• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2012
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 136

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I purchased this game at the midnight launch of mass effect 3. I have to say I was skeptical at first not being a fan of mag or socom nor any tactical shooter but my skeptism soon turned to a sigh of relief. The game looks, feels, and plays really solid. Being I just got it and I'm only a fourth the way through my review is based on what I've played and not on the entire game. But I've played the multiplayer and the single missions and I have to say I'm hooked so hooked I made this account just to write a review because the early reviews are knocking way lower than what it really is. I'm a tough critic.. A tough critic that don't like tactical shooters and I am saying it is an excellent gam. Especially for new vita owners who want more of a shooter and less platform or kid games. Voice acting:7.1 Missions 8.9 graphics: 8.7 gameplay: 9.1. Replay value :10- it's so high cause they always send you new missions, you can level up,play with a friend. Overall 9.1 Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Wow, and awesome title, the gameplay of Unit 13 is fantastic, the graphics, the story, the sound, all is amazing, this is a great VITA title, and I never wait that.
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I'm slightly surprised that this title does not get more praise for it's competitive scoring aspect. It's a pretty solid shooter as it is but the addition of the competitive scoring and associated character progression is what has me hooked currently.

    It's hard to decide to move on to the next mission or continue to level up and try to post a better score or get more stars. I think this
    is a fantastic title to own for the Vita. I'm hoping that other games follow suit designing their titles around the quick, on-the-go, game play of a handheld. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    I bought the game yesterday and I must say, I enjoyed the gameplay and extra features. The critics reviews are correct on the fact the AI is sometimes a bit down, but still very enjoyable game up to now. Missing a Campaign is not really a mis if you have the game to do a mission on the go as mostly your not really interested in a story when you want to play a shooter.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I am so far thoroughly impressed. Solid gameplay, great graphics, and challenging objectives. It encourages the gamer to think on his toes giving several options on how to "attack" certain areas. I also really like the fact that you can jump in and start playing without worrying that it will take up all your "on-the-go" time with cutscenes and narratives. Mission lengths are even shown at the onset of the mission. Solid game, Zipper never fails to amaze. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Annoying and frustrating. Constantly failing, having to do the same levels over and over. It has nice controls, but it's too unforgiving. The timed missions are too hard, your head pops up acccidently, you start over, the AI ducks, you start over, if you do beat a timed mission it will likley give you two stars and....you guessed it , star over again, and this is at the very beginnings. It won't let you advance, so it won't even let me, my family, friends play it. Only if you have nothing to do in your life you can play this. It's not that it's hard, it's just poorly designed, and made this way to cover up the games inadequacies. There is no fun in UNIT 13. Expand
  8. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    This game was a pleasant surprise! I stopped playing Mass Effect 2 to play Unit13.
    Do not go by first impression, give a chance for the game. It is undoubtedly one of the best shooters in mobiles. The two VITA's analog making all the difference.
  9. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    I'm disappointed in this game. First off, I did not like the fact that it is missions based and as a result, there is no storyline. Secondly, I don't like certain maps where you have to do the same thing over and over again if you fail it. It gets very repetitive very quickly. The AI of your enemies are predictable. Overall, I didn't find that this was a very intuitive game.
  10. May 26, 2012
    7
    I decided to buy this game right after finishing Uncharted: Golden Abyss. I loved the demo for this game and thought there would be much more to it. But I was wrong. There are missions in this game and you have to execute each one, obviously. Due to this though, there was not much of a story which really disappointed me. Other than that, the core mechanics for this game were pretty good. Running works, shooting is extremely accurate, etc. The graphics in this game were pretty good though not as good as I know the Vita can handle. The enemy AI in this game is absolutely unpredictable. Sometimes, the enemies are absolute idiots and you can stand behind them for a couple of minutes and other times they can be master assassins. This really bugged me but the only true fun part of this game is the co-op. Playing with someone online always feels good for some reason, especially when there's no lag. This game is great for co-op but overall, doesn't stand well for a single-player game for the many reasons i already stated. This game definitely did not hold my attention for very long and I just went back to playing UC: Golden Abyss for a second playthrough. Overall the game isn't bad and was only fun for a short amount of time. Currently I am anticipating games like Resistance: Burning Skies and Gravity Rush Collapse
  11. Aug 1, 2012
    8
    it was difficult to decide the score. No certain history, but has several chapters to play (36). You can choose from different soldiers with different weapons and equipment. The gameplay I liked, not others. It was a good approximation of the TPS(3rd Person Shooter) in PSVITA
  12. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    I'd love to say I enjoyed Unit 13. I'd love to say that it's point based gameplay and level up system had me addicted and obsessed. I'd love to praise it for it's originality and bravery in service to the vita and the stealth game genre but I can't. Yes the game is fun. Yes the guns and characters are deep and picking which ones for which missions is often strategic and entertaining but there is one huge problem. The AI is horrendous. Enemies spot you through walls and from impossible distances. They hear silenced weapons and survive multiple gunshots. They ruin the game. sure the game has some forgivable holes otherwise (some characters have much higher level up perks then others.) but the AI makes this game nearly unplayable. many a times have a made a simple mistake just to be instantly barraged as if the enemy knew where I was an was simply waiting for me to mess up. Occasionally they act like morons taking cover towards me so that I can still shoot them while they look away from me scanning the area but these moments don't make up for the sheer genius/ law defying powers they exhibit on other times. This is not a bad game, I still played it for quite some time despite it's bugs, but ultimately the sheer amount of glitches and inconsistencies will pile up and the fun will be drained from this game. I can't recommend this game without warning you to be ready to lose unfairly and win unfairly. Expand
  13. Apr 7, 2012
    5
    its got guns!! you can shoot people in FPS mode its gotta be awesome...right? ....wrong, nice looking game, if cod rocks your world then you will like this game because you go around and shoot people for no real reason. you have a bunch of different mission types, like a speed one where you have to go in and shoot every one, a hostage one where... you go in and shoot every one... there's a stealth one, where.... you go in and shoot every one. there's a feature where you get a daily mission uploaded too where you have to go in and shoot every one.... there is a bunch of different characters "classes" too... they all have guns and play pretty much the same. don't get me wrong i have no issue with repetitive games ... if a game has good content then repeat away... this however is a tad on the boring side and my main annoyance is that mindless gun fans are giving it high scores which it really doesn't deserve because you go around with a gun and shoot people. fun for 10 mins at a time 2 a week maybe, ply it any longer than that and if you have a bigger brain capacity than a mouse than you will make yourself sick of it and exchange it. there is one good thing this game is used for with me and that's showing off the vita to my friends because credit where credit is due it looks awesome... soon as they have had their 5 min preview of it though and their gone it goes back on the shelf. Expand
  14. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    perfect for the vita, unit 13 offers bite-sized combat/stealth/timed missions with awesome customization and controls. couldn't be happier with it and it's easily my favorite game for the vita so far.
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    WOW! I did not see this one coming! I played SOCOMs 1&2 to death on PS2 and was really let down by Zippers subsequent efforts but they have hit a homerun with U13, for veteran shooter fans all the similarities with SOCOMs campaigns are undeniable, while being fresh enough to bring new fans over. LOVE this game
  16. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent game for shooter fans who own the Vita. I think of it as the pocket size version of the Modern Warfare games. Unit 13 uses control mechanics very similar to MW. However, unlike MW, Unit 13 will not be holding your hand every step of the way. Instead, it gives you a list of objectives that you can accomplish however and when ever you want. The enemy AI here is surprisingly smart. Alot of times, I was so frantically trying to out flank and out gun the enemy, that I forgot I was shooting at AI opponents. There is almost infinite replay value in this game. Players are encouraged to get high scores so they can unlock new weapons and skills, and compete with others on the leaderboards. There's also the coop feature, where 2 players take on a mission together. Dynamic missions are also available. These missions vary on infil points, objectives and difficulty level, so there's never a dull moment. To Xspidervenimx: I don't think the game is as difficult as you say it is. Perhaps you're just not very skilled. And to rate a game with 6 because its too hard for you is a little ignorant Expand
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    I liked the demo and I like the full game even more. Unit 13 is a solid launch 3rd person shooter for the Vita, but it does have some flaws that are quite annoying. I automatically docked 1 point because of the lack of competitive multiplayer, this is a staple in any shooter and it doesn't have it. Second, the co-op section has a couple things that bugged me... No way to invite friends to the game, and every time you complete a mission it ends the room, so you have to continually start a new room every mission. If you're on-mission in co-op you can't quit to the room to change characters, it dumps you out to the main menu. Other than these gripes, I think this is a solid game, AI is fairly smart (sometieme), graphics are great for a launch title, and co-op is super fun. Well worth the purchase. Remember, you're playing a shooter with two analog sticks on a handheld, awesome!! Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Finally put a few solid hours into this title. I am enjoying the title. Controls work well. The visuals are pleasing and it's in and out mission style complements a handheld. I am not leaderboard material but, LB chasers will enjoy this game. The online coop works very well ... if you can join a match ... I finally got in a match after 15 attempts it is probably easier to host. Another issue SO FAR is the early missions are a bit "rat in maze" and again so far, slightly repetitive. Hall, Hall, Hall, open area, etc. Otherwise I am enjoying. Expand
  19. May 6, 2012
    6
    A nice pick up and play shooter which fits nicely on the Vita. Unfortunately the experience is a bit too rote, as you often complete similar objectives from one mission to the next. Some missions will have you defusing mine laden traps and sneaking through undetected but none pan out as advertised. For example you're encouraged to use stealth but you do not have the tools or moves to perform effectively. Also it's extremely hard to be stealthy when the enemy AI is instantly alerted by a shot from a silenced pistol. The AI themselves are dumb too, often staying within a particular location and often standing idle whilst you take your shots. There is no story to speak of either. But the challenge and its brief missions are good enough for a commuter travel and the mechanics work well enough for the game to be enjoyable. It's just not one you'll remember once you're through. Expand
  20. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    I've just started playing this game but unfortunately my Vita ran out of battery and I forgot the recharger at home - I'm away in holidays. So I only had the opportunity to play Unit 13 for a few missions and one daily assignment. I must say I find the game very good. Game play is awesome: fluid controls, fast reaction, very intuitive interaction with surroundings, aiming is surprisingly easy with the controls. Being a huge fan of the MGS series, I was very, very happy that the game has many stealth elements, depending on the type of mission. Then there's the online co-op, but this I didn't have time to play; I intend to heavily use this in the future. The game is varied, rewarding, well designed and with very high replay value. I don't understand why professional reviewers are not giving it top-notch marks (IGN gave it 7.5/10), but I would certainly give it a 9 out of 10. I liked it so much that I'll go for the platinum trophy. Expand
  21. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Unit 13 is an arcade third person shooter for the Vita. The game is not story based, but instead is broken up into mini missions. When beginning a mission you choose from a list of soldiers each with their own abilities. Like the Light Machine Gunner, or the stealth type character. You get points by completing objectives or doing specialized kills. Your goal is to get as many points at the end as you can to get a 5 star rating and to compete with other players world wide. There is a few different types of missions. There is the standard get to the end type mission. There is the stealth mission where you cannot be seen, and the times mission where you have to compete all the objectives before time runs out. Unit 13 is a great on the go style shooter since the longest missions last at most 8 minutes. If you are looking for a good Third Person Shooter for your Vita, you should give this game a try. Expand
  22. Gaz
    Aug 13, 2012
    8
    First off, sorry about my Gravity Rush review, it should have been an 8 not a 0. But I'm here today to review Unit 13 for the Playstation Vita. Unit 13 doesn't have much of a story, but what it lacks for in narrative, it makes up with variety. There are 32 mission, each with different objectives. One will see you sabotaging enemy jets, while the other will have you going into a village to rescue a hostage journalist. Unit 13 doesn't carry much of a story, mostly because it doesn't need one. You're an elite group of operatives who are tasked with stopping a group of terrorists around the globe. Each of the operatives are different and have their own stats, so you can decide which one best fits the mission at hand. There's your classic British stealth guy, Ringo, the Southern sniper, Alabama, French demolitions expert, Chuckles, deep-voiced Animal, with his badass beard, and more. The mission types are varied and challenging. My favorite would have to be the Direct Action missions, which let you handle tasks any way you want. There's also Stealth, Time Trial, and Elite (which is like Direct Action, but with a health meter). You earn points in your missions by killing enemies, completing objectives, defusing explosives, etc. Your score determines how many stars (up to five) you receive for completing a mission. Earn enough stars, and you'll unlock a High Value Target, or HVT, mission that sends you in to kill one of the enemy's leaders. On top of that, there's also an online co-op mode that let's you take on missions with a buddy. And if that wasn't enough to satiate your appetite for destruction, there's a new daily challenge every 24 hours, letting you strut your stuff and try to get the highest score on the world leaderboards. Also, once you get 3 stars on any mission, you can play a Dynamic Mission, which is essentially the same mission type on the same map, but with different objectives. This creates a seemingly endless replay value to the game. Aside from the positives, this game also carries a few negatives. While each character can unlock 3 guns and they can use each other's, I thought some more weapons and customization options would have been nice. Also, even though the environments are unique and have different objectives, they are kind of sterile. Nothing's going to really going to pop out at you, and that can kind of leave the environments boring at times. Also, the AI can be a little weird. Sometimes your enemies seem stupid, and other times they're downright brutal. For example, if there's 2 enemies in the same room and I cap one of them with my suppressed pistol, the other guy shouldn't become suspicious for 30 seconds, staring around and just standing there, then going back on patrol like nothing happened, he should be searching for his buddy's killer. And unless you've fully alerted the enemy, they usually don't leave the room they're in if they think someone's nearby, which kind of takes away from the realism of this game. And speaking of realism, I should point out that the the game handles the damage system quite well. You get shot 5 or times and you die (give or take, depending on your character), simple as that. This realistic implementation of damage makes up for the sometimes brain-dead AI, although sometimes you're often overwhelmed and killed because of this and have to restart at the last checkpoint, which can make the game seem impossible and unfair at times, but it's fine, and most of the time, you'll be kicking ass, anyways. So, in conclusion, Unit 13 should be a must-buy for any Vita owner who needs a shooter fix or just wants a fun, action-packed title for their Vita. I was hoping for some DLC or some updates to enhance the game, but unfortunately, Sony pulled the plug on the developer, Zipper Interactive shortly after the game came out. Too soon, Sony, too soon. Expand
  23. Mar 18, 2012
    6
    Socom 4 is far and out Zipper's best gamer this gen, and even though they took most of the Socom 4 aspects over to the Vita, it just does not feel as smooth, but that is expected. But what this game really lacks is a competitive multiplayer.
  24. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Not really any single player story just 36 random missions (across a dozen or so different locales). Missions can get repetitive. Characters aren't interesting and just say random things. Graphics are fairly pretty. Multiplayer is lacking, just 2 player co-op. Dynamic missions and daily challenges are plenty and an interesting scoring system works well to compare yourself with your friends.
  25. Mar 28, 2012
    7
    This game is actually really good if you are the competitive type of player who values Leader-boards over story and likes to run every mission as efficient as possible. Normal players might be turned off because there really is no story whatsoever and the game has like 4 different maps. Game play, graphics and sound effects (voices, gunfire) are fine, but the replay value depends entirely on you liking to climb up some leader-boards for personal e-peen. The game could have been so much better with a campaign but its still a good shooter at its core, there's just not much more than said core. Expand
  26. Jul 9, 2012
    6
    It's all about one up-manship here folks. Zipper has foregone all hopes of a plot, multiplayer and sense of quality to give us a casual game in disguise. Pick it up, decide if you want to risk finding a moron online for co-op, then jump in and blast/sneak/survive one of thirty six pre-loaded missions (bonus challenges and HVTs excluded). It's a bare bones third person shooter that would have been utterly slated should if have ended up on anything but the handheld market. Yet, pushed through the jaws of the Vita's impressive processors, the game looks, plays and feels like a decent but shallow TPS on a home console. If you're looking for a casual shooter then I couldn't recommend it more, but why the hell are you looking for a casual shooter in the first place? Expand
  27. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Unit 13 is most definitely a flawed (but entertaining) experience. The difficulty in the game seems to spike randomly, and it is either due to the shotgun soldiers (always rushing in no matter what, and always have one-hit kills) or the endlessly spawning sections, some of which seem to continue to spawn until you are right by it. The HVT missions are especially brutal compared to the single player missions, but since they are essentially boss missions it makes a bit more sense.

    I also have a few issues with odd design choices. Occasionally I'll start a mission and decide I want to change my weapon/loadout or my operative. This can't be done without exiting out of the mission to the main menu and going through the menus again. This would be a bit more acceptable if the loading times were quicker. They're not horrible (restarting within a mission is instant), but annoying if you want to make a change.

    With all this said, I should point out that I still find myself turning it on often to work on my leaderboard position or finish an HVT mission. When you finally get a mission down it feels satisfying, and leveling up your operatives makes going back and replaying missions worth it. Without competitive multiplayer I'm not sure how long I'll keep coming back to this, but for now it will definitely be staying in my Vita.
    Expand
  28. May 23, 2012
    9
    Dont trust the critics. I am usually interested in first person shooters, but this third person game is great. Graphics are the graphics of a Ps3 game like SOCOM, great gameplay, easy controls, and good story in the campaign. My only con are how the enemies react. They stand still like cardboard models sometimes.
  29. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Incredibly fantastic game. What a great game to get with the Vita. Plenty of missions and upgradeable characters and weaponry. Tight cover based fire fights with above average ai. A must get for new Vita owners.
  30. May 15, 2012
    9
    This game turned out to be more surprisingly fun that what I had hoped for multiplayer is pretty good also! I like the graphics, the unlockables and the TARGET bosses are fun stages. Plus you can do dynamic mode that lets you randomize a mission to get the best score. Each character has their preference, i like using the shotgun guy cause of this close kills multiplier. Good game, waaay satisfying. The only thing i wished this game had was a competitive versus multiplayer! maybe ill have to wait for COD vita? lol Expand
  31. May 26, 2012
    0
    I decided to buy this game right after finishing Uncharted: Golden Abyss. I loved the demo for this game and thought there would be much more to it. But I was wrong. There are missions in this game and you have to execute each one, obviously. Due to this though, there was not much of a story which really disappointed me. Other than that, the core mechanics for this game were pretty good. Running works, shooting is extremely accurate, etc. The graphics in this game were pretty good though not as good as I know the Vita can handle. The enemy AI in this game is absolutely unpredictable. Sometimes, the enemies are absolute idiots and you can stand behind them for a couple of minutes and other times they can be master assassins. This really bugged me but the only true fun part of this game is the co-op. Playing with someone online always feels good for some reason, especially when there's no lag. This game is great for co-op but overall, doesn't stand well for a single-player game for the many reasons i already stated. This game definitely did not hold my attention for very long and I just went back to playing UC: Golden Abyss for a second playthrough. Overall the game isn't bad and was only fun for a short amount of time. Currently I am anticipating games like Resistance: Burning Skies and Gravity Rush Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    It’s not going to set any new standards in the genre, but it’s a fine foray into the third person shooter genre and proves that this type of game can, and should, exist on the PlayStation Vita.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    75
    A decent 3rd person shooter, which has repetitive levels and fairly stupid AI. The different types missions are a good idea. [Apr 2012]
  3. Apr 17, 2012
    70
    The co-operative features are silky smooth with great voice chat and not a hint of lag and the inclusion of Daily Challenges keeps the content fresh and constantly evolving. It may not be perfect, but goddamn it's a hell of a lot of fun.