• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, andJump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, and 3G compatibility for instant social updates and daily challenges, Unit 13 promises to be the perfect on-the-go action shooter. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  2. Unit 13 is the first proper shooter on a handheld console and, if we have anything to say about it, it certainly won't be the last one. If they are all as good as Zipper Interactive's latest outing on the PlayStation Vita, of course. [March 2012, p.50]
  3. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 showcases the strengths of the PlayStation Vita fairly well, with the quality of its core gameplay complemented by the accessibility of its mission design. Some of the objectives let the format down, but for the most part the game is perfectly suited to its parent platform.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Incredibly fantastic game. What a great game to get with the Vita. Plenty of missions and upgradeable characters and weaponry. Tight coverIncredibly fantastic game. What a great game to get with the Vita. Plenty of missions and upgradeable characters and weaponry. Tight cover based fire fights with above average ai. A must get for new Vita owners. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I am so far thoroughly impressed. Solid gameplay, great graphics, and challenging objectives. It encourages the gamer to think on his toesI am so far thoroughly impressed. Solid gameplay, great graphics, and challenging objectives. It encourages the gamer to think on his toes giving several options on how to "attack" certain areas. I also really like the fact that you can jump in and start playing without worrying that it will take up all your "on-the-go" time with cutscenes and narratives. Mission lengths are even shown at the onset of the mission. Solid game, Zipper never fails to amaze. Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    8
    This game is a bit of a puzzle simply because it has no story. Without that goal you can feel a bit lost but the gameplay itself is fantastic.This game is a bit of a puzzle simply because it has no story. Without that goal you can feel a bit lost but the gameplay itself is fantastic. Yes the AI isn't the best but the missions play out brilliantly especially the stealth ones. The lack of story didn't really concern me as it was never hyped up to actually have a story so for me it was just about doing the missions. There are high value target missions to unlock and there are dynamic missions which throw random objectives for whichever of the 36 levels you choose. Overall it is a very competent shooter and deserves a chance. Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    is a great third person shooter for Sony's handheld console PS Vita. no matter where you are or befiner you can take up the fight against terois a great third person shooter for Sony's handheld console PS Vita. no matter where you are or befiner you can take up the fight against tero shaking Unit 13. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Unit 13 is most definitely a flawed (but entertaining) experience. The difficulty in the game seems to spike randomly, and it is either due toUnit 13 is most definitely a flawed (but entertaining) experience. The difficulty in the game seems to spike randomly, and it is either due to the shotgun soldiers (always rushing in no matter what, and always have one-hit kills) or the endlessly spawning sections, some of which seem to continue to spawn until you are right by it. The HVT missions are especially brutal compared to the single player missions, but since they are essentially boss missions it makes a bit more sense.

    I also have a few issues with odd design choices. Occasionally I'll start a mission and decide I want to change my weapon/loadout or my operative. This can't be done without exiting out of the mission to the main menu and going through the menus again. This would be a bit more acceptable if the loading times were quicker. They're not horrible (restarting within a mission is instant), but annoying if you want to make a change.

    With all this said, I should point out that I still find myself turning it on often to work on my leaderboard position or finish an HVT mission. When you finally get a mission down it feels satisfying, and leveling up your operatives makes going back and replaying missions worth it. Without competitive multiplayer I'm not sure how long I'll keep coming back to this, but for now it will definitely be staying in my Vita.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    2
    I got this for free on PS Plus a while ago,
    but never downloaded it until a few days ago, then continued to delete it, bring it back,
    and
    I got this for free on PS Plus a while ago,
    but never downloaded it until a few days ago, then continued to delete it, bring it back,
    and delete it again.
    Why? Because Unit 13 is a shallow and repetitive game.
    It controls all right, and I'll give it that, but the missions are the SAME, and
    not to forget the enemy designs.... you'll probably see the same 3 skins throughout the game.
    Then, there's stealth. Now, the concept was neat that you shouldn't go guns blazing, and kinda reminded me of GOOD games like deus ex, only it was executed HORRIBLY.
    The stealth is of one thing in Unit 13: Hit the O button, hope to hell that you weren't seen by the really
    bad A.I., and kill the first guy you want to... or just wait forever, and punch the guy who just stands there.
    But as if the "stealth" wasn't bad enough, its not really stealth. In games like the thief series, you can at least hide bodies and if they are seen, your dead meat! But in Unit 13 it plays a little like this: NOBODY CARES. The gunplay is also very mediocre! Overall, I went into Unit 13 trying my hardest to like it, but with the horrific AI to the repetitive objectives and enemy skins to the sadly BAD stealth, I can say I'm putting this game down FOR GOOD.
    Also, if you got this on the PSN or got it for free from PS Plus, be prepared to find out that for online play... you need to have a pass, or spend money on an add-on that enables it.
    Maybe I would've loved this if I got into the S.O.C.O.M. series, but I didn't so I hate this, and that's final.
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews