User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    This tennis game is great but there are a few problems. The players jump very rarely for a far ball and they hardly ever hit it in. Can get a bit respective and net play can be stupid most of the time. Besides that the game is great and would advise it to anyone who loves tennis!
  2. May 17, 2012
    10
    Best tennis simulator around. Im personally not a fan of the sport tennis but I love this game! It looks gorgeous and it plays gorgeous. Theres a lengthy world tour career mode to sink ur teeth into it as well as competitive online multiplayer. I have no complaints, 10/10.
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Once you've figured out the nuances of the game and how to utilize your concentration gauge during game play, this game is a lot of fun and addictive. The World Tour mode is competitive and allows you to build up your player ratings through training sessions, mini games and matches. Of course, you ultimately build up to play in the major tournaments, but it keeps you very engaged. I really like this game. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Tough Virtua Tennis 4 in PSVita didn't change much from the PS3 or XBOX360 version in the mode, it's still a nice game worth playing. The graphic of characters looks gorgeous and more clear and sharp than other versions. Gameplay is nice and fun. You can pick up your Vita while you feel bored and quickly match a tennis game. Don't hesitate whether to buy this game or not now, go to buy it and enjoy your show. Expand
  5. May 4, 2012
    8
    Virtua Tennis 4 may on the surface be a portable, on the go version of the popular arcade tennis franchise. However, the interactivity is more a part of the game than the Kinnect and Move versions were on their respective consoles. Tapping the screen to take shots and moving your player around presents a needless but welcome desire to connect the player to the gameplay action. The minigames feel more relevant and fun as a result, making shots more precise than a flick of the analogue stick would allow. Outside the novel touch controls though it's business as usual. The same business as seen in the console versions for better and for worse. But if you had a choice, the Vita version easily trumps the big boys. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition for Vita really took me by surprise following an impulse buy a few weeks back. If I'm absolutely honest, I hadn't any real interest in playing playing the game, much less buying it. However, I happened to spot a brand new copy (not pre-owned) in my local GAME store for just £5.99 so I grabbed it there and then. Now that's a bargain in anyone's book, but it's particularly attractive when there's a pre-owned copy sitting right next to it on the shelf for £24.99. I know right?!! Once I popped the tiny cartridge in and fired my Vita up, I was immediately greeted with some truly stunning graphics and bucket loads of sheer quality. Better yet, the gameplay turned out to be even better, serving (sorry, couldn't resist) up some utterly enthralling and super addictive tennis in the process. It was a full three hours later before I put my Vita down, and I still couldn't wait to get back onto centre court to take on the likes of Messrs Federer, Nadal and Murray once again. And I strongly recommend that you do the same. If you like tennis games and/or sports sims, Virtua Tennis 4 is an utterly essential addition to your Vita library. Hunt yourself down a bargain, and enjoy. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    Good game if you want a tennis game on your Vita but otherwise pick another game. I have this game cause I love tennis. but it gets repetitive. Visuals are good, gameplay is good.
  8. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Takes me back to the Dreamcast days of Virtua Tennis with the added bonus of online play a more in depth career mode in World Tour and Double's tennis online which isn't even available (2v2 4 different players 4 different systems) on the 360/PS3 with Top Spin or Grand Slam Tennis. The easiest 10 I've had to give for a bit of nostalgia but also because the game runs flawlessly on the vita system makes you think what EA have done... with Madden and FIFA was a total joke in comparison real effort was made here for the vita! it's a must buy especially at the price it's going for now. Also supports party chat while in game so nothing to worry about there either. Expand
  9. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    A lot more realistic than previous Virtua Tennis games, but still retains that arcade "pick up and play" feel. A brilliant game, and perfect for the Vita
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. May 12, 2012
    70
    The PlayStation Vita-variant is an emulation of the original Virtua Tennis. That means that it doesn't surprise, is once again packed with mini games and comes with a relatively expansive career mode. It even works better on a handheld. Virtua Tennis 4 is a decent launch game.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    84
    A very nice and varied arcade-style tennis game. Nothing earth-shattering here, though. [Apr 2012]
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    60
    Virtua Tennis 4 lacks the much needed depth for a tennis game that's mainly going to be played alone. Still, it feels quite OK and will entertain tennis fans until EA och 2K Sports decides to release their tennis franchises on the PS Vita.