• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, andJump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, and 3G compatibility for instant social updates and daily challenges, Unit 13 promises to be the perfect on-the-go action shooter. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  2. Unit 13 is the first proper shooter on a handheld console and, if we have anything to say about it, it certainly won't be the last one. If they are all as good as Zipper Interactive's latest outing on the PlayStation Vita, of course. [March 2012, p.50]
  3. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 showcases the strengths of the PlayStation Vita fairly well, with the quality of its core gameplay complemented by the accessibility of its mission design. Some of the objectives let the format down, but for the most part the game is perfectly suited to its parent platform.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    If i were to be able to change one thing in the gaming industry today, it would be an easy call for me, I would go back and make sure thatIf i were to be able to change one thing in the gaming industry today, it would be an easy call for me, I would go back and make sure that Zipper Interactive never ran into the financial wall that caused their demise. The reason i think this is that this excellent game, Unit 13, is the last game that we will ever see from Zipper Interactive, and the biggest shame is that this game is absolutely fantastic, and now as it seems that there is no chance of us getting a sequel, that is a very sad thing indeed. This game was the first game that i purchased for my shiny new Vita, and it was the only game that i had for the system for about a month and I can truly say that it raised my bar. The graphics were the first things that really shocked me, and opened my eyes to what a truly amazing device i was holding in my hands. Looking at games like Uncharted and Gravity Rush, I can now see that Unit 13 is not the best that the handheld has to offer, but it certainly looks good. Some of the textures can look a little bit muddled, but the character models are absolutley stunning, and the guns are very realistic looking. I hardly ever found any slowdown in the game, and that was the most important part of the visuals to me, seeing as this game requires precision and accuracy. That brings me right to the next point, the gameplay. The gameplay in this game is absolutley smooth as butter. The duel analog sticks work wonders, making looking around, and precision aiming smooth as in any console shooter. It is such a good thing that the sticks work well because in this game it is all about knowing the maps and being quick on your kills. There is nothing quite as rewarding in gaming as tearing through a mission, racking up crazy multipliers, and then ranking on the global leaderboard, which really makes you feel like you are really a part of the community. The best part about the game is that after you defeat the 45 regular missions, about a 15 hour afair depending on how skilled you are at the game, 36 of the missions can be played as "Dynamic missions" which are just randomized missions, with random objectives, and randomly placed enimies, and these missions provided me with another 10 hours or so. After all of that, i have replayed missions in attempts to set more high scores, which has given me about 5 or 7 more hours. In conclusion i feel like i can state that this game is one of the best deals on the market, especially for shooters, and the tight gameplay and solid graphics make it a must own for any Vita owner, and while it may not be perfect, it is one of the best options available. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    This is an excellent game for shooter fans who own the Vita. I think of it as the pocket size version of the Modern Warfare games. Unit 13This is an excellent game for shooter fans who own the Vita. I think of it as the pocket size version of the Modern Warfare games. Unit 13 uses control mechanics very similar to MW. However, unlike MW, Unit 13 will not be holding your hand every step of the way. Instead, it gives you a list of objectives that you can accomplish however and when ever you want. The enemy AI here is surprisingly smart. Alot of times, I was so frantically trying to out flank and out gun the enemy, that I forgot I was shooting at AI opponents. There is almost infinite replay value in this game. Players are encouraged to get high scores so they can unlock new weapons and skills, and compete with others on the leaderboards. There's also the coop feature, where 2 players take on a mission together. Dynamic missions are also available. These missions vary on infil points, objectives and difficulty level, so there's never a dull moment. To Xspidervenimx: I don't think the game is as difficult as you say it is. Perhaps you're just not very skilled. And to rate a game with 6 because its too hard for you is a little ignorant Expand
  4. May 25, 2012
    8
    This game is a bit of a puzzle simply because it has no story. Without that goal you can feel a bit lost but the gameplay itself is fantastic.This game is a bit of a puzzle simply because it has no story. Without that goal you can feel a bit lost but the gameplay itself is fantastic. Yes the AI isn't the best but the missions play out brilliantly especially the stealth ones. The lack of story didn't really concern me as it was never hyped up to actually have a story so for me it was just about doing the missions. There are high value target missions to unlock and there are dynamic missions which throw random objectives for whichever of the 36 levels you choose. Overall it is a very competent shooter and deserves a chance. Collapse
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    is a great third person shooter for Sony's handheld console PS Vita. no matter where you are or befiner you can take up the fight against terois a great third person shooter for Sony's handheld console PS Vita. no matter where you are or befiner you can take up the fight against tero shaking Unit 13. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    Unit 13 is most definitely a flawed (but entertaining) experience. The difficulty in the game seems to spike randomly, and it is either due toUnit 13 is most definitely a flawed (but entertaining) experience. The difficulty in the game seems to spike randomly, and it is either due to the shotgun soldiers (always rushing in no matter what, and always have one-hit kills) or the endlessly spawning sections, some of which seem to continue to spawn until you are right by it. The HVT missions are especially brutal compared to the single player missions, but since they are essentially boss missions it makes a bit more sense.

    I also have a few issues with odd design choices. Occasionally I'll start a mission and decide I want to change my weapon/loadout or my operative. This can't be done without exiting out of the mission to the main menu and going through the menus again. This would be a bit more acceptable if the loading times were quicker. They're not horrible (restarting within a mission is instant), but annoying if you want to make a change.

    With all this said, I should point out that I still find myself turning it on often to work on my leaderboard position or finish an HVT mission. When you finally get a mission down it feels satisfying, and leveling up your operatives makes going back and replaying missions worth it. Without competitive multiplayer I'm not sure how long I'll keep coming back to this, but for now it will definitely be staying in my Vita.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    2
    I got this for free on PS Plus a while ago,
    but never downloaded it until a few days ago, then continued to delete it, bring it back,
    and
    I got this for free on PS Plus a while ago,
    but never downloaded it until a few days ago, then continued to delete it, bring it back,
    and delete it again.
    Why? Because Unit 13 is a shallow and repetitive game.
    It controls all right, and I'll give it that, but the missions are the SAME, and
    not to forget the enemy designs.... you'll probably see the same 3 skins throughout the game.
    Then, there's stealth. Now, the concept was neat that you shouldn't go guns blazing, and kinda reminded me of GOOD games like deus ex, only it was executed HORRIBLY.
    The stealth is of one thing in Unit 13: Hit the O button, hope to hell that you weren't seen by the really
    bad A.I., and kill the first guy you want to... or just wait forever, and punch the guy who just stands there.
    But as if the "stealth" wasn't bad enough, its not really stealth. In games like the thief series, you can at least hide bodies and if they are seen, your dead meat! But in Unit 13 it plays a little like this: NOBODY CARES. The gunplay is also very mediocre! Overall, I went into Unit 13 trying my hardest to like it, but with the horrific AI to the repetitive objectives and enemy skins to the sadly BAD stealth, I can say I'm putting this game down FOR GOOD.
    Also, if you got this on the PSN or got it for free from PS Plus, be prepared to find out that for online play... you need to have a pass, or spend money on an add-on that enables it.
    Maybe I would've loved this if I got into the S.O.C.O.M. series, but I didn't so I hate this, and that's final.
    Expand

See all 53 User Reviews