• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, and 3G compatibility for instant social updates and daily challenges, Unit 13 promises to be the perfect on-the-go action shooter. [Sony] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  2. Unit 13 is the first proper shooter on a handheld console and, if we have anything to say about it, it certainly won't be the last one. If they are all as good as Zipper Interactive's latest outing on the PlayStation Vita, of course. [March 2012, p.50]
  3. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 showcases the strengths of the PlayStation Vita fairly well, with the quality of its core gameplay complemented by the accessibility of its mission design. Some of the objectives let the format down, but for the most part the game is perfectly suited to its parent platform.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  7. Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Expand
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. It looks, plays and sounds good. It's also a very lightweight game. And with that I mean that you can easely do a mission on the go. The mutliplayer version is kinda meager. But it's still fun like hell. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Perfect chunks of short mission based shooting action, ideal for commutes or when you just have 10 minutes to spare. Unforgiving with a underlying degree of depth, the core game is thoroughly enjoyable. This is a game that thrives when you have lots of friends on the vita to compare scores to and compete against. In my opinion this is just the sort of game that is ideal for the vita, this and Killzone Mercenary have hit the sweet spot of the Vita dead on. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Unit 13 is an arcade third person shooter for the Vita. The game is not story based, but instead is broken up into mini missions. When beginning a mission you choose from a list of soldiers each with their own abilities. Like the Light Machine Gunner, or the stealth type character. You get points by completing objectives or doing specialized kills. Your goal is to get as many points at the end as you can to get a 5 star rating and to compete with other players world wide. There is a few different types of missions. There is the standard get to the end type mission. There is the stealth mission where you cannot be seen, and the times mission where you have to compete all the objectives before time runs out. Unit 13 is a great on the go style shooter since the longest missions last at most 8 minutes. If you are looking for a good Third Person Shooter for your Vita, you should give this game a try. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    Unit 13 is a fun title that has solid mechanics, a ton of content, and little else. While the game has polished visuals (albeit lackluster shadows) and nice voice-acting, the game introduces absolutely nothing that I have never seen before.
    Unit 13 has fun shooting and stealth, although the game has very few environments, so expect to see a lot of reused set pieces in the game's 40+ missions. While the shooting in this title works well, the game gets very difficult. The game's heavy usage of cover-shooting makes it hard to attack enemies without getting yourself killed, and anyone who doesn't have cat-like reflexes should expect to die quite a few times in the game's later missions.
    I personally enjoy difficult games, although think twice about purchasing this game if you don't
    Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    I'd love to say I enjoyed Unit 13. I'd love to say that it's point based gameplay and level up system had me addicted and obsessed. I'd love to praise it for it's originality and bravery in service to the vita and the stealth game genre but I can't. Yes the game is fun. Yes the guns and characters are deep and picking which ones for which missions is often strategic and entertaining but there is one huge problem. The AI is horrendous. Enemies spot you through walls and from impossible distances. They hear silenced weapons and survive multiple gunshots. They ruin the game. sure the game has some forgivable holes otherwise (some characters have much higher level up perks then others.) but the AI makes this game nearly unplayable. many a times have a made a simple mistake just to be instantly barraged as if the enemy knew where I was an was simply waiting for me to mess up. Occasionally they act like morons taking cover towards me so that I can still shoot them while they look away from me scanning the area but these moments don't make up for the sheer genius/ law defying powers they exhibit on other times. This is not a bad game, I still played it for quite some time despite it's bugs, but ultimately the sheer amount of glitches and inconsistencies will pile up and the fun will be drained from this game. I can't recommend this game without warning you to be ready to lose unfairly and win unfairly. Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2014
    2
    I got this for free on PS Plus a while ago,
    but never downloaded it until a few days ago, then continued to delete it, bring it back,
    and
    delete it again.
    Why? Because Unit 13 is a shallow and repetitive game.
    It controls all right, and I'll give it that, but the missions are the SAME, and
    not to forget the enemy designs.... you'll probably see the same 3 skins throughout the game.
    Then, there's stealth. Now, the concept was neat that you shouldn't go guns blazing, and kinda reminded me of GOOD games like deus ex, only it was executed HORRIBLY.
    The stealth is of one thing in Unit 13: Hit the O button, hope to hell that you weren't seen by the really
    bad A.I., and kill the first guy you want to... or just wait forever, and punch the guy who just stands there.
    But as if the "stealth" wasn't bad enough, its not really stealth. In games like the thief series, you can at least hide bodies and if they are seen, your dead meat! But in Unit 13 it plays a little like this: NOBODY CARES. The gunplay is also very mediocre! Overall, I went into Unit 13 trying my hardest to like it, but with the horrific AI to the repetitive objectives and enemy skins to the sadly BAD stealth, I can say I'm putting this game down FOR GOOD.
    Also, if you got this on the PSN or got it for free from PS Plus, be prepared to find out that for online play... you need to have a pass, or spend money on an add-on that enables it.
    Maybe I would've loved this if I got into the S.O.C.O.M. series, but I didn't so I hate this, and that's final.
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews