• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Unit 13 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, andJump into the action with Unit 13 and conquer 45 tactical missions as you help take down global terror networks and prove your place in the military elite. With the precision of the Vita's dual analog sticks, unique touch interface, Wifi connectivity for fast action and 2-player co-op, and 3G compatibility for instant social updates and daily challenges, Unit 13 promises to be the perfect on-the-go action shooter. [Sony] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Unit 13 Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    83
    This is my first retail game for my new Vita and I'm pretty happy with both the game and the handheld. The twin sticks are going to allow gamers to play our favorite action and FPS games in a way that was never possible on previous mobile platforms. Unit 13 is a great first effort for the genre and I can't wait to see what's next.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 3, 2012
    80
    Unit 13 is the first proper shooter on a handheld console and, if we have anything to say about it, it certainly won't be the last one. If they are all as good as Zipper Interactive's latest outing on the PlayStation Vita, of course. [March 2012, p.50]
  3. 80
    Unit 13 takes the tactical shooter genre and serves it up in a way that can be enjoyed either as a snack or as the main course, whether you're playing alone or with a friend.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 14, 2012
    71
    Thoroughly playable with enough variety and replay value to lure the hardcore. [Apr 2012, p.78]
  5. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    Unit 13 showcases the strengths of the PlayStation Vita fairly well, with the quality of its core gameplay complemented by the accessibility of its mission design. Some of the objectives let the format down, but for the most part the game is perfectly suited to its parent platform.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    This isn't SOCOM Vita. The storytelling is abysmal and the online is underdeveloped, but Unit 13 still manages to be a solid military shooter with an arcade edge.
  7. games(TM)
    Mar 24, 2012
    50
    We won't be playing Unit 13 repeatedly. [Issue#120, p.98]

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 64
  2. Negative: 12 out of 64
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play andAwesome. Zipper and Sony are on the money with this title and hardware for hardcore gamers. Great controls, huge variety of game play and endless re-playability. This game is difficult, as all games of this type should be. Anyone who complains this game is too difficult should go back to playing angry birds on their iphone. It's great to see in 2012 Sony and Zipper still making awesome titles with a great depth in game play for hardcore gamers, and not just churning out rubbish for kiddies who just want everything easy. Sony all the way! Expand
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. It looks, plays and sounds good. It's also a very lightweight game. And with that I mean that you can easely do a mission onExcellent game. It looks, plays and sounds good. It's also a very lightweight game. And with that I mean that you can easely do a mission on the go. The mutliplayer version is kinda meager. But it's still fun like hell. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    A great Third person shooter, some really good game mechanics and generally realy fun. The game could only be better by having an actual storyA great Third person shooter, some really good game mechanics and generally realy fun. The game could only be better by having an actual story line to go with the levels otherwise it's genius and i can't find fault with it. Hopefully someone will revive and make a second game for the Vita Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    It's a good game, but could do with patching a few issues and maybe adding more content to fulfill its potential. It's a shame the developersIt's a good game, but could do with patching a few issues and maybe adding more content to fulfill its potential. It's a shame the developers have gone to the wall, because this probably means we won't see any of this.

    I'd still recommend this game if you're looking for the best shooter on the Vita.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    I'd love to say I enjoyed Unit 13. I'd love to say that it's point based gameplay and level up system had me addicted and obsessed. I'd loveI'd love to say I enjoyed Unit 13. I'd love to say that it's point based gameplay and level up system had me addicted and obsessed. I'd love to praise it for it's originality and bravery in service to the vita and the stealth game genre but I can't. Yes the game is fun. Yes the guns and characters are deep and picking which ones for which missions is often strategic and entertaining but there is one huge problem. The AI is horrendous. Enemies spot you through walls and from impossible distances. They hear silenced weapons and survive multiple gunshots. They ruin the game. sure the game has some forgivable holes otherwise (some characters have much higher level up perks then others.) but the AI makes this game nearly unplayable. many a times have a made a simple mistake just to be instantly barraged as if the enemy knew where I was an was simply waiting for me to mess up. Occasionally they act like morons taking cover towards me so that I can still shoot them while they look away from me scanning the area but these moments don't make up for the sheer genius/ law defying powers they exhibit on other times. This is not a bad game, I still played it for quite some time despite it's bugs, but ultimately the sheer amount of glitches and inconsistencies will pile up and the fun will be drained from this game. I can't recommend this game without warning you to be ready to lose unfairly and win unfairly. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    Thanks to the dual analog sticks of the Vita this is one of the first portable shooter games with a fluid console shooter control scheme.Thanks to the dual analog sticks of the Vita this is one of the first portable shooter games with a fluid console shooter control scheme. While it does have the controls of a console shooter it doesn't have the content of one. It's basically a collection of various mission types of varying difficulty without any real story connecting them together. It's not bad, but like the other Zipper games I've played I found that the more I played it the less I enjoyed it.

    The game has an overall arcady feel to it. You gain points for taking out enemies and completing objectives that help give you a higher score at the end. The shooting works well and takes great advantage of the Vita's analog sticks. It's just a shame that enemies are just generic cannon-fodder for you to mow down. The missions start off enjoyable, but the farther you progress the more tedious they become. Eventually I just stopped having fun with it. As far as the two player co-op goes, it's a pretty decent feature. I personally didn't use it much, and depending on the mission type it can make things more frustrating, but it kind of makes up for the lack of any real multiplayer.

    Overall the game works well enough that I can't call it a bad game. It's not that great, but it does have some appeal outside of it's more tedious levels. What Unit 13 does is prove that a console quality shooter game is possible on the Vita. The problem is that it's just not this game. It's not a bad game, but there are many better alternatives out there. My total score is a 6.9/10=Okay.
    Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2018
    0
    Every console has to have that one jewel. In this case the jewel is covered in pig crap being cummed on my sony as its burning in a dumpsterEvery console has to have that one jewel. In this case the jewel is covered in pig crap being cummed on my sony as its burning in a dumpster somewhere in Detroit. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews