Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Urban Trial Freestyle is an action bike racer game spread across five living 3D urban environments.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 15, 2013
    87
    This game is a whole lot of fun and extremely addictive, with its graphics being appealingly realistic (nice camera panning included), so that you quickly become completely absorbed. Urban Trial Freestyle easily motivates you so that you don’t even realize that you give a track the 25th try.
  2. Feb 26, 2013
    80
    It isn’t a well rounded at Trials, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still a good game. It is a fine addition to the Vita library and one that should be picked up instantly.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    70
    Clearly inspired by Trials HD, Urban Trial Freestyle doesn't do enough to make it memorable, but the physics-racing is nevertheless fun, while it lasts.
  4. May 20, 2013
    70
    For what it's worth, Urban Trial Freestyle is good. The physics-based racing is still challenging, and the constant presence of leaderboards for each level and each trick ensures some level of replayability. For Vita owners, the game is more interesting because there's nothing like it for the platform yet.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    65
    It captures the Trials HD experience perfectly. It's just a shame that a little more couldn't have been done to make Freestyle leap ahead of the pack.
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    65
    It as a solid Trials Evolution clone through and through – minus the editor and the excellent level design.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    love this game sooo fun and epic!! Get it now, its sik. 150 characters is a lot so jhgvbkjrfbhgbirtfghkbghkdfgbtrgfhgdfhxjkgbhkfghkfdgbkbdgdjkbjfgkfj
  2. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    [UPDATED REVIEW]: When I posted my initial impressions of Urban Trial Freestyle last week, I wasn't exactly bowled over by Sony's answer to Xbox Live crowd pleaser, Trials HD. However, now that I've spent more time with this racer-come-platformer, I was wrong. I admit it. Okay, my beef regarding the graphics still stands, but the part that matters, really matters, is of course the gameplay. And in that department it's absolutely fantastic! Once I found my groove and got into the swing of it's two-wheeled, stunt oriented, 2D platforming, and looked past the presentation issues, I found Urban Trial Freestyle to be a whole heap of fun. Not only did I occasionally find myself giggling out loud at the rag doll physics that regularly threw my rider into the air and squished his head, I also regularly found myself saying WOW! at some exceptional level design and savage, vertigo-inducing, death-defying stunts. Seriously, if you're open to the idea of a spot of Trials-esque shenanigans on your Vita, despite my initial lukewarm impressions, I wholeheartedly recommend giving Urbal Trial Freestyle a go. Well, with one very small caveat at least and that is *IF* like me, you don't quite click with it at first, just try to exercise a little more patience than I did! [ORIGINAL REVIEW, POSTED 20 FEBRUARY]: It's still very early yet, but I just thought I'd put some impressions out there for my fellow Vita gamers. Unfortunately, in terms of both gameplay and visuals, I must admit to feeling a little underwhelmed so far. I should also point out that the vast majority (if not all) of the screenshots and trailers that we've been drip fed over the past weeks and months appear to be from the superior PS3 version. Furthermore, although I'm pretty certain that Vita could have handled it with room to spare, Tate Multimedia have dumbed down the visuals, and stripped away all of the rather nifty background vehicles and characters for Vita owning petrol heads. I was also hoping that in an effort to out-Trials Trials HD (of Xbox 360 notoriety), Tate would have pulled out all the stops, but that doesn't appear to be the case either. I'll be sure to post some more detailed impressions in the next day or two, but as a heads up, I'd definitely advise caution for now, and recommend trying out the free trial (see what I did there??!!) version before jumping in and grabbing it blind like I did. Oops! Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    It's a good game, really funny on Playstation Vita.
    It has good graphic, a solid gameplay (if you've played Trials HD or Trials Evolution,
    it's the same gameplay), it has 50-60 levels and it isn't so easy to complete.
    For €9.99 (or €7.99 if you've PS Plus) it worth.
    Just a thing a really hated: the bugged trophy. DAMNIT WHY?!
    Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    Pleasantly surprised. Played the demo and didn't get much from it, but picked it up as part of PS+ and have to say it is a lot of fun. Addictive to the point of wanting to smash things after you have tried 27 times to get your jump a little higher, longer, faster etc. Love the photo on the billboard, the ghosts etc. I can see it won't last for months, but it is getting a huge bash at the moment Collapse
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    I really like this game, sure there could have been more levels, modes and options here, but overall this is a solid package, with some great racing and nice stunts for just few bucks! Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    It's your basic, average physics-based motorcycle game with nice level-design and leader boards. As typical with these types of games the game can be fun one moment and tedious the next when you're facing your umpteenth try at a level. Still, the game is fun and everything works well, so the only real issue I have with this game is that there are so many free options for this style of gameplay available on numerous websites. I recommend you check out the excellent "Happy Wheels".

    That being said "Urban Trial Freestyle" does have some things you won't find on one of the many free alternatives. Shelling out a few bucks for this Vita version will gain you access to some nice graphics, trophies, and the ability to take it with you on the go. So there are some reasons to consider this even though you can get the same style of gameplay for free elsewhere.

    It's not exactly doing anything original, but it is hard to find fault with the game because it does what it does well. Whether or not you are willing to pay for this over just sticking with the many free alternatives is just going to come down to how badly you want to be able to take one these type of games with you one the go. All I can say is I really enjoyed the game and find it recommendable.
    Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    Urban Trials free style is a familiar kind game where you take you bike and cross from different obstacles and traps by the sensitive physic mechanism. Its a fun game as it sounds but its quiet flawed. Firstly the Frame Rate in vita version is terrible, it slows down to below 30 FPS perhaps 25) and makes the game feel like a slow motion movie. secondly its not same as PS3 version, PS3 version levels are different and the vita version just looks the little version of its big brother which is a shame cuz there are games out there that have same amount of content as their console versions. Thirdly the game is quiets short and sometimes it has a feeling of dejavu, there are not much of difference in level designs. Finally its not a really interesting game if you are not fan of these types of games. Expand