooter available but prooves that there are many posibilities for shooters on the PlayStation Vita.
  26. Mar 8, 2012
    80
    The co-op mode is really fun and the daily missions are tough, but addictive challenges. A PS Vita must-have.
  27. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    On the outside, Unit 13 looks like an ordinary actiongame, but looks can be deceiving. The game has a few cool ideas, can be quite diverse and has a lot of content. The short missions are also perfect for when you're on the road. So it'll be a while before we'll get bored with Unit 13.
  28. 60
    Competent but personality-free third person shooter that's another good demonstration of the Vita's ability, but an instantly forgettable playing experience.
  29. The genius of Unit 13 is it doesn't try to take that glossy, cinematic action experience of a console shooter and give it to you on a handheld – instead, it takes all the best parts of mobile gaming and gives them to you in a shooter.
  30. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    Zipper Interactive has taken their experience with the PSP and cranked up their flair to produce an excellent hand held shooter. If you are a Vita owner and you love action games then Unit 13 is a must have. With great mechanics and a functioning online co-op there is a lot of fun and many hours to spend with this great title. I couldn't put the game down and I expect to keep revisiting it for a while.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor anyI purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor any tactical shooter but my skeptism soon turned to a sigh of relief. The game looks, feels, and plays really solid. Being I just got it and I'm only a fourth the way through my review is based on what I've played and not on the entire game. But I've played the multiplayer and the single missions and I have to say I'm hooked so hooked I made this account just to write a review because the early reviews are knocking way lower than what it really is. I'm a tough critic.. A tough critic that don't like tactical shooters and I am saying it is an excellent gam. Especially for new vita owners who want more of a shooter and less platform or kid games. Voice acting:7.1 Missions 8.9 graphics: 8.7 gameplay: 9.1. Replay value :10- it's so high cause they always send you new missions, you can level up,play with a friend. Overall 9.1 Full Review »
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title,Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title, and I never wait that. Full Review »