Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. May 12, 2012
    70
    The PlayStation Vita-variant is an emulation of the original Virtua Tennis. That means that it doesn't surprise, is once again packed with mini games and comes with a relatively expansive career mode. It even works better on a handheld. Virtua Tennis 4 is a decent launch game.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 4, 2012
    70
    Aside from the flawed touch controls, there are a few forgettable minigames using the motion sensor. Virtua Tennis 4 may be a fun tennis game, but it is definitely not a great showcase for the PlayStation Vita's capabilities. [March 2012, p.61]
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    70
    There's little about Virtua Tennis 4 that'll surprise longtime fans, making this entry feel like more of the same. Yes, it comes with Vita exclusive bonuses, but you'll quickly grow tired of them and fall back on intense volleys and furious cross court smashes. To that end, World Tour Edition falls short of an ace, but still manages to hold serve.
  4. 70
    Ever the more lighthearted tennis game than its competitors, the arcade feel of Virtua Tennis 4 is a welcome addition to the Vita lineup. It handles well, looks nice and has a style that lends itself very well to portability. Of tennis.
  5. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    If you like tennis games and can't get enough of Virtua-goodness, maybe this will be one of your Vita's launch titles, but if you've already played the PS3/X360 versions, there's not enough (new) meat here to sink your teeth into.
  6. It's a simple story: if you like tennis games, buy this. It's a brilliant, if unoriginal, on-the-go version of an already solid game. If you don't like tennis games… well, you might enjoy this anyway, providing you're not allergic to them like Andy Murray is to smiling.
  7. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    Virtua Tennis 4 lacks the much needed depth for a tennis game that's mainly going to be played alone. Still, it feels quite OK and will entertain tennis fans until EA och 2K Sports decides to release their tennis franchises on the PS Vita.
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    60
    Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is a good tennis game at heart, and the series has been criticised far too much in the past. However, the Vita edition doesn't bring too much to the table, but feel free to check it out if you absolutely need a game of tennis on the go.
  9. Feb 20, 2012
    53
    The mobile centre court offers all the playable modes, the full career and the same visual experience as the "big" versions. But that also means it's still stuck somewhere between arcade and simulation while adding a totally useless online mode.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Once you've figured out the nuances of the game and how to utilize your concentration gauge during game play, this game is a lot of fun andOnce you've figured out the nuances of the game and how to utilize your concentration gauge during game play, this game is a lot of fun and addictive. The World Tour mode is competitive and allows you to build up your player ratings through training sessions, mini games and matches. Of course, you ultimately build up to play in the major tournaments, but it keeps you very engaged. I really like this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition for Vita really took me by surprise following an impulse buy a few weeks back. If I'm absolutely honest, IVirtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition for Vita really took me by surprise following an impulse buy a few weeks back. If I'm absolutely honest, I hadn't any real interest in playing playing the game, much less buying it. However, I happened to spot a brand new copy (not pre-owned) in my local GAME store for just £5.99 so I grabbed it there and then. Now that's a bargain in anyone's book, but it's particularly attractive when there's a pre-owned copy sitting right next to it on the shelf for £24.99. I know right?!! Once I popped the tiny cartridge in and fired my Vita up, I was immediately greeted with some truly stunning graphics and bucket loads of sheer quality. Better yet, the gameplay turned out to be even better, serving (sorry, couldn't resist) up some utterly enthralling and super addictive tennis in the process. It was a full three hours later before I put my Vita down, and I still couldn't wait to get back onto centre court to take on the likes of Messrs Federer, Nadal and Murray once again. And I strongly recommend that you do the same. If you like tennis games and/or sports sims, Virtua Tennis 4 is an utterly essential addition to your Vita library. Hunt yourself down a bargain, and enjoy. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Tough Virtua Tennis 4 in PSVita didn't change much from the PS3 or XBOX360 version in the mode, it's still a nice game worth playing. TheTough Virtua Tennis 4 in PSVita didn't change much from the PS3 or XBOX360 version in the mode, it's still a nice game worth playing. The graphic of characters looks gorgeous and more clear and sharp than other versions. Gameplay is nice and fun. You can pick up your Vita while you feel bored and quickly match a tennis game. Don't hesitate whether to buy this game or not now, go to buy it and enjoy your show. Full Review »